We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless..!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Speechless..!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I loved the Chester! Seriously, I loved the location, the apartment itself and the very extremely helpful staff. For 3 adults and a baby, we got the 2-bedroom flat (8/2) and still, we paid less than expected to pay for a hotel – for a much better place. It’s suitable for one person, couples, families or groups.
It’s located in a quiet and safe location – about 10 min walking distance from the city center.
Bedrooms are a bit smaller than I anticipated, but who needs that with the very specious living room and fully-equipped kitchen. The colors and furniture are modern and nice and it doesn’t look like anyone has ever stayed there. I was only feeling exhausted by the end of the day to climb the stairs all the way to the second floor – so get one on lower floors if you think it’d be a problem for you; it wasn’t that bad.

The staff probably are the ones who granted the place a 5* accommodation; very welcoming, polite and helpful. This is how hospitality should be!

Just being picky, I would suggest supplying the apartment with a washer/drier just to attain perfection. and if possible, some more fixed hangers (probably behind the doors as the one on the main entrance door). I would also recommend to put into consideration serving more food options - I understand the fact that every flat has a self-service kitchen which is excellent, but a breakfast buffet or maybe more options on the food menu would be a plus.

Thank you Chester Residence for taking care of my family :) and YEST, I’d love to be back!

Room Tip: lower floors if unable to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n2nari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    124
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
336
1,009
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great spacious, ultra modern apartment. Seemed to have everything you would want or need. Wonderful kitchen with all necessary utensils, nicely stocked Nespresso coffee maker, satellite TV, and well furnished bedrooms with beautiful bathrooms. Quiet location, but within walking distance of the city proper. If your travels bring you to Edinburgh, you need to consider staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I am just back from a 3 night stay at the Chester Residence and would recommend it to anyone. It is situated in the Georgian "New Town" area of Edinburgh and less than a mile's walk from Princes Street.

For £140 a night (note, prices vary depending on the quality and size of flat), and much less than you would pay for a room at a city-centre hotel, you can enjoy the privacy and luxury of a well-appointed flat where you can come and go as you please. If you can't be bothered going out, you can order dinner from reception, or local take-aways.They will serve breakfast too if you want it, and if you feel like cooking dinner yourself (why would you?), the flats have a good kitchen and dining area.


When you visit Edinburgh, you can pay upwards of £200 for a fairly ordinary room in the city centre. Try the Chester Residence instead. It may a be a bit out of the city centre, but it is worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having read the fab reviews I decided to have a treat and book a night in a penthouse apartment.
It was fabulous and had everything you could need. The shower was fabulous and the bed probably the nicest I have ever slept in.
Every detail has been thought about, apart from a oven glove.
The breakfast was a sensation and so well presented.

Thank you to all the staff for being so lovely.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priestland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Gives you all the benefits of a 5 star hotel with all the flexibility of a sel catering apartment. Very high end aim achieved. Ideal for business or pleasure

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have nothing but rave reviews. We were upgraded upon check in. Our apartment was comfortable and very luxurious. Great in room tea and coffee. Really helpful front desk who sent us to great restaurants and booked tables for us. Only complaints were that we had trouble working the shower - a little too clever/techy. Also, the in room breakfast wasn't worth the money. .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for our honeymoon in one of the grand apartments. I am particularly fussy about hotels, apartments etc but I literally could not find fault! The staff are friendly and helpful but not over the top. The apartments are spacious and beautiful and the price is so little for what you get! The attention to detail is second to none! I will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing