We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed for an anniversary break in late May. All of the reviews and photos definitely sold us to booking here. This place is very, very nice and beats the usual option of a city centre hotel. Everything is what you would expect for the star rating and the price. The rooms were huge and fitted to a high specification and allowed for a truly relaxing weekend. We ate out during the day and evenings but took the Romance Package with the Breakfast and were not disappointed. The service was excellent and when a minor issue occurred it was dealt with discreetly and rapidly. The in-house film library, complimentary popcorn and cold G&T's passed away one relaxing evening. It's not too far from the city centre and it's a pleasant 10 min walk past the park areas and castle to get to the tourist areas, so don't skip this place on location. Room 8/4 was fine for two. Quality throughout. We would stay again if back in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Stay longer :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    128
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
349
1,033
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We celebrated a rare night away from the kids over the Jubilee weekend for my husband's birthday. At the time of booking there was only one apartment left and I had some reservations as to whether we would draw the short straw. I had nothing to worry about - the apartment was PERFECT with it's own private garden and was exactly what we were looking for.

The level of service at this place is unparallelled. Whilst checking in, the staff took our luggage from us and went on ahead to the apartment and unpacked and stored (!!) the food shopping we had brought with us. They advised a great place for lunch and, upon returning, they had placed a bottle of wine, cupcake and birthday card for my husband in the kitchen.

Then they left us in peace. Perfect. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a family birthday celebration over the jubilee weekend. First impressions count, and being welcomed upon arrival by smiling and helpful staff who parked and unloaded car whilst we carried out check in formalities certainly got matters off to a good start. The residences are magnificent, spacious and well appointed but most important of all the staff are so helpful, so polite and most af all friendly.

This was a "home from home experience". Nothing at all was too much trouble for the staff who did everything that was required and more. Despite the residences being furnished to a high standard there was no feeling that one had to be precious, prim and proper, this was for a few days to be home and we were encouraged to treat it that way.

This was easily as good as the best five star hotel suite, with at least three times the space and staff that would be a credit to any hotel anywhere. I cannot overemphasise the quality of these residences. In a world where standards are slipping this place stands out and it is deservedly no1 in Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I've stayed in various places in Edinburgh over the years, mostly trying to avoid a bland US-like hotel experience, or an over-the-top Are you Being Served unctuousness from some other top choices. My quest was for the wonderful boutique hotel which welcomed you back into its warm and drying arms after the all-day walking and experiencing which Edinburgh provides to the max. So I was very happy with some of the places I'd found.

But then I tried the Chester Residence.

If you're perfectly comfortable with self-navigation in the city, know how to run a microwave and nespresso device, and want to imagine yourself as a neighbor in a very nice neighborhood, this is an outstanding choice.

My "residence" was on the second floor of the Chester Street annex (rather than the main property on Rothesay, to which it backs up). It apparently was the original setting for the hotel. The space ran front to back in a Georgian town-house, and included two massive rooms (sitting/living and bedroom) as well as a kitchen and two bathrooms. The size of the floorplan, coupled with the immense ceiling dimensions, were stunning. So you got to face both the busy street (to see the pedestrian and auto traffic, but not to hear much) in the front, and comforting gardens to the rear. The bed was very good, and the bathroom very function. I could have comfortable stayed there forever.

The staff is fantastic, and very helpful. I didn't request it, but imagine that you can receive excellent pampering should you desire, from a group of very engaging helpers.

I booked through Laterooms and got what I believe was a very good rate for a busy time in Edinburgh. The reservation immediately flowed through to the Chester, from which i received several pre-stay communications, all professional and right to the point. I look forward to returning and trying the main Rothesay rooms, but I would recommend the annex to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Booked the Chester Residence for our 35th wedding anniversary and can honestly say our apartment 7/3 was simply stunning! The service was top notch from start to finish. We arrived at 1.15pm and the very pleasant girl on reception apologised that our apartment wasn't quite ready as the last people were late in checking out. She kindly offered to keep our bag and have it delivered to the apartment. She then recommended a lovely little bistro round the corner where we could have a drink and said she would call us when the apartment was ready. Within 20 minutes of us being in the apartment they delivered two chilled glasses of champagne and a lovely card complimentary of all at the Chester residence. What a lovely though and very much appreciated. The staff are excellent and I would thoroughly recommend these gorgeous apartments to anyone. Thank you to all. We shall return in a heartbeat!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liz2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to fill as we were the only guests staying.

All the staff we had the pleasure to meet have excellent people skills and are more than happy to have a chat.

The room, well the pictures on the website just don't do it justice.

Location, is fantastic took us rouhgly quarter of an hour to wander up to the castle and the royal mile.

This is the first hotel that I've found it hard to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithyspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a fabulous experience. I had never stayed at an apartment residence before, so I was a little hesitant, but willing to check it out. Vavavoom! We stayed in Apartment 9/2 and it was to die for with spacious living room with dining area, large screen LCD TV, Maurice Villency or similar furniture with nice accessories like pillows and throws. The kitchen was state of the art with Siemens appliances. The bathroom had radiant floor heating and towel warmer on the wall. The views out the front from the living room of the neighborhood were wonderful and the view out back onto the neighbors gardens was picturesque. The place was very quiet yet the staff was always right there downstairs, available for whatever we needed. They went the extra mile by picking up an electronics item for us at a local store near where one of the staff lived. The apartments are in a neighborhood that was a short walk to Edinburgh castle and there was a grocery store nearby to stock up on food to cook at the apartment.

Room Tip: Apartment 9/2 was very spacious and just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti_ESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
596 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing