We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Wow. We have had a wonderful stay at the Chester Residence. The Mews appartment was fantastic. 2 huge bedrooms, 3 bathrooms including one with a bath and TV opposite the bathtub ! Huge living room and all equipped kitchen. And a very stylish decoration. All what we like ! The location is at walking distance from Prince street and Charlotte Square. The staff is super friendly. The breakfast is served upon request in the appartment. Really convenient. We really had the feeling to be at home - and quite a nice one !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeansilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

Wow wow wow! Just back from The Chester Residence and seriously...I didn't want to come home! From the moment we arrived on The Chester premises we were treated like royalty! The room we had was absolutely gorgeous with our own Cinema Room, large Jacuzzi and all the best mod cons u could imagine! The service was second to none...having opted for The Romace Package...we were definitely not let down! If u want to treat your loved one to this fabulous hotel and package you will definitely not be disappointed! The staff were very professional and could not do enough for us! Rory and Ian were just fantastic and so friendly and I agree that any establishment would be so envious at the standard of service they provide! A big thank you to Kate (Head Housekeeper) her attention to detail and making sure we had the most fantastic experience ever was just spot on and faultless! (this woman is a complete gem and a fantastic asset to this hotel) and not forgetting the girls at reception...service was flawless girls..well done and last but not at all least...Kamrai...nothing was too much for her and she was lovely! Thank you so much for our wonderful experience and having visited a few nice establishments all around the world..little did we know that our best experience ever...was right on our doorstep!!! Good luck and all the best guys!! yous were exceptional!!! X

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Chester residence as we wanted somewhere very special to stay to celebrate our wedding. It was everything we could have wished for, from the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing seemed too much trouble and they worked hard to make our time at the hotel very special. Thanks to Ian for sorting the car and lugging all our luggage up and down the stairs! The accommodation (Mews apartment) was tastefully decorated, spacious enough to accommodate us all and the facilities were perfect to meet our needs. We would recommend the Chester residence to anyone. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: The Mews apartment is ideal for families with older children or small groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at the Chester Residence between 7th and 10th May 2012. What an amazing place! The appartments are of a fantastic quality, with state of the art appliances and TVs in almost every room. The customer service is flawless and would be the envy of any establishment.

The location is perfect for either business of pleasure. 10 min taxi from Edinburgh Waverley station, 10 min walk from Edinburgh Haymarket station. An easy and pleasant walk to Princess Street, Royal Mile etc.

If you want to treat yourself then there is no where better to stay in the heart of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: VIP suite is an amazing if expensive experience. The penthouse (House 8 flat 1) is also fantastic wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Customer service was A class with very helpfully and friendly staff on front of house including Angie & Sue who were very helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are 5 start mini appartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Perfect spot, top quality fixtures and fittings, friendly, courteous staff who went out of their way to help. Thank you Neil for unloading our numerous bags in the pouring rain. Twenty-five minute walk to town, but easy enough and pubs, restaurants, supermarket only minutes away. We stayed two days and loved it so much, would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: We were in ground floor suite six, heaps of room, fully equipped kitchen, lots of light and no stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Have just returned from Edinburgh after a one night stay in Scotland's glorious Capital city. So let's start with the location, simply perfect ! Located within a fifteen minute walk to George Street and surrounded by foreign embassies you know that you have chosen a re exclusive location. So, location aside lets talk about the service , well I have never been made to feel more welcome anywhere in the world in my life, the staff here are excellent, really attentive and can't do enough to make your stay an enjoyable one, there really up there with the best here. Ask for Neil who has a dual role as concierge / bar man, is bar knowledge is excellent along with his local humour and banter ! ( note to the owner here, promote this man, get him a company car or a pay rise but don't let him move on, get him to train any new members of your team ). The apartments are just so cool, awesome sized rooms, superb trendy decor with every amenity imagine able, you even have access to your own chef that cooks in your apartment and an excellent selection of DVDs, trust me when I say it's just an awesome place to be. A well stocked bar and private parking compliments a really great venue. Love it love it love it !!!! Don't miss out get it booked ! Designer class in a glass !

Room Tip: All rooms are great here,make sure you ask what is available a each apartment is slightly different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmeister1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,037 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
658 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,919 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £128 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing