We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, Fabulous Haven”
Review of Ardmor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardmor House
Ranked #70 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
“Chic, Fabulous Haven”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you're looking to experience the best of Edinburgh style and hospitality look no further than Ardmore House. From the moment we saw the photos on line we knew we'd love this gem of a B&B-- but the photos don't do it justice. They don't convey all the little extras that Robin takes care of: luxurious linens, spa quality baths and toiletries and the oh-so homey tea and coffee service in each room. Upon arrival we were treated royally. Breakfast is a treat with too many excellent options to mention. By the end of our stay I wanted to dognap Vera and commission Robin to inject his decorator's panache into my own home. We're already looking forward to our next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    23
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
120
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This BnB is outstanding! The attention to detail that Robin has put into making this place so welcoming, is obvious. It certainly deserves the awards it has received. It felt like 'home from home' - and the hospitality was amazing. From the friendly check-in (even though we were hours late!) to the quality of furnishings in the bedroom, and the delicious excellent range of food at breakfast... Nothing was too much trouble and we can't recommend this very special BnB enough! We stayed here for the start of our honeymoon and what a relaxing start to the holiday it was! Many thanks - you guys are doing a truly super job!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 - fab size & lovely view of the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Vera we were hooked! Delicious breakfast with a good choice of selections. Our room was perfect with every detail taken care of and the beds were super comfortable. And, oh yes, Robin and Barry were wonderful host too!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Elegant B & B - our bedroom was fabulous. Beds were so comfy. Robin and Barry gave us such a warm welcome and made us feel at home. The Breakfast's were delicious and such a variety. The extra touches were unique ie a welcome cordial, tea and coffee in bedroom was simply lovely.
Vera gave us a lovely goodbye when we left. Have recommended Ardmor House to our friends.

Room Tip: Our bedroom Room 2 was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marti2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and LOVED it.
Robin who runs the Ardmor House was a very pleasant host, with a warm welcome on arrival, followed by helpful dining out tips – and all recommendations were fantastic places.
There was a great choice for breakfast in a beautiful, sunny breakfast room. A relaxing atmosphere (classical music all over the place), really nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and stylish large double bedrooms. The beds were super comfortable!
We really enjoyed the exceptional hospitality, thanks to Robin.

Judit, from Vienna

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This wonderful BnB is perfectly positioned in the heart of the great city of Edinburgh. The rooms are well appointed and within a 15 minute walk to City Center or, better yet, buy a multi pass on the sightseeing bus lines. One of the lines picks up about 3 blocks from Ardmor and takes you into the heart of all the sights.

Robin who runs the Ardmor could not have been a more pleasant host, giving us great tips on restaurants and bars to hit. The included breakfast offers several homemade selections (I recommend the salmon scramble) along with all the usual pastries, cereals and fresh fruit. The bedding is also sumptuous.

Relaxing classical music pours out of every room of the stately home and a bottle of whiskey sits waiting for free pours that begins the evenings with a calming thrust.

I think there are only five rooms in the house. Four are upstairs and are perfect for any couple. The only one downstairs is super tight and would not be comfy for a couple over the course of several nights. So make sure you ask for upstairs availability if you're more than a single staying for multiple nights.

Great value and a grand host.

On a side note, if this is your first time to Edinburgh, do buy the 48 hour pass to the five sightseeing bus lines with on-and-off privileges. For about 20 pounds per person it's well worth it both for a narrated view of the city's sights and the convenient transportation.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room if you're staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Really comfy bed! spotlessly clean, friendly welcome and lots of little extra touches that made our stay thoroughly enjoyable! Would highly recommend to my family and friends and intend to return on next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eibhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Ashdene House
Ashdene House
#126 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#83 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#53 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#96 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#29 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor House

Property: Ardmor House
Address: 74 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ardmor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmor House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardmor House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing