We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury serviced apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We spent several nights here during the festival
It's a very quiet location, with no street noise (at least during our stay)
The apartment was luxurious, comfortable and very clean. For anyone wanting to cook, it's fully equipped. In our case, we used the toaster and the Nespresso machine.
All staff were extremely helpful
The first tip I'd give is to make sure you pre-book parking, as the available spaces are limited and a short distance away. The hotel will park and collect the car though - thanks Neil and Ian!
Second tip is that the Scottish Museum of Modern Art (split across 2 sites) is 5 minutes walk away - and the cafes there have great food and are great value.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank la-Z-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

Definitely the best hotel appartment I have ever stayed in.( 7/4) Beautifully designed and equipped and spotlessly clean.
The amount of space for just the two of us was luxurious.
The staff were excellent - cheerful and willing to help with anything we required and we had the most brilliant breakfast - a huge bowl of exotic fruit piled high and a wonderful bowl of yoghurt drizzled with honey and sprinkled with dried fruit and nuts! -perfect!
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Apartment 7/4 was great and we also saw the basement one below which our friends were in - also amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The price was high but for a one night stay it offered everything and more. Breakfast was already in the fridge waiting for us; bread, butter, jam, cereals and eggs in a fully equipped kitchen. The bedroom was luxurious and all kitted out with all our desires. The lounge overlooked our own private garden.
Our only upset was that our daughter's trundle bed was awful and had to be replaced as it was collapsing and was still a poor nights sleep for her. Would be netter if they had a sofa bed instead.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzac2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Very much enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Chester Residence for the fringe festival. We stayed in the penthouse appartment which was extremely well appointed and full of those little extras which make a stay that much more special. Staff were attentive and helpful and we particularly enjoyed the use of the visitors lounge with complimentary drinks in the evening. The only reason that we are not giving fives stars is that the apartment was just beginning to show sighns of wear, couple of stained areas of carpet a cracked floor tile in the bathroom, just small blemishes which probably will need attention if this is to stay number one on the list. We also found the apartment quite dark with no reading light on my side of the bed, however I am sure this would have been attended to by the staff if I had asked but as we were so tired after a day at the fringe, reading a book was not much of an option. As a venue for visiting the fringe it is about a 30 minute walk from the Royal Mile so not ideal if you want to nip back to your room during the day, next time my wife and I will stay nearer the centre of the city, this is not a reflection on the quality of these appartments only their location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

For our anniversary this year we decided to treat ourselves and see some of the Edinburgh Festival and then a stay away. When we arrived at the Chester residence we were met at the car by Neil the concierge who took our bags from us and we were shown through to the beautiful reception area. Our bags went straight to our room and we followed on shortly behind after having a coffee in the lounge with the front of house manager Katie. We stayed in appartment 6/2 in the newly opened townhouse. The decor was immaculate - so beautiful. As we had informed the hotel our stay was for our anniversary when we arrived in the room - after being met by the beautiful scent of a burning Molton Brown candle, we found a suprise of cupcakes compliments of the hotel for our anniversary. what a lovely thought!! The shopping we had asked to be put in the room so we could have a relaxing afternoon 'at home' was ready and waiting for us. Rory the General Manager popped up shortly after arriving to see that the room was to our satisfaction and to wish us a lovely stay - the personal experience made this anniversary one to remeber. Nothing was too much trouble - they booked shows and dinner for us. Even with the hotel being full and busy, you would never have guessed as we received a very personal, relaxed stay. I would recommend to everyone, a stay at The Chester Residence is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just returned from our stay at The Chester Residence. We stayed for one night in the new apartment called the ‘Owner’s Residence.’ The apartment has been furnished in an Armani-esque theme. We stayed for my partner’s birthday and were upgraded as a result. Arrived in the apartment to ‘Chester’ cupcakes and a birthday card from the staff. This apartment has a home cinema and Jacuzzi bathtub, it was so luxurious we didn’t want leave. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank vesper919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Dinesh21

So glad to see that our hard work in the stunning new apartment , the Owners Residence has paid off.

We do try to upgrade guests when rooms are available, and thus i hope your partner had a very special birthday and enjoyed the bespoke "Chester Cupcakes" i had sent down?

We have taken style influences from many different areas , your keen eye has spotted that 6/4 has but a few from Casa de Armani ! They really do set this room apart from the others.

Kind regards

Rory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed in the newly opened cinema apartment (6/4) at the Chester Residence- having read previous reviews I was expecting a lot- and they don’t disappoint. The apartment has been very tastefully decorated (excuse my bad photographs, they don’t do the apartment justice) and has everything you would possibly need- including your own private cinema, large 2 person Jacuzzi and a private garden. I have stayed in similar suites in hotels before and they have been 3 times the price and not nearly as well equipped and as luxurious as this. If (like me) you like to treat yourself to the finer things in life every now and then- then book this apartment and you will not be disappointed. With regards service- I’m not going to bore you as it has all been written before- the staff are first class- truly great.
Only down side- few light bulbs not working ( which were quickly fixed) and the jacuzzi took about 10 minutess to fill (but its hugh).
All in all- a wonderful stay and I’m not easy to please.

Room Tip: 6/4- private cinema and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Davidh557

What a great review of our amazing new Apartment " The Owners Residence" .
The kind comments about the decor and design i have passed back to our hard working team at Chester HQ.
The home cinema really is amazing and to watch it drop out the ceiling at the touch of a button is very cool .
I note from your review that the Jacuzzi took about 10 mins to fill up! This is to be expected due to the sheer size of the bath itself, i am sure however that you enjoyed the bubbles once they were up and running..
Your comments about the team here at Chester have been as always passed back and really fill all of us with pride to know we go above and beyond in the call for service excellence .
I look forward to welcoming you back in residence with us soon.
Kind regards

Rory .
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,881 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,887 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £147 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing