We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“handy to transport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Conifers Guest House

The Conifers Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Conifers Guest House
Ranked #145 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“handy to transport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had alovely stay at Conifers. David was managing alone as his wife was away, but that didn't seem to phase him. We had a lovely breakfast and David was very knowledgeable about the local area and attractions we may find interesting in Edinburgh. The rooms were clean and quiet, the beds comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The bus stop (to get into the city)was directly across the road and shops and restaurants were an easy 15 minute walk away. If we're ever lucky enough to be in that part of the world again we would definitely stay at Conifers again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is smaller with very small bathroom but is on ground floor. Room 4 is large with settee and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    16
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This is the first b&b I have stayed in for years as I would usually choose a hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. Room was good, although the shared bathroom was a little small. You can walk into the city centre in less than 20 mins. There is free car parking on the street which is an added bonus in a city. The room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was ok and cooked to order, there was a good choice. Overall excellent value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank z0rba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay here.
the location is good, bus stop is right in front of the house. it only takes about 10 minutes walking to the Carlton Hill.
the room is cozy, though bathroom is a little small and the drain seems not working well.
bed is comfortable. Scottish breakfasts are fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spent 3 nights here during a short trip to Edinburgh. Easy to find with lots on street parking available. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The bathroom is a little cosy, but entirely functional. David was an extremely helpful host and the cooked Scottish breakfast was fabulous. Many thanks,

Room Tip: Bus connections from Leith walk take you right into the city centre in 10 minutes, or walk in 20 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here due to the minimal choice of placed during the festival and it was basic but good. Charged £100 a night with no payment options apart from cash but room was comfy and clean. Town was surprisingly close and only took 6 min walk but loads of buses too. Dont know what normal price is but I think this is a good option all year round.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice, clean guesthouse. The owners make you feel at home and always see what they could do to help. I arrived at an unattractive hour and yet they stayed up to let me in. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone who likes a reasonably priced guesthouse with good breakfast and twenty minutes walk from the centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace888London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed at the conifers for a one night stay. David was very welcoming and friendly and liz cooked our breakfast to perfection, really lovely clean rooms with everything you need, will be back when visiting edinburgh again. Thanks again for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaceandDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#128 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#60 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#109 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#195 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#79 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Conifers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conifers Guest House

Property: The Conifers Guest House
Address: 56 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Conifers Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Conifers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Conifers Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing