We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service with 5 star managers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“5 Star service with 5 star managers”
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Think of 5 star expectactions and this delivers.Would not consider staying anywhere else if these apartments are available.Excellent.

  • Liked — Service and Space
  • Disliked — Having to Leave
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonerToursit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    128
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
349
1,033
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We booked the room through latebooking.com and from the moment we arrived Graham and Gillian made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was even better than described and we were delighted with the size of the rooms, the high standard of the furnishings, furniture and equipment, and the attention to detail.

Nothing was too much trouble - from arranging taxis to finding a good restaurant on one of the busieist evenings of the year, Graham and Gillian made sure that we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The breakfast provisions were excellent and the hospitality was unrivalled in our experience.

We have stayed in many hotels throughoput the EU and some very high-class ones at that, and we have never previously experienced the level of care and customer service that we found at The Chester Residence. This was our first experience of serviced apartments and we were a little hesitant about the implications but in fact this was a straightforward proposition. It was like having our own exclusive apartment - better than a hotel in fact because it felt more like a home than a rented room.

We have no hesitation in recommending The Chester Residence to business and personal travellers alike.

  • Liked — Size, space, quality
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank e-trave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Had three days in the patio suite - the smallest suite but easily large enough for 2 people. The accommodation was ideal for a lazy weekend break as it had everything you needed - great location for shops n bars, Sky TV, all mods kitchen, comfy bed (with TV in bedroom) etc. Worth a mention is the supplied breakfast, no crappy crossiants here, you get eggs, nice bread, OJ, milk, loads of cereals, bottled water, luxury jams n yogurts and fresh fruit - phew - we actually lived on our breakfast rations for an entire day and anything you use gets replaced the next day!
If you needed any help it was there and, if you wanted privacy you could hide away without any bother. Also handy was the DVD library on a rainy day. The place is not cheap but you get so much more space than a hotel room and can cook your meals and brekkie so you save in that respect - used laterooms to book which was cheaper than the hotel website.

  • Liked — the breakfast goodies
  • Disliked — lights tripped out, but soon resolved
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maryios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

I stayed at the chester residence in september whilst helping my brother move into the university. The rooms were very very large for a city, with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a large bedroom with an additional sofa bed in the grand living room. A stunning building with high ceilings and decorated to the highest standard. The owners were very helpful, taking time out to drive us to the university and book us tables for dinner, whilst advising us on the best places to shop. A brilliant and much more enjoyable alternative to staying in a hotel, would definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — very large rooms and very luxurious
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

i booked this through LateRooms.com when I couldn't find a suitable hotel in Edinburgh at short notice.It is extremely comfortable and quiet and yet is in a very central location.Being individually owned and managed shows in the attention to detail provided in the apartments and the owners are very available to get taxis, book and advise on restaurants etc.a appartment offers a much more flexible stay than a hotel - it is nice to order a take-away or even get a M&S meal and have it in comfort - equally nice to have breakfast in your own kitchen and own time in the morning. This was included in the price and left in the kitchen fridge and was also excellent.
we will look to stay here every time we are in edinburgh now, and hope to fingd similar appartments in other locations.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank fnona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2007

My fiance and I travelled from San Diego, CA to Edinburgh to marry at Dundas Castle September 2, 2007 and stayed at 9 Chester St. for three nights before our wedding day. The residence exceeded our expectations and was a perfect lead-up to the big event. The neighborhood is lovely--you are off the main roads but close enough to walk just about anywhere (and we did, what with all the pre-wedding errands and events we had).

The 1st floor apartment was breathtaking. It was very spacious with lots of light from the many windows and with a great view to the gardens in the back. The flat was very clean, made to feel like a comfortable home, and had all the extras you'd expect in a five-star hotel. The flat had all the modern amenities yet kept with architectural integrity of the historical building. We had the privacy of a self-catered apartment, yet the 5-star service of a hotel including daily maid service and breakfast. Anything we needed (taxi, etc.) was just a phone call away. The wine, chocolates and cookies were a fantastic touch. Despite paying the high-season rate, we found it an exceptional value for the money. We had paid a similar rate for a room at The Glasshouse in early July 2007 and The Chester Residence is in a league of its own. We plan to return there every time we return to visit Scotland!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank PeakBgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We were in Edingburgh to "do" the Fringe as with two student-aged children this is the best way of having a family holiday we have yet found. We stayed three nights and had the two bedroom apartment on the second floor.

We were very impressed with the accomodation. It is totally clean, spacious and well equipped with fittings and furnishings of a high standard. It is probably the most comfortable and luxurious service appartments we have stayed in.

It is expensive but definetly worth it and, an unexpected bonus for us, was that we spent considerably less than usual on restaurant / cafes/ bars as it was easy to make outr own snacks in the kitchen.

The kids appreciated the DVD selection and TV in their room and its close enough to the town for them to come and go as they pleased. The ensuite bathroom in the main bedroom is rather small but the excellent shower made up for that.

Graham and Gillian were friendly and helpful. We didn't require much from them in way of service but they made it clear they would help us whenever necessary.

  • Liked — The high standard of the accomodation
  • Disliked — Lack of free parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_LLoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
596 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing