We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing find! Stay no where else in Edinburgh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing find! Stay no where else in Edinburgh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We booked The Chester Residence via laterooms.com for our 4th wedding anniversary and it looked great on the website and on trip advisor before we went however when we arrived we were blown away!

As it was our anniversary the hotel staff had managed to secure an upgrade for us and it was simply amazing.

All the staff were so nice to us from the moment we arrived and made us feel very welcome on our stay.

The room was just gorgeous and newly finished. You could still smell the fresh new apartment smell. It had an on suite wet room, a massive queen size bed, large bath/whirlpool with a TV in the wall and a floating remote. A lovely kitchen with a coffee maker.

In the living room there was a huge comfy sofa with a massive (at least 50") TV and a door to the garden.

I have saved the best bit to last....... The in room cinema with Sky HD, Blu-Ray, PS3, touch screen remote for the lot and surround sound!

All in it was an amazing place to spend our 4th Wedding Anniversary and thanks to all the staff for making it perfect!

I called the hotel about a week before to get some flowers put in the room for my wife (as 4 years is flowers as a traditional gift) and they were very helpful and the florist they used did an amazing job

Suppose I better also say its in a very central location its only about 10 mins walk back from princess street.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a special occasion let the hotel know you never know what they may do for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmccafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    123
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
334
998
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband had booked me in here for the weekend of our wedding as a surprise. I had told him just to book a Premier Inn. VERY glad he didn't. Stayed in one of the penthouses and it was fantastic. Staff couldn't do enough for their guests and it's rather annoying that as I live in Edinburgh I can't justify going back. Highly recommend this but do be aware that there is no lift if you can't manage stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller200926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have been staying at the Chester Residence for 2 nights every week for the last 2 and a half years on business. Frankly, I wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. Not only are the apartments supremely comfortable and well equipped for business or leisure stays, but the staff are the most accommodating I have met in over 10 years of business travel in the UK, Europe and the USA. I bring my 7 year old daughter to Edinburgh during half term and holidays and she loves staying here too. There are very few places which can combine a great environment for business and family guests, but the Chester Residence does it with effortless ease.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed in the Penthouse Apartment over the weekend of 25-27 November 2011. I booked it as a special treat for my boyfriend's birthday. The apartment was absolutely stunning-by far the best place we have ever stayed.

The service that we received was impeccable. Special mention to Neil who was wonderful.

All in all we had a wonderful weekend and cannot recommend the Chester Residence highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked the apartment for one night as a treat for my mum's birthday.
My expectations were high (from other reviewers comments) but I wasn't disappointed.
Apartment was beautiful and staff were lovely and friendly. No complaints at all (apart from the fact we weren't staying longer)!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9/3 - was beautiful and had an enormous lounge/dining room overlooking Rothesay Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for a two night break and were very impressed with all aspects of the residence and with all of the staff. A special mention must go to the two young concierges-Neil and Ian- and to the overall professionalism of the manager Rory. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I had my best nights sleep ever in the exceptionally comfortable bed. The facilities certainly leave nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We arrived and were very impressed with the decor and the layout of hotel, we were immediately greeted by a very nice man called Neil who took us to our room and explained a lot to us about best places in edinburgh as we weren't from the area. About 8'o clock we got a knock on the door from the general manager called Rory, to inform us the house rules and that reception had "flagged us up as a problem" - we were slightly offended as we had not done anything wrong however we explained we were a group of very responsible of 19/20 year olds and didn't have any intentions of having any wild after parties as we completely understood that it was a family hotel and people paid a lot to stay there, however we had paid the same as they all had. The manager said he was grateful we had this attitude and that just asked we behaved. About 10 minutes later he came back and knocked on the door and told us to get out, he was very aggressive and we felt that we paid the exact same money as everyone else staying there and were unfairly treated purely because of our age. It's a shame because the hotel was lovely however the manager was extremely rude and disrespectful and we will not be going back ever and definitely not recommending it. Completely feel that the manager lets this establishment down.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
42 Thank Jesica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
I have written my response to our valued future and returning guests.

Dear future guests.

We have a very strict non party policy at the Chester Residence. This is to
ensure that every guest that stays with us has a wonderful experience and is
not disturbed by anyone (regardless of age) having a party in our 
apartments. The reviewer, it was discovered, had a total of 12 unannounced friends (only 3 persons were registered at check-in) in her
apartment and enough alcohol to suggest there would be many more joining them over the course of the evening.
 They were warned on 2 occasions that parties and noise are not acceptable but
continued to push the boundaries of what we deem acceptable.

I made the decision to ask them to leave and this was done in a completely
professionally manner (contrary to the reviewer) for the sole purpose of
ensuring that other guests could enjoy the experience they expected
uninterrupted.

We pride ourselves on nothing short of top level 5 star treatment to
everyone,this includes a great  nights sleep, a fabulous room, and amazing
service . So please read the review above and understand that the young lady
is simply upset as we stopped her party before it started and thus pleased
unknowingly 21 other rooms by supplying the perfect Chester Residence
experience.

Please also be aware that the guest was not charged for her accommodation.

Rory MacAleece

General Manager
The Chester Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing