We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$372
US$333
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,927)
Filter reviews
1,927 results
Traveller rating
1,756
134
22
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,756
134
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousechester streetowners residencerothesay placecinema roommews apartmentliving roommolton brown toiletriesprivate gardensky tvnespresso machineserviced apartmentwest endfull kitchenbirthday cardunderfloor heatinglarge bedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,798 - 1,803 of 1,927 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2007

i booked this through LateRooms.com when I couldn't find a suitable hotel in Edinburgh at short notice.It is extremely comfortable and quiet and yet is in a very central location.Being individually owned and managed shows in the attention to detail provided in the apartments and the owners are very available to get taxis, book and advise on restaurants etc.a appartment offers a much more flexible stay than a hotel - it is nice to order a take-away or even get a M&S meal and have it in comfort - equally nice to have breakfast in your own kitchen and own time in the morning. This was included in the price and left in the kitchen fridge and was also excellent.
we will look to stay here every time we are in edinburgh now, and hope to fingd similar appartments in other locations.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank fnona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

My fiance and I travelled from San Diego, CA to Edinburgh to marry at Dundas Castle September 2, 2007 and stayed at 9 Chester St. for three nights before our wedding day. The residence exceeded our expectations and was a perfect lead-up to the big event. The neighborhood is lovely--you are off the main roads but close enough to walk just about anywhere (and we did, what with all the pre-wedding errands and events we had).

The 1st floor apartment was breathtaking. It was very spacious with lots of light from the many windows and with a great view to the gardens in the back. The flat was very clean, made to feel like a comfortable home, and had all the extras you'd expect in a five-star hotel. The flat had all the modern amenities yet kept with architectural integrity of the historical building. We had the privacy of a self-catered apartment, yet the 5-star service of a hotel including daily maid service and breakfast. Anything we needed (taxi, etc.) was just a phone call away. The wine, chocolates and cookies were a fantastic touch. Despite paying the high-season rate, we found it an exceptional value for the money. We had paid a similar rate for a room at The Glasshouse in early July 2007 and The Chester Residence is in a league of its own. We plan to return there every time we return to visit Scotland!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank PeakBgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We were in Edingburgh to "do" the Fringe as with two student-aged children this is the best way of having a family holiday we have yet found. We stayed three nights and had the two bedroom apartment on the second floor.

We were very impressed with the accomodation. It is totally clean, spacious and well equipped with fittings and furnishings of a high standard. It is probably the most comfortable and luxurious service appartments we have stayed in.

It is expensive but definetly worth it and, an unexpected bonus for us, was that we spent considerably less than usual on restaurant / cafes/ bars as it was easy to make outr own snacks in the kitchen.

The kids appreciated the DVD selection and TV in their room and its close enough to the town for them to come and go as they pleased. The ensuite bathroom in the main bedroom is rather small but the excellent shower made up for that.

Graham and Gillian were friendly and helpful. We didn't require much from them in way of service but they made it clear they would help us whenever necessary.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_LLoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

This is the second time we have stayed in these lovely apartments. Often a return visit does not always meet the same expectations, not the case with the Chester residence. The rooms were still furnished to the same exacting standards and the service we received from the proprieters Gillian and Graham were as obliging and friendly as on our last visit.

The serviced apartments are ideally placed in Edinburgh for all the major attractions. There are some excellent restauraunts within easy walking distance and the luxury of returning to such a comfortable home from home makes such a difference. In fact it's so comfortable you are reluctant to go out in the first place.

I have no doubt we will be returning to Edinburgh again soon and would not now consider staying anywhere other than the Chester Residence. At little more than you would pay for a good hotel, I would recommend anyone to try it.

Kevin & Cheryl Morton

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KevM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

I discovered the Chester Residence as a consequence of Tripadvisor.com.
I'm delighted we found it. My wife and our two kids, aged 12 and 16 spent 3 nights at the Chester last month. We flew from Portland, Oregon through Vancouver BC, and then Heathrow into Edinburgh. After collecting our bags, it was about a 20 minute cab ride.
We got there around 3:30 pm local time (though it felt like 4am on our bodies-a sort of out of body experience). We were greeted by Graham (who owns and operates the residence w/his charming wife Gillian). He helped us w/our bags and graciously gave us a tour of our apartment (number 1), a two-bedroom on the top floor.
He recognized our collective state of exhaustion and kept it brief and welcoming, and told us to come find him or Gillian if we required anything further, once our heads had cleared.
The apartment was great. The master bedroom has a queen bed which my wife and I occupied, with its own smallish, but nice bathroom w/shower. The kids shared the 2nd bedroom wch has twin beds wch were seperated by a bedside table. I'm told this bed can be made into a full/queen should a couple be using it.
The kids' bedroom had a wall mounted flat screen TV wch the kids liked.
There is a second large bathroom with tub/shower that the kids used.
The sitting room has another TV (both tvs are on a dish with a whole host of channels available). The sitting room is very comfortable for 4, and probably would work for 5 or 6. It also has a DVD player. The Chester has a large library of DVDs and in our jet lagged stage, we availed ourselves of several.
The apartment also has a fully equipped galley kitchen wch is stocked w/coffee/tea/juice/bread/yogurt/cereal/water/crackers and is a great way to start your day.
The building is gorgeous and probably a couple of hundred years old. The apartment nonetheless feels very modern. The bathroom fixtures are stunning. The furniture is modern but comfortable.
The street in front of the property is a fairly busy road, but noise is not a problem. The master is on the back end of the unit and overlooks the Chesters' garden along w/neighboring properties gardens (all w/cute sheds).
The property is very well located. W/Graham and Gillians help, it was an easy walk to all of the main avenues of Edinburgh. Graham set us up w/a couple of dinner reservations wch worked out well. If you elect to stay at the Chester, have them email or fax you the list of restaurants they maintain, wch is current and offers a savvy critique of the cuisine, atmosphere, location and cost of the recommended establishments.
We spent 2 nights at the Chester and then ventured off to the wee village of Elie (near St. Andrews) where we'd rented a cottage for 3 nights.
We returned to the Chester for our 3rd night. We had advised them that we'd be back around noon and we'd appreciate it if they could have the apartment ready for us. They did. It was a seamless move.
They set us up w/a taxi for an early flight out of Edinburgh for London the following morning.
The Chester and Graham and Gillian are wonderful. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to stay there again should we ever make it back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews