We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Edinburgh in Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

One of the best choices we made during our trip to the UK/Ireland this year was to spend time in Scotland, which is breathtakingly beautiful, and to stay at the Chester Residence. We had a beautiful apartment in a fabulous location. Our only disappointment was the quality of the bed was poor - and not in sync with the rest of the apartment. A fabulous bathroom, living room and kitchen with a terrific view made our stay lovely. We recommend, however, that they upgrade to add box springs under their mattresses to make the apartment complete. A definite recommendation... unless you have a bad back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is what dreams are made of. So if you fancy an incredible holiday in an amazing city then Chester is where you should stay.
Thank you Chester.

Note: Get Paul King, their tour guide to regale you with Scottish history. Paul completes the perfect picture.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parminder962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is our second stay here-again fantastic-the staff could not be more helpful.
Our apartment each time have both been 5star.
highly recommend who ever reads my review to book and try them out.
i wish they had some more venues around the UK-London would be great!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely, spacious, serviced apartment with all modern appointments and facilities, with the exception of washing and drying equipment. The third bathroom could have easily accommodated these appliances. As it turned out, our washing and drying (at additional cost), and that of others, was done in the room next door until late at night, every night. Suitable parking is too far away.

Room Tip: Just ask where the laundry is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have left a previous 'excellent' review for The Chester Residence.
We have recently returned from an overnight stay and found it to be quite different.
I would still stay there again but would avoid apartment 7.5 in the basement.
It is noisy and the beds are not as comfortable, nor the apartment as spacious, as those upstairs.
2 beds + 3 bathrooms. Nor does the WIFI work it was slower than dial up !
We also ordered a take-away delivery through reception that took 3 hours or more as the reception staff had failed to order it. Not life or death but embarrassing and inconvenient.
The kilted porter Ally was still excellent though.

Room Tip: avoid room 7.5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked the Chester Residence for a romantic weekend in May. The place is stunning in every aspect. Great team with excellent service and the apartments are of the highest standards. Would definitely recommend to stay at Chester Residenece if planning a trip to Edinburgh.

Wer eine wirklich authentische Residenz für einen Trip nach Edinburgh sucht, sollte auf jeden Fall einige Nächte hier in einer der sehr exklusiv und geschmackvoll gestalteten Wohnungen einplanen.

Room Tip: We loved the slight qwerkiness of apartment No 3 in the original Chester Street building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

There is no doubt that the Chester Residence must be one of the best paces to stay in any city, not just Edinburgh. As two couples (one of which was my parents) we were looking for something that allowed us some space and time to catch up and the 2 bedroom apartment fulfilled that brief and more. It was wonderfully well appointed and had all the facilities we needed. If you plan on cooking you will need to take all the ingredients with you down to the salt and pepper as none of this is supplied but there is tea and coffee and all the utensils and cookware you'd require.
We were able to set up our own home-from-home for the period of our stay but better than home as if you needed anything, like a taxi being ordered, the excellent staff on the front desk were there to sort everything out for you.
A great view and the easy location for all the main parts of the city topped it off. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 7/2 was great. The upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,976 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £131 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing