We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect luxury!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here with my husband for my birthday on the Saturday night, as it was my birthday and our first wedding anniversary on the Sunday. We had booked a luxury suite, however were upgraded to the owners residence which was just perfect! We were given a welcome cocktail and the staff were only too helpful, arranging taxis etc. This place deserves its position at the top, well done, only disappointment was that it was only for one night!

Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DobsonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    122
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
331
992
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Having stayed a few times I can honestly say that it is a superb hotel. The Annexe isn't quite up to the standard of the main building, but is still a very nice place to stay, especially if you can get a good rate. I would stay again, and have booked again. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CestrianAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I did not get a chance to make it to the hotel due to family issues, but the customer service from the hotel was nothing short of amazing. A special mention to Anna Ritchie for all the help. It has been a tough time, but i'm very thankful for all the help.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just back after 2 lovely nights at these superb apartments. Fantastic location for exploring. Staff all so friendly and helpful. Apartment itself was luxurious with so many lovely touches. Fluffy robes, molten brown toiletries, nespresso machine. A delight to return to after a day exploring edinburgh. Great selection of DVDs if you want to just relax in the splendour of the apartment. Very comfy huge bed! I did not want to leave. Thank you!
We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for one night (26 March) as an overnight, quick trip, to see the sites in Edinburgh. I was traveling solo, and spent the bulk of my vacation in London. I'd researched all the hotels in This beautiful city and found all the glowing reviews and pictures of this lovely place. The reviews are true and factual. My apartment was huge and had 2 bathrooms, a very large living area, with a working fireplace. A gigantic bedroom with and en-suite bathroom.

All the windows were floor to ceiling,and the apartment was bright and cheery. Even though these apartments have been redecorated, they have left many original touches, such as the ornate crown molding throughout the apartment.

The front desk is managed by very knowledgeable and friendly men and women, who will greet you and show you to your apartment and will give you a tour of how everything works. Craig was the concierge on duty while I was there, and he is a jewel. Sweet, funny, and will fetch you anything you ask for or need.

So, if you find yourself (luckily) in Edinburgh, this is a place not to be missed.

The only negative for me, was the distance from the hotel to the city centre. You can walk it for sure, and the sites are worth the hike, just wear some comfy shoes or take a taxi to get you into the heart of the city.

But again, I can't say too much about this wonderful hotel. Loved it, and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Second visit, stayed in the main building on first floor, with a separate kitchen and bathroom this time, but still very, very nice, overlooking gardens at the rear, and Rothesay Place to the front. Modern clean and very comfortable, with genuine friendly staff on hand for anything you need, huge comfy bed with plenty storage space, with flat screen tv, large dining/living area where you could eat if required, two leather sofas to chill on whilst watching tv, reading etc, we had an add on package, ( you choose when you want the items) which included turndown service with petals, bath goodies (Molton Brown) wine & canapes, 1 x breakfast in bed with a glass of champagne cold meats warm croissants, ideal for a lazy start to your Sunday, with a delicious cupcake added as Mothers day. We just pleased ourselves during our stay, it was so relaxing, local supermarkets a few streets away to pick up any food if you wished to eat in, plenty restaurants nearby to choose from for eating out, its ideal, at an ideal location, away from the hustle and bustle, with Princes Street just a few streets away (Lothian Road end) Its 5 star all the way, highly recommend here for a visit, you will not be disappointed, we will see you all again soon, thank you all :) would also recommend Angels Share for a cocktail its on the way back, really nice place, very popular

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Another brilliant stay, booked again for Christmas with whole family. Fantastic hospitality from all staff. No other choice if your going to Edinburgh and to cut costs, we stayed in one night and got a takeaway which the staff recommended which was amazing

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing