We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in owners suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in owners suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night before wedding and night of wedding. I have to firstly start of by saying how easy it was too book. We arrived with a van load of wedding thing in the rain and were welcomed with umbrellas and smiles with willing helping hands. The suite was immaculate and well equipt with latest technologies. Im a bit crap in this dept but my ten year old daughter worked away! Breakfast was fresh and arrived promptly. As the morning of wedding progressed various makeup, photographers, videographers and hair dressers were coming and going. All met by staff and brought to door. I left in a bit of a rush and upon return staff had moved the furniture back into place that we had moved for getting better lighting for make up. And candle were lit with rose petals and star gazing thing projected on too roof. They gave us a complimentary glass of champange each and left us a congrats card. All of these touched stood out and I know from doing my research not many places in edinburgh will go this extra mile. When booking use some common sense before leaving crap reviews.... dont abuse the rules. Its not for big groups regardless how responsible or what you are paying. I cant fault the place and I know should an issue pop up and you tell them they will try and fix it there and then..... thank you and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlou2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    122
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
331
992
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Every aspect of the hotel was absolutely excellent. Their service was pleasing and how they dealt with my queries. The place is beutiful and whenever you need something, you can raise the phone and ask for it. Definitely will stay there for my next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fantastic service from the moment we booked the apartment until the minute we checked out.
When we landed at the hotel all staff were brilliant (even running to the shop to purchase coconut milk!!) special mention to Craig who was brilliant in recommending drinks and places to eat and drink. Cant wait to come back. X

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is the fourth time I have stayed at The Chester Residence and it is a very comfortable place to stay. The quality of the fixtures & furnishings are of a high standard and the service is very good. (Some of the design details are worth remembering if you are redecorating at home!) The location is great as it is a short walk from the centre of the New Town but quiet enough for a good nights sleep. The only thing I would change in the apartment I stayed in this time would be to a higher definition, quality TV and perhaps an upgraded sound system.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AveburyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Imagine a flat with a big living room, a great kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms. Beautifully furnished, well maintained, with all you wish: free wifi, great and efficient service, fluffy bathrobes, Nespresso machine (and capsules).
I went to Edinburgh for a team meeting. We profited from my great flat I had to hold the meetings around the generous living room. The hotel provided bottled water free of charge, additional coffee capsules.
The place is just amazing and I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Wow. Wow. Wow. Hands down the best place I've ever stayed in. Four of us spent three nights in one of their two bed apartments. The apartment was exquisite from the gorgeous white granite kitchen worktops to the Molton Brown toiletries.

However it's the service that makes this place truly magical. On Burns Night we were brought mouse themed cup cakes and his 'To a Mouse' poem. That was also the day two of us got married and when we got back they had filled the bedroom with rose petals and provided champagne and a lovely card. Even though they probably do this all the time when people get married, it did feel really personal.

I hope it won't be too long before we go back. I really can't fault a single thing. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in the penthouse, yes four flights of stairs but it was worth the view and the huge bath tub! Such an exceptional place to stay, we can't wait for an excuse to go back. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff, friendly but also very professional. We had the honeymoon package well worth the extra cost, we did get to the point oh no! Not more champagne ;0). Breakfast was excellent, we ran out of tea bags and a very nice young man arrived and produced a handful out of his kilt I was very impressed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and if they do go I'll be green with envy. Oh and the beds are the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in, fabulous.

Room Tip: We nipped out the first night and bought extra groceries as the welcome package is good but we wante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyhouse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing