We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B”
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardmor House
Ranked #70 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Based on the great reviews here on tripadvisor 3 of us made our first stay here Sept. 13 to 19, and we were not disappointed. Our was was a good size with 2 huge windows that opened up to let some fresh air in and overlookied the greenery in the backyard. The washroom was a little small but modern fixtures, powerful shower, and lots of plush towels.

The internet was a bit spotty at times. Apparently they have 3 wireless routers, but we still had some issues but just had to run down to the breakfast room and there was great reception there.

Robyn and Tracey were both welcoming, friendly and were well informed about what to do in the city and how to get there. Breakfast was fantastic with great coffee and Tracey cooked whatever you liked. Very enjoyable.

The #11 bus drops you almost at the door and it runs fairly frequently. If you can't wait you can always walk up to Leith Walk (a 2-3 minute walk) and catch one of the many buses that run along there. We purchased a One Week RIDACARD from Lothian Buses for £19 that was well worth it.

We will definitely stay here on our planned future visits and comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are staying for 5-7 days buy the Week RIDACARD from Lothian Buses, it will make your travels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    23
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
120
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here for six nights earlier this month. Excellent facilities, scrupulously clean and well presented. The whole house is a credit to Robin, Tracey and Barry. I was warmly welcomed by Robin and provided with lots of info about Edinburgh - transport, places to eat in fact whatever the request Robin or Tracey will know how to do it or how to get there. Breakfast in the charming dining room was a relaxing, peaceful way to start the day - thanks in no small part to Tracey. I wiould highly recommend Ardmor House (in fact already have) to anyone travelling to Edinburgh. Good value, great service and impeccable facilities. Well done to all including the entertaining Vera.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor room as it is a little small and closer to the noises of the house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPF194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here based on the tripadvisor reviews, and will stay here again the future. Arrived at 1am after a long flight to find a welcoming and amazingly decorated room. Breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were really helpful. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshfrombrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our third stay at Ardmor House, again visiting Edinburgh for the Festival in August. Always a pleasure to stay here, such friendly people, very comfortable beds, clean modern bathrooms, free wi-fi, and wonderful breakfasts too. What more could we need? The position is good too, about a 20 minute walk into town, and with a bus stop right outside for when you've done enough walking. Great - we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We loved this B&B. It is stylish and well priced (considering that we were there during the Edinburgh Festival). Breakfasts were of a high standard and could be taken in the room - although we didn't use this service.

The room (room 3) was well proportioned and the bathroom, although small, was of a high spec. Toiletries were good quality, but were not replaced once finished. I'm sure that that they would have been replaced had we asked.

Location wise, it is close to the city centre and on a bus route, so easy to get to. We took our bikes.

I would be happy to stay here again next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robveezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We just returned from a great weekend in Edinburgh and stayed at Ardmor House.

First the positives - from check in to check out the service was great. All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your visit perfect. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. But I think best of all was the breakfast - the Scottish breakfast was just delicious.

While the location was OK, a quick 15 minute walk into the main parts of Edinburgh, the rest of the street seems to be filled with B&Bs and I think I'd prefer to be a bit more centrally located.

The only negative was the free Wi-Fi which only intermittently worked. But that was hardly a negative as you should be out enjoying the town!

Room Tip: Try and stay upstairs as it should be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The B&B is in a beautifully restored house, the attention to detail throughout made this one of the nicest places I have stayed. The room was spotless and very quiet, as well as being light and airy. The bed and bedding was wonderfully comfortable. The welcome from Robin was warm and the service throughout our stay top notch (as were the breakfasts - the haggis was delicious). The B&B was in a great location too, close to Leith but also a 15 minute walk from central Edinburgh or if you wanted a bus or a taxi, they were just outside the front door. It felt like a real home from home and I would love to return when I come back to Edinburgh next.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiscoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#124 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#81 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#49 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#97 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#30 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Property: Ardmor House
Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing