We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I love Trip Advisor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Chester Residence and loved it- and we found it through Trip Advisor! We were traveling with our adult aged daughter who is in graduate school in London. Trying to find a room for 3 adults is nearly impossible- Chester Residence was perfect! We stayed in a very spacious apartment- 2 beautiful rooms and bathrooms with a very spacious living room. We had to force ourselves to leave our room and actually tour the city!

The staff was fabulous and so accommodating! They were waiting outside of the hotel when we arrived and took care of everything- bags disappeared and we were whisked into the lobby. We had drinks both nights in the cozy bar and enjoyed chatting with the concierge.

Breakfast was wonderful- healthy, but delicious, selections delivered right to our door.

We loved the location- the west end was trendy and quiet and both nights we walked to great restaurants - one of which was booked at the last minute by the hotel (The West Room). It was a bit of a walk to the historic sites- but an easy walk with lots to see along the way.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Edinburgh- we will never stay anywhere else in the city!

Thanks Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful family vacation in Edinburgh and would like to thank The Chester Residence and its remarkable team for a truly fabulous experience. We stayed in the Mews Apartments which I would highly recommend to anyone travelling to the Scottish capital. They are bright, modern and very family friendly. The welcome package the staff provided for our two young children, ages 4 and 2, was first class. And the staff themselves were truly outstanding. Rory and Angie treated us like royalty from the moment we arrived. These remarkable young professionals and have set the bar from which all others in the hospitality industry will now will be measured. We hope to return again one day soon.

Steve
Quebec, Canada

Room Tip: The Mews Apartments are situated on the ground floor and they are outstanind. They even have an outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Thanks Trip Advisor. We had a wonderful stay in an amazing apartment in the annexe. Spacious,comfortable,well equipped,pleasant location. Free wi fi, milk in fridge, Nespresso machine, room service if required. All the trimmings of a 5 star hotel with the convenience of a kitchenette. We are so glad we chose here rather than the Missoni. Will be finding an excuse to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSpade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

One word "Unforgettable", one incredible stay. If you decide to go to Edingburgh this is the only place to stay you owe it to yourself.
Staying here It's like coming back to your house every night, the accomodations are rather large about 1000 plus sqft apartment is waiting for you with a fully functional kitchen in a very luxurious decor.
The staff is AMAZING, I mentioned one night that I wanted to try Haggis and it was on my fridge the next day, They are very attentive to your needs and very helpful.
The best staying in years....
So please do yourself a favor and ditch the Hilton, Ritz Carlton, Sheraton, Glass House and stay there you will not regret this!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giovanni_tonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Booked the Chester residence for my parents as a gift to celebrate their wedding anniversary. From the report I have just been given, I am very glad I booked this hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make my parents stay truly memorable. Nothing was too much trouble. The little touches set this apart from any other hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aut0maticblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Our great experience began with the contact from the staff on booking and continued as we pulled up outside looking for reception to be greeted by staff with umbrellas to escort us to the hotel. Luggage, car everything was taken care of! A pleasant check in experience and then over to the fabulous apartment, which already had our luggage and even our coats were hung up.
The decor, equipment cleanliness of the apartments is second to none and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff first class. This will always be our number one in Edinburgh for quality and the value it provides. Thanks to all of the staff for a fabulous couple of days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

As well as having a beautiful apartment the staff could not do enough for you. The apartment was very spacious, modern and only a 5 minute walk away from the shops. Would absolutely stay here again if we were in the area. The only down side would of been the bed. It was actually 2 single beds which was abit uncomfortable but we still managed to have a good sleep. But apart from that minor part, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceyj_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,884 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,889 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £147 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing