We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in quiet yet well located apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Not much to say that hasn't been covered in previous reviews, Chester Residence lived up to high expectations.
Booked penthouse apartment for three night stay to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday.
Very warm welcome, staff very friendly and helpful. Complimentary bottle of wine and birthday message from manager in apartment thoughtful touch.
Apartment spotless and well appointed. Very peaceful area which was a real treat for a stay in a capital city. View of Edinburgh castle from bedroom (and bathroom!) lovely.
Couldn't fault The Chester Residence-all aspects of stay excellent from quality of accommodation to top notch customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainey7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel has plenty good reviews, but have to say mine not all good.
We booked the penthouse 4 months in advace and when we arrived were shown to another room, with a building site for a view!
We then were taken to the penthouse (because luckely the other double booking didn't arrive!) but no apology was made.
Their were nigly things which for 5 star shouldnt have been.
Loads light bulbs didnt work and the bedroom was like a hot house during the night.
The tap fitting was slack on the bath and a hole in the wall where clients were fitting the hand shower back on the holder, and the base of the wet room floor bit grubby at the corners.
Think for 5 stars things like that that are needing attention should get it and quickly.
The boy that offered to take our luggage when we arrived never even acknowlaged us on departure!!!

Room Tip: Ground level rubbish view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NorthSeaTimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Dear North Sea Timmy-
Thank you for your review, im sorry that you chose this forum to air your issues rather than speaking to us at the time of your stay.
We offered you an upgrade to one of our beautiful new apartments in townhouse 6 , and you accepted , changing your mind when you arrived as you claimed you prefered the bathroom in the penthouse, so we moved you again. Please note we NEVER double book guests !
When you checked out none of the issues you claim in your review were mentioned and i find it difficult to beleive that the faults you mentioned occured as i personally check every room , every day.However we are aware of your "place of work " and have reported this to tripadvisor.
Kind regards -Rory MacAleece. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Where to start. From our arrival we were made to feel very welcome with lovely coffees and teas served to us while our bags were taken up to the apartment.

The apartment itself was spotless and very high end and came complete with ipod and GHD'S. All breakfast food was provided and the mini molton brown toiletries were an added delight!

The staff were exceptional especially Katie, who brought us cocktails to our rooms on the saturday night !! I've stayed in many hotels all over the world and the big chains could take a few lessons from this small boutique.

We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellster1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Shellster 1-
It makes me very proud when i read reviews like the one you took the time to post.Our team here at Chester work so hard to make every guests stay a great one. I see from your review you loved our sundown cocktail! We look forward to you returning.
Rory MacAleece -GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Fantastic service, very spacious clean,modern apartments.
Lots of room in the 2 bedroom apartment for a family with teenagers.
Fittings, furnishings are superb.
Staff could not do any more for you.
Beds are very comfortable.
Overall would be the best accommodation I have stayed in anywhere

Room Tip: the mews apartment was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255093Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Hi Steve
Glad you enjoyed your stay in our amazing Mews Apartments. You are so right that they suit families of any age simply due to the space.
We work hard to ensure all guests have a real 5 star stay, on this occasion it seems you did.
I look forward to you returning to Chester.
Rory MacAleece-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I agree with all of the other reviews, this place is excellent. It is a great alternative to the traditional luxury hotels in Edinburgh. I would book here again without hesitation, the extra space and facilities are great, but the level of service really sets this place apart! We stayed for two nights after our wedding, and were greeted outside the hotel (even at 2am!) escorted straight to our excellent apartment and had champagne breakfast arranged for the next morning.
The next evening after we arrived back a member of staff popped by to ensure everything was up to standard and brought us some complementary 'sun downers'. A small thing but not all that common in the UK.
In short, 5* facilities, excellent location, and a small, thoughtful team of extremely proffesional staff who make The Chester Residence rate more highly than the usual suspects in Edinburgh.
Thanks to the team for looking after my Wife and I!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2011

Dear Jennianddrick
It sounds from your review that you had a great time and enjoyed everything that my team at The Chester Residence offer.The Sunday Sundowner cocktails are really becoming a hit with all guests, i borrowed this idea from a the hotel i stayed at for my honeymoon in the Maldives.
Rory MacAleece-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We booked direct with the hotel website - got a room for an absolute bargain of £125 for one night. We could've got it cheaper through a third party website - but booking on their website meant we could be sure which room we were going to get. They all looked amazing but we chose the Penthouse in the end - because we are a couple and liked how the kitchen / diner was set up - looked cosy.

Booking was easy and staff from the very start were fantastic.

We arrived tired at 1.30pm after a long drive. Fortunately our room was ready and we were shown around it straight away.

The finish of the rooms were amazing - everything was high quality and for us just how we'd have our dream house!

Complimentary still / sparkling water were in the fridge, along with milk, twinings tea and coffee etc.

The kitchen contained all the appliances / utensils you could want for - no matter what you hoped to cook in this hotel/apartment - you surely had everything at your disposal.

The bed was so so comfortable - best nights sleep ever.

Free wifi was also great - really quick.

And the bathrooms.... are amazing. you will not want to go home. Again with complimentary molton brown toiletries which were lovely.

Since this is a review, if i had to be UBER critical, the only improvements could have been:

- There's no dressing table in the bedroom - but there is a set of drawers with a mirror above it that you can stand against... i'm just fussy and prefer a dressing table i guess (again a minor gripe)
- The water in the shower didn't drain very quickly - had to stop mid way to let it drain a little (should have let reception know - i'm sure they'd have sorted this... but didn't realise until i was in the shower)
- The sofa looked lovely but wasn't massively comfortable for laying on (again... not it's purpose i know- and would have to be hard wearing for a hotel... just being uber critical)

FYI NONE OF THESE CRITICISMS WERE DETRIMENTAL TO OUR STAY and staff were so so helpful. But just wanted to mention them - that's literally all that was wrong and i am really picky. Me and my partner both LOVED this hotel.

It's only a leisurely 10 minute walk from the top of Princes Street (the main street in Edinburgh). To sum up, great location, great hotel - it was a massive highlight of our stay. If we ever return to Edinburgh - we'd definitely have to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiefrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay in this wonderful hotel on Easter Sunday. Everything was perfect and our only regret was that we were only staying one night. We received a complimentary bottle of wine and two Easter cupcakes which we regrettably left in the fridge and never actually ate!! They did however look delightful!
The accommodation is of an exceptionally high standard with no expense spared in the soft furnishings. I can not praise this establishment and its wonderful staff highly enough and hope to return in the very near future!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGPMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,888 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,888 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £147 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing