We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. These are units with a large living area/full kitchen and a separate bedroom and grand bathroom with a fantastic big shower. The hotel is extremely clean and well appointed. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. This location is close to Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street/Queen Street where all of the good shopping is located. My only one complaint: not a comfortable bed. Our bed sunk in the middle so that we rolled towards one another. We were told the bed was just one year old which really surprised us. I would stay here again but request checking out the mattress first.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,607
    123
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
334
997
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I agree with the previous positive reviews for the The Chester Residence. The staff was incredible and fully understood what it means to be in the hospitality industry. Our only regret was that we had to move on after two nights and couldn't have stayed longer. The apartment was spacious, immaculate and certainly set the bar pretty high. My wife and I were treated exceptionally well. The hotel staff took notice of our drink preference in the cozy bar and phoned ahead to the restaurant where we had the dinner that night to treat us to a round in recognition of our 35th wedding anniversary. If that attention to detail doesn't build loyalty I don't know what would. So just how cool is that? I could go on and on but there is no place else to stay except the Chester Residence.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in 8/1, a gorgeous penthouse loft. The apartment was our favorite hotel in a tour of northern England and Scotland that included several B&Bs and hotels. As some have mentioned in reviews, there is no elevator, so our penthouse came with 4 flights of stairs, but once inside, we didn’t mind. The renovations and décor in the buildings are superb. The fully equipped and modern kitchen and living room, up a small flight of stairs, look out on the quiet street with Georgian Townhomes and gardens, while the bedroom and huge bath (wonderful soaking tub!) look out on the back row of townhouses with their private gardens. We enjoyed the apartment so much we decided to order in one night to enjoy the ambiance and setting even longer.

The staff could not have been better, including driving instructions when we got lost (ignore sat nav in Edinburgh, too many roads closed due to construction), maps and walking directions to sites, and restaurant recommendations. Although there are several small markets nearby, having the option to get drinks or food delivered at any hour is a real plus. The neighborhood is easily located near Prince and George Streets, and a short (if uphill) walk to the castle and Royal mile. We will definitely stay at Chester Residence again when in Edinburgh, and keep remembering that lovely apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We first stayed at The Chester Residence in 2009, for our first wedding anniversary. We had a Penthouse on Rothesay Place. It was fabulous and the staff were out of this world.

We returned in 2011 and had a basement apartment on Chester Street. We found the accommodation was of a very high standard, albeit not as good as Rothesay Place - which sets an unbelievably high standard that I've never experienced anywhere in the world. If you'd never stayed at Rothesay Place you'd probably think Chester Street was out of this world. The staff were again fab on our 2nd visit.

We stayed for a third time in September 2012 and had a Mews (basement) apartment on Rothesay Place. Superb! Huge, huge space for our 2 year old son to run around! Staff again were first class.

Would we return? We want to LIVE there!!

Highly, highly recommended. Thanks to Rory and his wonderful team!

Paul

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent one night here top floor double room, one of the nicest apartments we have ever stayed at and we travel alot. A high spec in all the furnishings and beautiful bathroom and bedroom. The apartment was spotlessly clean.
We ate out but there is a menu to choose from and food is delivered to the room [one must order before 12midday for the evening meal]. The breakfast was lovely and plenty fresh ingredients, the bread and smoothies are fab. We also had evening drinks from the bar delivered to the room and prices are reasonable.
The staff are all friendly and helpful, a warm welcome from the young chap from us exiting the taxi to the receptionist who took us to the room.
Its around £7-10 in a cab to George st or a good 20-30min weather permitting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room, lots of stairs which were not a problem for us the views are lovely and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse suite for 2 nights in building 7. What a wonderful place. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The staff are polite and very helpful. The room was excellent with high spec and high tec everything. We loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom and all the Alessi items. The question is ......how quickly can we return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robintaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We recently rented a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. Everything (including the weather) was perfect. We loved our apartment. With 2 couples, we were able to have privacy but enjoy lounging together in the living room, as well as, having easy breakfasts in our room due to the full kitchen. The location and neighborhood were beautiful...very much what I pictured Edinburgh to look like. And the staff was very healthful. They recommended restaurants every night for us (all excellent) and recommended the best non-tourist shops to get fine clothing in. I heartily would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing