We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had an absolutely amazing stay at Chester Residence. We couldn’t believe our eyes when walking into our apartment at the space we had. Apartment decor was lovely and everything was immaculate. The apartment had all the mod con features, the Molton Brown products in the bathroom are a lovely touch.

We had ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room which was delicious. We also ordered in take away one evening to our apartment which the staff were happy to provide us with local menus and organise delivery. We were invited to the bar one evening which had a great atmosphere, very welcoming. We were provided with some lovely canapés and some delicious cocktails.

I think what makes this hotel is its warm and welcoming staff who are on hand whenever you need them. From the moment I booked the apartment right through to when we left the staff were there to help with a smile on their face. A special mention has to go to Ally for his great banter and wonderful smile.

Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kareen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    123
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
334
998
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom club apartment on second floor (8/2) for a night in Edinburgh with friends and can thoroughly recommend. Extraordinarily peaceful, splendid kitchen dining and living area, nice bedrooms (one with small ensuite shower and the other with a bath/shower next door to it). Underfloor heating was a nice touch. Parking could be a problem (this is Edinburgh after all) - we chose to leave car at Castle Terrace NCP and walk across to the hotel (10 minutes) - cost £24.10 for a full 24 hours. No need for taxis as centre of Edinburgh only 10 minutes walk. We ate at Timberyard on Lady Lawson Street (15 minutes) and can thoroughly recommend that too. Staff friendly but not over friendly and happy to post a set of keys we left by mistake without fuss or bother. Overall a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Everything about this hotel is fantastic, from the views, from cleanliness through out, the staff are very professional and polite, I staying in this fantastic hotel on a business weekend trip, and we were made feel on holiday.
The food was excellent and restaurant service staff were able to explain every detail of everything we asked about the menu.
SUPERB!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hospitality-news
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We very much enjoyed our relaxing break in a Penthouse apartment.
The apartment was is ideally located in a quieter area but close enough to walk each day into the main streets. It was very clean, luxorious with a pleasant view from the kitchen window. The shower and bath were incredible. A very large apartment and perfect for a long romantic weekend break away for 2 people.
We very much hope to visit again. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.
We had some useful tips on places to see in Edinburgh, as well as an invite for a complimentary cocktail and canopes in the bar which was great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They all have their merits but the Penthouse was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesB7052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent 2 nights here with my husband for our anniversary,Beautiful apartment,tasteful and cosy.Bathroom had a huge bath and walk in shower and the under floor heating kept it lovely and warm,had a TV in bathroom to watch whilst soaking...Lovely modern kitchen...Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 991geordiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My Family & I have just returned from Scotland where during a portion of our trip we spent four days at the Chester Residence. The reason we booked at this location was due to all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor.
For the most part the stay at the residence was fine, but here is a few items that future travelers should be aware of such as:

1. The Front Desk staff is outstanding always helpful for reservations, getting cabs, etc. One of the best I have experienced.
2. The location which was one of my initial concerns prior to arrival is safe and really not to far from the main activity of the city.
3. We booked a Mews apartment unit 8/5 though a very nice unit, but unfortunately being below ground is cold under normal conditions or hot for they were never able to get the floor heaters units quite balanced.
4. Also, 8/5 is behind the Laundry & cleaning service area thus every morning you hear the cleaning staff preparing the laundry for the hotel & at times you need to navigate between the bags of laundry they pile outside the unit's door. Not very appropriate for a fine hotel.
5. However, my biggest frustration was the Management of the hotel, for on our first evening at the hotel we lost power, water & heat in our unit. Being below ground it was pitch black with no emergency lighting, so a little scary with no ambient light except for a small flashlight I carried.. The hotel didn't even know we lost these utilities, until we went to the front desk. Sometime in the early morning the power did return, but we did not have heat until we called the front desk after 7:00am to advise them when we arose and it was a cold night and morning in Scotland.
Though I recommend that the hotel look into a emergency power back up, but my frustration was that the management didn't even call, send a note or even stop by to say sorry for the issue. Not a word!!!
I stayed at hotels who apologize if my breakfast was 10 minutes late!!
Future travelers should be aware that the conversion from apartments to a hotel facility has its drawbacks , such as hearing the occupants above you walking around at night and that you need to be fully aware how to operate the various appliances and controls that are in the units.

In summary I do think the hotel is a great value if you can deal with the infrastructure of the Chester Residence !

Safe Travels,

JPB

Room Tip: Careful of the Mews Units if your a light sleeper or sensitive to heating conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burke7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the second leg of our honeymoon through Scotland. Ten minutes after settling in our penthouse suite, we called the front desk to request an additional night's stay. We absolutely loved this hotel. From my very first e-mail inquiry (we are from the U.S.A.) to the day we (sadly) checked out, our experience was fabulous. Every staff member from management on down is helpful, solicitous, accommodating, and friendly. Special thanks to Mark, Ian, Katie, and Anna for ensuring that our stay was wonderful. We ordered the Honeymoon Package, and we will definitely do that again when we return to the Chester. The apartment (townhouses) are gorgeous and comfortable. We wish we could live at this hotel! Another convenient and outstanding aspect of our stay here was Paul, the tour guide from Kings Luxury Travel. He picked us up in Gretna and drove us to the Chester. He was so fabulous (knowledgable, kind, and helpful) that we also booked him to transport us from Edinburgh to Glasgow. I have tried to find his company here on Trip Advisor so that I may give him a 5-star review, but the company is not listed here yet (as of November 30, 2013). My husband and I highly recommend both The Chester Residence and Paul from Kings Luxury Travel. We can't wait to return in a couple of years!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank English18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing