We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,935)
Filter reviews
1,935 results
Traveller rating
1,763
135
22
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,763
135
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousechester streetrothesay placeowners residencecinema roommews apartmentliving roommolton brown toiletriesprivate gardensky tvnespresso machinewest endserviced apartmentfull kitchenunderfloor heatingbirthday cardbeautiful apartment
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,935 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wow, what a gorgeous hotel. My friend and I stayed in one of the apartments. There was a huge amount of space for us, and it was so nice to chill out in the living room/kitchen after exploring the city. The location is fantastic, so easy to walk into the shops and tourist attractions while still being in a quiet and pretty street. Staff couldn't be more helpful, and put up a fold-down bed for us when we didn't want to share a double! If I can afford it again I'll be back! Just one tip - if you need to take a car, phone in advance to sort out a parking space as parking is limited. However, it's so close to the train station and city, it was easy to do without.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thank you to all involved for an excellent stay. The staff were efficient and very polite and not at all "in you face"... just the right balance we thought. The suite was as described and although nearing the top end in cost, good value. One little problem very quickly resolved... things do go wrong after all. Ideal spot for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just leaving after having spent a wonderful weekend at the chester residence. All of the high praises for the establishment are spot on. Staff could not have been more helpful. Anna at the front desk is an all star. She was phenomenal at responding to e-mails and helping with travel arrangements. The residence we stayed in was wonderful and just as the pictures portrayed. Everything was clean and well kept.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As this was a surprise weekend away booked for my birthday i had no idea what to expect but from the second we pulled up to the chester residence i was thoroughly impressed, from the exterior of beautiful townhouses to the sleek modern decor inside, it was perfect. At check in the staff wished me a happy birthday which was a nice touch and showed us to our first room which we stayed in on the Friday, the penthouse. with a double ended bath, a huge walk in shower, fab kitchen and living space i was more than happy. the Saturday we moved rooms and upgraded to the owners residence which was absolutely out of this world, amazing! Large kitchen and living area, Jacuzzi, separate wet room, and a Cinema room made our stay very special. Your breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning after you request the time, nice choice of food although their are no cooked options. my only tiny complaint was that my breakfast didn't arrive on our last morning, due to the wrong breakfast coming in the first place, which they took back but failed to deliver my original option. but this did not have a great impact on my stay and the staff were apologetic and knocked this off the bill.

Location was perfect for us, located on a quiet street, a five minute walk to the main shopping area, restaurants and bars which gave us the best of both worlds. quiet rooms at night as away from all the hustle and bustle at night but close enough to walk to everything if we wanted

Without a doubt i would stay here again and will be recommending it to friends and family who visit Edinburgh. i only wish we could have stayed another couple of nights, Perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicamMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this property. We arrived at the hotel after a flight from Los Angeles to London and a train ride from London to Edinburgh. As our taxi pulled up to the front, two young staff members dressed in kilts hurried out of the hotel to help us. This happened before the wheels of the taxi came to a stop. The service we received for the remainder of our stay was just as outstanding.

We (my wife, myself and our two adult daughters) selected one of the apartments located on Chester Street which was a couple of blocks from the main hotel. We were escorted to the location. The apartment was outstanding. It spotless, wonderfully furnished and well equipped. A word of caution to those with physical challenges, be sure to advise the staff when making your reservation. Our apartment was on the third floor and there was no elevator in the Chester Street building.

Our apartment came equipped with a easy to use espresso machine. However, as Americans, we love our gallon of coffee in the morning. Ryan's Bar is about a 10 minute walk and has a coffee shop that has take away coffee and various pastries.

Room Tip: Advise the staff of physical challenges due to the lack of an elevator
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgrand207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews