We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and warm at Canon court”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canon Court Apartments
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“convenient and warm at Canon court”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

we were going to the playhouse, so these apartments were really handy with the bus stop outside.
Car parking is available but costs £10 which is o.k. as apartments were very reasonably priced.
Spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. yes, they are a wee bit dated but can't fault the value. would not really be able to do much cooking as only basic utensils and pots , no oven dishes or bowls but as there are lots of take away places near by I don't suppose many visitors would want to cook.
I would definately stay here again, we have stayed in other apartments in Edinburgh which were much fancier but they were a lot more expensive too ! We were comfortable and warm and slept well so tha'ts what we were looking for.

Room Tip: parking costs £10 for 24 hrs not en suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    159
    47
    27
    14
See reviews for
118
100
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A spacious 2 bedroomed apartment, 1 bathroom. Family of 4 with 2 teenage girls. This could with a bit of effort and some work be a great place to stay and as New Town-ish location is great for Stockbridge, a large Tesco, some lovely local eateries and the Botanical Gardens, BUT....., here goes; The worst shower ever. Hot water trickled out, so took forever for us all. Poorly equipped kitchen, supposed to cater for 6 but only 3 dinner plates, 3 wine glasses, etc. Food debris in cupboards, in cutlery tray, chewing gum on window sills. Didn't even have salt and pepper, but had a rolling pin in one of the many empty cupboards! I ask you? Rubbish hairdryer, no nozzle on end and 14 year old daughter burnt herself. Settings 2, cold and burn. Cheeky and rude notices, written in bad English warning guests not to make a mess and not to ring reception after hours, or else incurring £100.00 surcharge! Noisy and woken up at 5.30 am by people in car park with car stereo playing loudly. We were on top floor! After a very early check out at 10 am and shopping/sight seeing, nowhere to spend your last penny, as no toilet facilities for guests at reception. Got a grudge? Yes, absolutely, at £322.00 for 2 nights! Having read previous reviews, thought we were getting higher end accommodation. Don't mind tired or dated, but don't like rubbish or being ripped off. Much better elsewhere, but booked at fairly short notice. Prefer Holyrood aparthotel ( 2 bathrooms), or 2 rooms at Travel Lodge would have been better for less money. Would only recommend if you are prepared to camp out in the car park and they paid you for staying there! Moan, moan, but still love Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed one night in these warm and comfortable apartments which have seen better days ( carpets, rugs and bathroom tiles could be replaced) but are kept as clean as possible. Quiet surroundings and good parking as well as very nice nearby pubs,shops and restaurants make this an ideal - if slightly on the pricey side - place to stay. The reception lady was very friendly and we enjoyed our night away from our families and our first time staying in an apartment rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeWebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Just back from a fabulous stay at Canon Court Apartments. Great location for shopping and theatre, walked to the Playhouse in about 15mins but bus stop right outside the apartments so Princess Street very easy accessible. Very clean, fully fitted kitchen with everything you need but there is also plenty eating places around if you don't want to cook. Good sized bedroom and bathroom too. Staff very friendly and happy to help with directions and places of interest - nothing was a bother for them. Stayed in Edinburgh many times and normally good accommodation means having to spend a fortune - not now we have found these apartments - great value for money and up there with the best of them - very impressed and will definitely return !!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here with some American friends who wanted to see Edinburgh for three nights. These self contained apartments are ideal for independence and so much better than formal hotel rooms etc. Tesco around the back and car parking and garage with shop opposite make it a great place to stay. Yes the decor and facilities are somewhat worn and dated but all is clean and for basic cooking and breakfast it's definitely to be recommended. I would definitely stay here again if ever back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here several times recently, very convenient, clean and spacious apartments. Good central location, great to park up and make use of public transport right outside building. Lift in building, Tesco superstore around the corner so very convenient for picking up essentials to make use of well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oilandgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked the Canon Court Apartments through my time share. My partner and I were there for 2 weeks.

First, the location was great. We were just outside of the hubbub of central Edinburgh. Close enough to walk (about 10 minutes to the Old Town), yet far enough to be a lot quieter.

The Canonmills area around the hotel has tons of restaurants, shops, buses, even a stop for the hop-on/hop-off buses. We were also 5 minutes walk from the Botanical Gardens.

Overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. They accommodate us leaving before reception opens on our last day, as well as having a taxi ready for us when we needed to leave.

It is not a 5 star hotel - but it was more than sufficient for our needs. I would have liked the bedroom to be a little bit bigger and the furniture in the living room to be a little more comfortable, but overall I was pleased.

They had a flat screen TV in the living room that had HDMI plugs, so I was able to connect my computer to the TV to watch movies and shows that I had brought with me, as well as to look at all of my pictures from each day of traveling around Edinburgh, Glasgow and the Highlands.

I would definitely stay at the Canon Court apartments again and would recommend it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Oakhill Apartments
#4 of 205 in Edinburgh
507 reviews
Ocean Apartments
#28 of 205 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calton Apartments
#62 of 205 in Edinburgh
72 reviews
West End
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon Court Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon Court Apartments

Property: Canon Court Apartments
Address: 20 Canonmills, Edinburgh EH3 5LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon Court Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you visiting Edinburgh and looking for spacious, affordable accommodation? Why stay in a small hotel bedroom when a Canon Court serviced apartment offers you space to relax? Each apartment offers one or two bedrooms, a comfortable lounge; a separate, fully fitted kitchen and a bathroom with shower and bath. There's free on site parking and WiFi access too. Close to Edinburgh's great attractions and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canon Court Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Court Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Canon Court Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing