We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at The Chester Residence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just returned from our stay at The Chester Residence. We stayed for one night in the new apartment called the ‘Owner’s Residence.’ The apartment has been furnished in an Armani-esque theme. We stayed for my partner’s birthday and were upgraded as a result. Arrived in the apartment to ‘Chester’ cupcakes and a birthday card from the staff. This apartment has a home cinema and Jacuzzi bathtub, it was so luxurious we didn’t want leave. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank vesper919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Dinesh21

So glad to see that our hard work in the stunning new apartment , the Owners Residence has paid off.

We do try to upgrade guests when rooms are available, and thus i hope your partner had a very special birthday and enjoyed the bespoke "Chester Cupcakes" i had sent down?

We have taken style influences from many different areas , your keen eye has spotted that 6/4 has but a few from Casa de Armani ! They really do set this room apart from the others.

Kind regards

Rory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed in the newly opened cinema apartment (6/4) at the Chester Residence- having read previous reviews I was expecting a lot- and they don’t disappoint. The apartment has been very tastefully decorated (excuse my bad photographs, they don’t do the apartment justice) and has everything you would possibly need- including your own private cinema, large 2 person Jacuzzi and a private garden. I have stayed in similar suites in hotels before and they have been 3 times the price and not nearly as well equipped and as luxurious as this. If (like me) you like to treat yourself to the finer things in life every now and then- then book this apartment and you will not be disappointed. With regards service- I’m not going to bore you as it has all been written before- the staff are first class- truly great.
Only down side- few light bulbs not working ( which were quickly fixed) and the jacuzzi took about 10 minutess to fill (but its hugh).
All in all- a wonderful stay and I’m not easy to please.

Room Tip: 6/4- private cinema and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Davidh557

What a great review of our amazing new Apartment " The Owners Residence" .
The kind comments about the decor and design i have passed back to our hard working team at Chester HQ.
The home cinema really is amazing and to watch it drop out the ceiling at the touch of a button is very cool .
I note from your review that the Jacuzzi took about 10 mins to fill up! This is to be expected due to the sheer size of the bath itself, i am sure however that you enjoyed the bubbles once they were up and running..
Your comments about the team here at Chester have been as always passed back and really fill all of us with pride to know we go above and beyond in the call for service excellence .
I look forward to welcoming you back in residence with us soon.
Kind regards

Rory .
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Could it possibly be as good as Trip Advisor Reviwews said? Yes it can! We stayed in the "Garden Apartment" at the Chester Street apartment over the last weekend for the Festival. Edinburgh is massively busy, Chester Street is massivley peaceful! It is impossible to believe you are a 10 minute walk from Princes Street in the middle of August and everything is so quiet. Otherwise everything is as previous reviews, from the moment we were escorted to our apartment with the poor concierge carrying our cases behind, to the moment Neil arranged and checked our taxi away the Chester Residence was perfect. Huge, very well appointed, enough "bits" in the fridge for us to have 3 breakfasts without visitng a shop, even umbrella to keep off the (inevitable) Edinburgh weather...and if only they could fix that. (Perhaps the garden apartment would then live up to its name!!) We are already looking WHEN to go back, not if, thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We came here as a family of five (3 children aged 12, 5 and 5) and the room provided was very comfortable with enough beds for us all.

The staff were very friendly, the room very clean and we would highly recommend staying at this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevRuf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here a couple of times, both times in the mews. First time was for my 21st, as soon as they found out they brought a box full of goodies to our room and a lovely little note! The apartment was lush! Couldn't fault it at all. The service from the staff was also brilliant, they'd do anything for you. They also let us stay in our apartment til 2, even though checkout was 11! If you stay on a weekend only (I think, we didn't get it when we stayed on a weekday) there is a complimentary bar for a couple of hours on the evening.
The second time we stayed was for a bon jovi concert, it's in a great location for the Murrayfield stadium. About a 20 minute walk and a 10 minute taxi ride (if that!). We arrived early and we were told our room wasn't ready and wouldn't be for a couple of hours, until check in time, so we got took into the lounge and were given coffee and pastries. 3 members of staff come in to see if we were ok, a blonde girl, Ian the concierge and Rory the GM, which was lovely! After about 30 minutes the GM said we could go to our apartment as they'd got the maid to clean ours before the rest. When we went into it, Ian (concierge) had bon jovi 'living on a prayer' blasting out from the iPod dock, which was a cute touch! We were in a different mews apartment, the one next door to the first stay. We preferred the first one, only for the colour scheme and living room furniture and not for any other reason! Definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moo567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were overwhelmed by the attention to detail, not only by the furnishings but by the way we were dealt with by the experienced staff too.

The suite we stayed in was very spacious, very clean and had plenty of gadgets to keep us entertained.

We would sincerely like to thank the staff for making us feel welcome, especially Rory, and for making our Anniversary one to remember.

Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captaincuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the Chester Residence in Edinburgh from the 2nd to the 5th of August. With Two adults and three children, we took a two bedroom flat. everythng in the place was of an extremely high quality with flat screen tv's, Jamie Oliver kitchen equipment and the like. The interior design was very welcoming and made a very pleasant environment for all the family to stay and enjoy. There was some get you started milk and other bits and pieces, again a great thought. I found the beds to be very comfortable. The reception and concierge were great and alsways accommodating.

I had only one slight grip in that the appartment we were in seemed to be suffering from a few maintenance issues in that a number of lights didnt work and a number of the wall hung facilities in the bathroom such as the toilet roll holder, soap dish etc were falling off the wall. Having mentioned this the concierge brought us a bottle of wine and some chocolate for the kids and generally dealt with what was a very minor problem very well. We will be back and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigVerntherealone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,892 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £145 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing