We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh jewel not to be missed”
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmor House
Ranked #91 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Having stayed previously at Ardmor House in different seasons, it was a real pleasure to be resident over the Christmas and New Year period, since the welcome by Robbie was especially warm and marked by his famous, and generous hospitality. Ardmor House is a stylish home designed to make guests comfortable immediately, and together with the attractively designed bedrooms, ( tv and free wi-fi ) comfortable beds and a varied breakfast menu to suit all tastes, including vegetarian, served in the sunny dining room, I felt very comfortable and happy in this elegant and chic Scottish home from home. Points I especially noted are: the immaculate bedding and spotless en suite shower room, Robbie's attention to detail, including cheerfully answering innumerable questions about Edinburgh, offering helpful travel and dining out tips, the well placed bus stops outside Ardmor House, with a frequent bus service to take you up very quickly to Princes Street or other destination, and my special favorite breakfast choice ( very hard to choose with the variety of choice ) - my tip : don't miss the homemade Scottish Raspberry Jam ( preserves ). I found the reservation process and arrival welcome a great start to my stay, and this relaxing atmosphere continued until my departure. I especially noted the pleasant and efficient staff, who assist Robbie in the day to day, and traditional touches like the morning newspaper in the Dining room and the digital radio in each room - together with his partner Barry, Robbie offers a charming environment for guests to enjoy the beautiful City of Edinburgh, and at a very competitive price representing excellent value for money. Ardmor House is a jewel and I hope to return soon to enjoy this exceptional hospitality.

Room Tip: In my opinion all the large double bedrooms are equally attractive, light sleepers might request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room and house, super friendly hosts, and really delicious breakfast. My first tripadvisor review - felt compelled to write this since Robin and Barry have such a warm, stylish and wonderful guesthouse!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milesnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is not your average guest house. The superior and quality attention to detail was the best anyone can offer. I stayed for three night and my only regret was that it was not longer. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Each morning you are greeted with a friendly staff with a custom ordered breakfast that tastes much better than most restaurants. Please consider this house as your first choice in comfortable lodging.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newsboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Had a wonderful weekend at Ardmor house, rooms are well decorated with a little bit of luxury, and the hosts are attentive without being intrusive. Location is walkable from the city centre if you fancy stretching your legs, or the bus goes from just outside.
I will be back again when I'm next in Edinburgh, even if it's just for the breakfast, which was cooked to perfection which ever you chose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this B&B and we thought it was really lovely. We stayed in an upstairs room that faced the front. I think it was room 4 but Im not sure. At the top of the stairs its the second door on the left. We saw only one other room up there and while it was really nice as well we preferred ours. The house is small, but the room is big. Its spacious with a nice big comfortable bed and also a little lounging couch by the windows, which are large and beautiful. The view is fine, nothing special. Its across from a park but its just ok. The bathroom was really nice with a good shower. There were nice little touches and we thought that the decor was really well done. Tasteful. The breakfast was good and the couple that runs it are both very very nice and warm people. It felt a little far from the old city but its not really a problem. We either walked or took a short taxi. There are a ton of other B&Bs on this street so I guess its a popular area for that. Its a very nice place and a high quality B&B. I dont think we would go back to Edinburgh but if we did we would be happy to stay there again, we felt it was very well priced. The only thing I would say is that we peeked into the room downstairs and be warned- its TINY and no privacy because everyone who enters the house can see right into the window. Personally I would not stay in there. Upstairs is great though!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is way too small in my opinion and not private enough. Upstairs all looked good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manayiotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

As soon as I entered, I was greeted and welcomed by name. I was given a nice cool drink while I filled in some details. Robin showed me to my room where soothing classical music was playing. On the pillow I found two home made Scottish sweets, labelled "Scottish Tablets" from Ardmor House. The bed was full of lovely cushions, so I just sank into the bed and fell asleep.....

Breakfast is like christmas morning, all of the gems are laid out like presents at christmas time, cheese, marmite, cereal, jams.... and you can still choose from the menu. Day 1 I had the scrambled egg with smoked salmon, day two I had a lovely friend egg with veggie sausages and mushrooms. If you want to judge cooking, see how someone fries an egg, this was not only perfect, but super fresh and plump! How does a friend egg taste when made with love? Answer: You just have to try here!

The entire place oozes love, from the warm welcome, the lush bedrooms and vera the dog. I didn't see as much of Edinburgh as I had wished, but I don't mind, this house has a huge warming embrace, like a giant hug making you want to stay.

Please take note of the suggestions, all carefully typed and collected in a folder, I went to one of the restaurants in their list TOP!

My conclusion is, if you want a romantic weekend, or if you soul was just tired like mine I would go there and enjoy the warmth you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Go for on suite even if solo, treat yourself you deserve it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seustace2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The key ingredient to Ardmor House are the boys who own and run it and their faithful "assistant" Vera (a lovely wee Schnoodle). Their suggestions regarding local restaurants were spot-on.

On top of that are the amazing hot breakfasts which were all delicious. The most memorable were the potato waffles with smokey bacon, and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. There were also all manner of breads, pastries and home baked muffins as well as cereals of almost every kind. The plunger coffee was another highlight.

I stayed in room number one which overlooked Pilrig Park across the road. It has a very comfortable bed and the most brilliant red floor to ceiling length curtains. The room also has a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The ensuite bathroom was very modern.

Personally I thought the location was great especially as there is literally a very frequent local bus service at the door. The view of the park was lovely especially after snow had fallen.

I must also mention the magic "cleaning fairy" that tidies up your room and makes your bed while you are having breakfast. A very pleasant surprise. An equally pleasant surprise was meeting Vera who seems to adore all her house guests.

I can't recommend Ardmor House highly enough! Do yourself a favour and stay at Ardmor House.

Room Tip: I enjoyed having a room facing the street and the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,642 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing