We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Booked the Chester Residence for our 35th wedding anniversary and can honestly say our apartment 7/3 was simply stunning! The service was top notch from start to finish. We arrived at 1.15pm and the very pleasant girl on reception apologised that our apartment wasn't quite ready as the last people were late in checking out. She kindly offered to keep our bag and have it delivered to the apartment. She then recommended a lovely little bistro round the corner where we could have a drink and said she would call us when the apartment was ready. Within 20 minutes of us being in the apartment they delivered two chilled glasses of champagne and a lovely card complimentary of all at the Chester residence. What a lovely though and very much appreciated. The staff are excellent and I would thoroughly recommend these gorgeous apartments to anyone. Thank you to all. We shall return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank liz2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,857)
There are newer reviews for The Chester Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to fill as we were the only guests staying.

All the staff we had the pleasure to meet have excellent people skills and are more than happy to have a chat.

The room, well the pictures on the website just don't do it justice.

Location, is fantastic took us rouhgly quarter of an hour to wander up to the castle and the royal mile.

This is the first hotel that I've found it hard to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithyspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a fabulous experience. I had never stayed at an apartment residence before, so I was a little hesitant, but willing to check it out. Vavavoom! We stayed in Apartment 9/2 and it was to die for with spacious living room with dining area, large screen LCD TV, Maurice Villency or similar furniture with nice accessories like pillows and throws. The kitchen was state of the art with Siemens appliances. The bathroom had radiant floor heating and towel warmer on the wall. The views out the front from the living room of the neighborhood were wonderful and the view out back onto the neighbors gardens was picturesque. The place was very quiet yet the staff was always right there downstairs, available for whatever we needed. They went the extra mile by picking up an electronics item for us at a local store near where one of the staff lived. The apartments are in a neighborhood that was a short walk to Edinburgh castle and there was a grocery store nearby to stock up on food to cook at the apartment.

Room Tip: Apartment 9/2 was very spacious and just perfect.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti_ESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

You've read all the reviews about the luxuriousness of this classy joint, but having had great and more expensive stays in NY, London, Paris, Rome, Chicago, and all over Europe, I've got to say the STAFF were simply the best of the lot! Obviously they all share a passion for guest treatment and it doesn't come as a surprise to me that they won the Scottish Hotel of the year last weekend. My wife and I stayed in the second floor suite for 4 days, spent 3 weeks travelling around Scotland, then spent the last night in the wonderful ground level suite on a free upgrade, complete with a bottle of scotch that they remembered we liked from their free Sat night bar! Facilities wise they need to do two things imho. First, major hotels especially in major cities all have A/C. I think they assume A/C means cold instead of conditioning the air, after all, during our stay the temperature reached highs of 9. Both upper and lower suites were hot and stuffy at night. The lower suite, although absolutely delicious, has the bedroom facing the street. So you could open the single pane window (why they didn't think about upgrading the windows too is beyond me), but be prepared for traffic noise. The second level suite has the bedroom in the back which is way better, BUT being so far north, sunrise is 3:30AM, so bring good earplugs if you don't get lulled to sleep by pigeons, squaking gulls, song birds, etc and like us, you need the fresh air. The second complaint is the mood lighting was obviously designed by a guy because a girl couldn't possibly put on her makeup without annoyance with the lighting in any of the bathrooms. A simple lamp would solve that problem but that complaint wasn't addressed after our 3 weeks away. However, we would definitely recommend the Chester to anyone and have already heaped praise on it to our friends here in Canada.

Room Tip: Choose room with bedroom at back
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I enjoyed my time here.It was a bit of a walk to everywhere but I like to walk and the spring weather was fabulous.Roll on the trams though and then this will be an even better location to sleep quietly but get to see all that both old and new town have to offer.
Although the staff could not been more helpful, putting systems in place would mean that they could automate tasks and save time to do other more important things i.e. having an intercom at the front door to stop reception staff having to get up every time I forgot my code;checking whether teas etc need replacing;explaining to bewildered Australians how the various electricity options work i.e. the Tv and heated towel rail and how to turn down the heating and check voicemail.All this could simply be added to the welcome booklet.
What I did not like were the meals on offer..a two hour wait for cold greasy chips.Either re design the menu so that it can withstand that kind of wait or set up a restaurant please.
Overall though I loved the keenness of all the staff to get it right and with that attitude I will happily recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are infirm or disabled in any way you must ask for a ground or lower level room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VintageVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had a wonderful night in apartment six of The Chester Residence. This hotel/apartment experience is great. At Chester they have thought of everything, it really is a home from home (but more luxury than our house). There is a TV in the bathroom and I enjoyed a very hot bubble bath (Molton Brown toiletries) whilst watching the TV and drinking a glass of chilled white wine. The Chester organised dinner to be delivered to our room and the food was excellent. The staff are delightful and cannot do enough to help. There is nothing negative to say about this great place – except leaving it is hard. If you prefer the freedom and space to a small hotel room, stay here, it's great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

More of a high end luxury apartment with 5 star service and ameneties. We stayed in a penthouse on the top floor (room 9/1). The only criticism, is that there is no included breakfast and no elevators; since we were on the top floor, it was a bit of hike up and down.

The area is quite good, but its still a decent walk into the major tourist area. Our room and bath area was near perfect. Full kitchen, stocked with milk and a coffee machine that is refilled daily. Great tub with a view over the rooftops and a TV if you feel the need. It appears that the rooms/apartments each comprise an entire floor area. Our penthouse, consisted of a living room, kitchen, bar/breakfast area, an hall way and upstairs, with a large wonderful bathroom with top shelf ameneties and a very comfortable bedroom. 3 TV's in all.

The experience, is different from a typical hotel as the lobby/reception area is quite small with a small bar where free cocktails were served on Saturday evening. Therefore, if you want a hotel experirence that provides you a grand lobby, or elegant restaurants/bars, this isn't the place. Also, while the exterior maintains the old brownstone character of the neighorhood, the rooms and hotel interior are all definitely 21st century.

A pleasure to stay here, though, not cheap. Nevertheless, when comparing the pricing with other top end hotels, the cost here is more than fair.

Room Tip: choose a high floor some pretty nice views, but be ready to walk the stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,866 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £148 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing