We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“wow”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the chester residence and could not have wished for more. We stayed in the owners residence which was superb, the accommodation and service was first class and their attention to detail was fantastic. The location was perfect, just five minute walk from princes street. The staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay exceed expectations. Will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsutt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,607
    123
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
334
997
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Absolutely sublime! For our first trip to Edinburgh we decided to push the boat out and this was the epitome of excellence. Everything was to the highest standard - the staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful; the room was spacious enough for ten of us, let alone just the two; and we had the best night's sleep we've had in a very long time. I would highly recommend the Chester Residence to anyone who wants a little bit of luxury for a reasonable price. We loved it and are now planning our next trip back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenapalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a fantastic flat. Had booked dinner at a nearby hotel but they had no rooms available. Tried the Chester Residence and really pleased that we did. Huge lounge, great bathroom and kitchen. Quality of the accommodation was superb with high quality fittings. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Cannot rate highly enough and far better value/quality/space than the five star hotels we have stayed in. No dining option but there is so much choice in Edinburgh that it isn't an issue. Will choose again rather than a stay at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at the chester residence and wow what can I say. Upon arrival staff were very courteous and friendly doing everything they could to make us feel welcome. Having learned it was our anniversary they upgraded us to the owners suite which was everything we could have hoped for and more! With a massive jacuzzi bath, ensuite rainfall shower, private cinema it really was absolute luxury and made our anniversary one to remember. Could not fault the chester residence on anything at all and we will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I booked a night at The Chester Residence for my partners birthday, from start to finish it was fabulous! It is in a great central location, literally 5 minutes walk to Princes street and also in close proximity to Haymarket station. Upon arrival we were met by a man in a kilt, a lovely touch! The bags were taken to the room whilst we checked in. Eventhough we were hours early the room was all ready for us which was a bonus! Upon learning it was my partners birthday the staff sent round two glassed of bubbly and a birthday card!
The apartment was absolutely gorgeous and spotless, finished to a really high standard as is the rest of the building.
The kitchen has everything you need if you fancy a night in and also there is a large collection of dvds at reception which you can choose from! Really could not fault it in anyway and can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment. Both bedrooms were an excellent size, both with walk in shower en-suites. Apartment finished to a high standard. Free and fast wifi throughout apartment. Full Sky TV package. Very good sized kitchen/lounge area + apartment had small garden area as well. Staff were very attentive and polite. Only 10 minute walk from west end of Princes Street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We loved this luxury home from home in a great location, walking distance to the castle and shopping areas etc. The penthouse one bedroom apartment was huge and I loved the decor. Big comfy bed, huge shower and Molton Brown toiletries all added to the enjoyment of this very relaxing break.The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving us restaurant recommendations and booking our taxis to the airport. Fresh milk in the fridge was very nice and the yogurt/granola breakfast was perfect for what we wanted. Loads of DVD'S to borrow too if you fancy chilling out. Book now, you won't be disappointed. We booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and got a bottle of wine on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
858 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing