We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Chester Residence and staff were wonderful. I have never written a review before, but really wanted to do this one.

The apartment was a lovely place to relax, and the service from all the staff amazing. It was a 5 star facility, but incredibly private too, with space to unwind. And a short walking distance to Princes Street and all the sights.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This review will be pretty much like the others however I always think that a place like this definitely deserves the hype and a few pointers.

A few things to note:
Parking - car park is three cars wide, at a push and very tight. Charged at £25 a night is standard for the area however it's worth having a mooch about the area, there are some sneaky spots for free!

Getting to the hotel - the one way system around the area is havoc using sat-nav - plan ahead as we spent 15 minutes driving around!!

Unfortunately we were disturbed around 10am on a Saturday morning with the sound of the fire alarm ringing for 10 seconds or so then disarming. Turned out it was another guest burning bacon! Otherwise though, that would have been our only gripe. (We had to phone down to ask if we had to evacuate or not!)

Some cheeky perks:
We were bumped up to the penthouse suite as it was our birthdays - bath with two head rests either end, lovely!

Complimentary milk for tea and coffee in the fridge - nice touch after a long drive.

The concierge staff fixed our sky, and gave us a bag of popcorn, chocs and crisps with his recommended action film from the hotels collection, was a really nice touch.

Saturday nights - free cocktail in the bar.

On the whole, a top place to stay and we felt like royalty for three nights. Thanks very much Chester Residence! :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The apartment was excellent. Beautiful décor and extremely well serviced every day. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor. Didn't really need the second bedroom bur loved the fact we had 2 bathrooms and the extra room for cases etc. We have stayed in upmarket hotels all over the world and usually have a suite . This was better; relaxed, upmarket elegance with wonderful staff. Any minor niggle mentioned to staff was dealt with professionally, promptly and without fuss. A really superb, extremely well run facility. The continental breakfast delivered to you room at your chosen time is an excellent and endearing touch. One of the best places we have ever stayed. Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Home from home when on business. The apartment was outstanding. Great bed. Wonderful sitting area. Great to relax. This isnt a hotel, as it doesnt have all the usual facilities (restaurant, exercise facilities etc) - but that actually makes it better, as there is none of the noise etc. The staff are extremely helpful. I stayed on the top floor - great views - but no lift! Couldnt recommend more highly!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

5* accommodation with 5* service. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a rugby weekend. The location was perfect. The rooms were very comfortable and were fitted out with everything we needed. The apartment was spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was a great place to stay. We arrived early in the morning from the US and they did everything they could to get our room ready as soon as possible. It was a great neighborhood - very safe. The room we had was immaculately clean and was more than enough room for 4 people. It even had a heated floor in the kitchen. It was GREAT! It was a bit of a walk to the castle and royal mile (mostly uphill) but taking a cab wasn't too expensive. There is a bus stop right there also but we didn't use it. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed at IX Chester street on the top floor. No elevator but the apartment was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The quality of accommodations and the location made our stay splendid. The location is off the beaten path but not too far away from the main sights. The decor is kinda like a swanky, upscale bachelor pad. We liked the basement level apartment but because there was hammering going on all night the first night, we moved upstairs to solve the noise issue. Also, the shower didn't really drain and ran all over the floor. However, MARK the manager has been awesome in helping us through these issues and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,885 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,890 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £147 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing