We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburghs top.place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Edinburghs top.place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Chester Residence and are still overwhelmed by the whole experience. The apartment was very spacious with luxurious contemporary decor with fixtures and fittings thoughtfully selected to complement the rooms. The bed has to be the best sleep ever.
The staff at the Chester Residence are faultless. Everything from organising the airport pick up and arranging special requests, they are the perfect hosts. A special mention to the kilted concierge Neil, who gave us friendly help and advice about all aspects of the amazing Edinburgh.
The Chester Residence is situated in a quiet area but perfectly close to all of Edinburghs attractions.
This stay was a secret surprise for my wife on our silver wedding anniversary and exceeded far beyond my expectations, the whole Chester Residence team made our special occasion, extra special.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimandJackie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    127
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
348
1,031
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Everything was perfect, from our arrival and introduction to the lovely Neil, to our gift of wine, chocs and more on Saturday evening, which was waiting in our beautifully appointed apartment. We booked a return visit before we had even left. Can't recommend The Chester highly enough, if only all hotels treated their guests with such courtesy and respect!

Room Tip: i don't think there are any bad apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at the Chester Residence in Edinburgh. The standard of accommodation is amazing. We primarily wanted a break away to relax and so having all the space of the luxury apartment was perfect. We could chill out and enjoy the apartment with no rush to head out into the city. The continental breakfast of fresh fruit salad, fresh breads and a huge array of cheeses and meats was fantastic! The apartment itself was extremely spacious and included a huge living room with dining area, a fully equipped kitchen, luxury bathroom and king size bedroom. Absolute peace and quiet at night combined with blinds and shutters on the windows made for the best night's sleep since we had children! However, the best thing about the Chester Residence is the truly impeccable service of the staff. They really looked after us in a very professional yet friendly manner and nothing was too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend the Chester Residence and hope to visit again before too long.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimO_271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 1 night stay in the chester residence, we fell in love with the apartment from the moment we saw it. The high cellings, beautiful decour and amazing living/dinning room with a cosy fire. The staff were very friendly and even recommended and book a table at a local resturant for us. The only bad thing was we would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Well worth a visit to make any special occasion just right. Location is excellent, walking distance for most things in the city. The rooms themselves are superb.
What makes this place so good is the service though. Nothing, and I mean nothing at all seems to be any trouble for any of the staff. Their attention to detail is second to none.
And we appreciated the extra hour before checkout since the clocks changed. Little things like that make all the difference when you get a child free weekend!
We will be back, that's for sure.

The only negative thing I can say (and I'm being picky now!), is that the lighting was somewhat limited when my wife was applying her make up. One mirror in the bathroom/bedroom with some better lighting would be helpful. Maybe even a little portable light. I dare say that in the summer, natural later light will help - but this was before the clocks changed. Otherwise though......as I said above!

Room Tip: If you've not got the legs for it...avoid the Penthouse! It's a fair climb...but worth it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the best place to stay in Edinburgh for comfort and flexibility. We used this accomodating friends over for our wedding.

Thank so much for everything you guys did to make our stay so fun and relaxing. You have a fantastic location and I know my US guests loved every second of it. I hear that you helped them out with sorting a dinner in one of the apartments on the Saturday night for them all to congregate and hang out.

Feedback from them was that all the husbands had a lot of work on returning to the States to upgrade all their houses to look like your apartments.

The concierges are amazing and cater to your every whim

Room Tip: Get the Mews flat if you want that extra outdoor space and access to a private BBQ. But seriously, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Took my girlfriend for her 30th Birthday for 4 days, 3 nights, stayed in the Penthouse (9/1) and what can I say...Wow! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Neil who parked our car, the whole experience was fantastic - from the decour (which is modern yet compliments the old buildings) to the friendliness of all the staff...nothing could be faulted. I ordered a few extras for my other halfs birthday (Champagne Breakfast and a Molten Brown gift set) these were arranged and delievered exactly as I requested. We were treated to complimentary drinks in the lounge on the first day and on my girlfriends birthday and the manager explained the history behind the hotel.

The location of the Chester Resisdence is convenient for access to princes street and beyond.

There are lots and lots of things I could go on to mention, but I don't think i need to. If you fancy a short break in a great city and want luxury without paying over the odds - then this is the place. It has set the bar for serviced aparthotels.

My ONLY gripe (and its more a recommendation) is that while the lack of lighting in the master bedroon of 9/1 is very soothing and intimate - it could perhaps do with another light fitting somewhere just to give more light when needed!

Room Tip: We stayed in 9/1 (Penthouse) great for couples.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
593 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing