We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It isn't no1 for nothing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It isn't no1 for nothing!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the exceptional Chester Residences.
We booked a standard room but were lucky enough to be offered an upgrade. Our room occupied the whole 1st flr of No8 a short walk from reception. From being shown through the door of our apartment the quality and attention to detail was obvious. The decor has been finished by an interior designer to a very high standard and there are touches everywhere that pleased us. The whole building feels warm and inviting and is complimented by the excellent but unobtrusive staff who want your stay to be special. This is not really a hotel, it offers flexibility and you feel like you have your own chic apartment in an exclusive part of town. Really individual experience and worth every penny. Thankyou

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    126
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
342
1,023
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I chose to surprise my partner with a stay here and was not disappointed, the service, location and accommodation were second to none. Absolutely wonderful stay, just a shame we were only there for one night. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful and we were upgraded to one of the two bedroom suites. Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere special to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I took my son and his wife to Edinburgh and stayed at the Chester Residence as a treat,-WOW-everything was perfect, fabulous apartment, wonderful staff, would love to have stayed for a week, we shall certainly go back for another visit. What a fantastic experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 22nd October for my birthday. Staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. If u dont know Edinburgh they are very knowledgable on where to go, whether it be bars/restaurants. We ended up in the Penthouse apartment - WOW - I didnt want to leave!!! We will definately be back and I have no hesitation in recommending The Chester to others. ★★★★★

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwialib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Having booked a long weekend in Edinburgh, thought it would be a good idea to be closer to town for the last day so booked a night at three Chester residence.

From the beautiful apartment, the friendly staff and prime location I could really find no fault in the experience.

Only downside was that I had to go back home after! :(

Isaac

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opatrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This is my perfect place, I would live here if I could. The apartments are amazing and every single member of staff was wonderful. My husband and I stayed for two nights in room 8/3 the lounge was stunning especially the remote controlled fire, family members stayed in room 7/1 the bath was free standing with a tv in the wall.

Most boutique hotels have amazing rooms but snotty staff but this place is the real deal. We would stay here again and would tell anyone to do the same. The location is great nice and quiet but you can walk into town easily.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank macrodonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our son booked the chester residence for us for a long weekend in Edinburgh. The place is spread between a number of Townhouses and boasts some of the most spectacular apartments we have ever come across. The rooms are spacious, decorated to the highest standard and filled with top of the range furniture and appliances. When your first words on entering an apartment is WOW, you hope the feeling lasts as your shown each room in turn. We were not disappointed, our top floor apartment was on two levels, bedroom and bathroom on one with the lounge/kitchen on the other. The staff are superb, we were treated royally, they are all a credit to the hotel.
The chester residence is not cheap, however in this world you get what you pay for, and in my humble opinion, my hard earned money was very well spent. TRY it you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardbarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 148 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing