We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid week WONDER break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“mid week WONDER break”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and i planned a last min break to the big smoke.Planning on staying in the balmoral we are delighted we changed our minds at the last min.This place is prob the best accom that we have had the pleasure of staying at.This rivals the £1000+ suit at Cameron House which is hard to beat, believe me.The decor is spot on from the leather sofas to the miele appliances the full place is a touch of class.The staff have all been very well trained. They couldn't be nicer or do anything else to make your stay more pleasurable.The lovely lady who cleaned our rooms smiled every min of the day, the lad who carried our bags up 6 floors did it with a smile it all made for a lovely atmophere. PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW. You will not find a beter place in Scotland to stay for the price. I just hope there are rooms available for my next stay in Edinburgh. 12/10

Room Tip: Al the rooms looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    128
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
354
1,038
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tascott NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

A wonderful welcome from Neil in his cute black kilt set the scene for this remarkable establishment. We viewed the apartments on line, which has the best web site for viewing the rooms. Our apartment was very spacious and modern, with great bathroom and fine Molton Brown bath products. Most evenings Neil or Ian made cocktails for the guests – a great way to mix and meet other travellers. The apartment is a short walk to the main attractions of Edinburgh in a very quiet and delightful Georgian neighbourhood. The only disparaging remark would be the amount one has to pay for parking £25 per day – hardly The Chester Residence fault, but it’s a bit of stinger. We can highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Well worth viewing all the apartments on the Hotels Web site - gives you an great feeling for the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Tascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My partner and I just spent a lovely 7day 6 night stay at the chester residences from 29th september 2011 to 5th october 2011.
Right from the start we entered the premises, we were won over. After a looong 14hr flight from singapore, we were greeted pleasantly by Neil and everyone. Granted the room was not ready in the wee hrs we arrived, but everyone made it a point to ensure our arrival and check in was as smooth as it can be. We were cheerfully given a tour of the place (oh my! diet cokes galore! and the longue...!!) and were almost in awe when shown our room 9/2. It was even more amazing than what was shown on the website!
Deco was modern, appliances top notch, and I spent much time just fiddling round in the kitchen, and ala-bachelor pad living room! Views from the living room was needless to say, breathtaking (we were on the 2nd floor)
Service was extremely personal, and far exceeded our expectations; it was even better than most 5-6 star hotels we've stayed in, and considering how frequent we travel, that says a lot! We will never hesistate to stay here again should we travel to Edinburgh once more.
THANK YOU SO SO MUCH for making my partner's 30th such a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The rooms are excellent. They are tasteful, modern and have everything you need and want. The service was exceptional and I was greeted with a smile. This is everything a five star hotel should be. Stay in this hotel in Edinburgh and definately stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tvilletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights this October and had a wonderful time - the service was great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location was ideal for us (a few minutes from Princes street, a short walk if you're able, and a leisurely 30-minute walk to the castle). While there's a great deal of construction on Princes to build the controversial new trams, making taxi rides and driving a little more complicated, it doesn't take away from this gorgeous city. We chose the Chester Residence based on the ranking from TripAdvisor, so we came expecting something special, and we were not disappointed! The apartment we had on Chester street was very large, the ceilings high, we had a kitchen, private garden and large living room with a sky-light, and furnishings chosen by a keen eye. Literally the only thing I could find wrong with the place, if anything, would be that the plumbing in the en-suite bathroom was a little noisy and the tub would fill a little when flushing the toilet, but considering the age of the building, and the fact that our apartment was lower than street level (but with a great amount of light), it's a very minor issue - we've experienced worse, noisier plumbing in other hotels in the UK. Overall, we found the Chester Residence to be a fantastic experience that is made near-perfect by the accommodating staff - we recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our LARGE serviced apartment in a beautifully restored Georgian townhouse featured a huge high ceilinged sitting room, an equally large bedroom with king bed and comfortable chairs which could be turned to face lovely private gardens, two bathrooms and a well equipped eat in kitchen. We were a five minute walk from the New Town and about a fifteen minute walk from the Old Town. Local buses on nearby Queensferry Street will take you to virtually any place in and around Edinburgh. The Chester is in the West End which is quiet but close to everthing. there are many fine restaurants nearby - or you can eat in and then curl up in front of the warming fireplace.
Caring staff answered all questions and responded to any requests. Our stay was a joy!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend arranged a trip to Edinburgh and a stay at The Chester Residence for my 30th birthday. We only had one night but it was so amazing that i cannot wait to come back.

We stayed in a luxurious penthouse apartment and although all of it was extremely well decorated I could have stayed the whole time in the bathroom with the tv & waterproof remote.

The staff at the hotel were so friendly and accomodating bringing a glass of champagne to our room in the early evening and inviting us to the bar for drinks. The staff chatted to us and were friendly and knowledgable without being intrusive on our evening.

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough and am definitely going to consider it my home from home next time we make it to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachie9UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
602 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing