We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gosh what a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gosh what a hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Well what can I say!! Husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in Jan '12 - the staff had been really helpful on the email when we were booking this hotel and it just got better and better when we arrived. We got upgraded to a larger appartment and we were speechless on being showed to our room.

This is how to do your house up when money is no object.

This has got to have been the best place we have ever stayed!!! NO REALLY!!!!!!!!

The room was tasteful yet oppulent. Under floor heating on the floor tiles and big comfy couch and chairs in the lounge.

Everything is as it should be - if carling did hotels this is how they would do it.

The staff are helpful yet unobtrusive.

Everything you could possible want is available and if its not then they will try and get it.

Both the owners and the staff have a huge amount of pride in this hotel and it shows. The no stag/hen parties is great. With there only being a couple of appartments in each building there is no noise and you dont get disturbed by general comings and goings.

This hotel is 10 minute walk from haymarkey train station and is also about a 10 minute walk from the centre of edinburgh. It is idealy located to be close to things yet far enough away so as to not be bothered by the general noise of the city.

Book this hotel if you want a great a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pokeygumby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    127
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
348
1,031
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I've just returned from a short overnight stay in the "Penthouse" apartment for my wife's 30th birthday and can't recommend this place enough. We received a very warm and relaxed welcome from the concierge who was very professional and knowledgable without being overly stuffy. Unfortunately our room wasn't available for early check-in so after a bite of lunch in the very near by West End and George St we returned back to the room just in time to see the sunset and the Castle from our bedroom window. It's not the greatest view of the Castle but you still see plenty of it and the chimney stacks of the surrounding town house mansions give an amazing "Mary Poppins" view of Edinburgh on a clear night. Once in the apartment we didn't cross the door until ready to leave. We dined in and had our food cooked off-site before being delivered directly to our room. Don't be put off by the sound of this as the food was very good and would compete with room service at any 5 star hotel. Just be careful of what you order as you have to understand that everything will come cooked ready to eat. We ordered a desert which we waited over an hour to eat. When we re-heated it was ruined. No fault of the hotel and entirely our fault but it was a shame all the same. I also opted for the Romance Package and whilst these things sometimes feel like a rip off I can't say the same about this and it definitely enhanced our stay. The decor in the room is first class as are the facilities. We used this as a quick getaway but I would also highly recommend the hotel as a base for an extended stay or as a business home away from home. The prices when we booked were very competitive and probably much cheaper than other high profile hotels - I can't imagine them giving the same experience and luxury. We will definately return one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stezjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The apartments here are spacious, luxurious, and well equiped. The staff are polite, happy and attentive. There wasn't a thing wrong with this place. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perranporth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Chester residence is without doubt the finest place we have stayed, from the amazing facilities gorgeous apartments to the ever welcoming staff!
nothing is too much trouble for them, anything you need anytime day or night they arrive at your door with a smile.
we were lucky enough to have a penthouse suite which was just amazing no expense has been spared to make it look and feel amazing, also with a stunning view of Edinburgh castle!
we stayed with our 11 month old baby and it was like a home from home experience but with all the luxury and more that you would expect from the most expensive 5 star hotels! we will definately return the sooner the better!

Room Tip: we had a tour of them all they are amazing cant see any reason why we would not stay in any of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

* We booked a 1 bed apartment, although there was only 1 bedroom you could still have a lot of people over for dinner in the lounge/dining area

* The location was pretty good, no need to get taxi's

* On street pay & display parking outside, we just kept topping up by phone

* The apartment itself was beautiful and quite homely with everything you could possibly need during your stay

* The staff were really friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Have just spent my 3rd trip to The Chester Residence with my 4 good friends where we thoroghly enjoyed our home from home experience with a touch of luxury, staff and management were very attentive as usual and even booked our visit for Dec 2012 before we left, spreading the word to others, can't fault you at all. Looking forward to seeing your refurbishment however not sure what you can improve on. Well Done Everyone !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This place is fantastic. I hate everything, even you for reading this review. Yes you! But I love this hotel, I stayed here for quite some time and I just loved it. Central to everything from transport to anything in the central Edinburgh area. I stayed here alone which I regret but hey, always a next time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
593 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing