We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Very central, apartment was very comfortable with everything you needed. Very tastefully decorated. Reception were very helpful there if you needed them for anything. My wife and I had never stayed at a serviced apartment before but comming from someone who has stayed in plenty of 5 star hotels before- The chester residence is definatley the way forward. How many hotels do you know where the 300 DVD collection is free of charge and you have a choice of 500 TV channels including Sky sports and Sky one (my wife is a TV addict).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sarah1212121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2008

My husband and I loved the Chester Residence. We stayed for four nights in the garden unit, and I don't think I have ever been quite so comfortable on holiday before.

What really stands out is the quality of the furnishings, fixtures plus the attention to detail. Everything you could possible need is right there. This includes a safe in the cupboard, umbrellas at the front door, a great selection of DVD's, satellite TV. The food left in the kitchen for your breakfast was plentiful - juice, coffee, milk, bread, jams, yogurts, cereal, fruit salad, eggs. They even had a bottle of Pinot Grigio and Veuve Cliquot (both for an extra very reasonable charge), and it was just so convenient!

The hosts were great, helpful making dinner/lunch reservations and ordering cabs when needed. The apt. is just a short walk away from the buses - we bought day passes and toured around all over.

We only had one sunny day while we were there, but took advantage of the beautiful garden when we had the chance. There are a couple of chairs outside to relax on.

We've never stayed at a residence apt. before, but would certainly go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Very central, apartment was very comfortable with everything you needed. Very tastefully decorated. Reception were very helpful there if you needed them for anything.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Steven45454545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The Chester Residence was a late find but we're glad we carried on looking. We had two nights in the garden apartment and it was beautiful.

The accommodation has its own garden which is pretty secluded and very well looked after. The apartment itself is huge, with a big bedroom and en-suite bathroom (lovely bath and shower), sitting room with comfy furniture and kitchen with table and chairs.

The breakfast that's supplied would keep you going all day and is freshly re-supplied every day.

We had a great time in Edinburgh the Chester Residence had a lot to do with it.

And a tip - if you find a good price somewhere else, contact the residence direct and they'll match it with some extras thrown in.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ernesto61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

This was my second stay at Chester and based on my experience to date I wouldn't stay in anywhere else in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bobstykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

When I read the reviews on TripAdvisor for 'The Chester Residence', my first thought was 'Can it really be this good?' And of course, it wasn't.

It was soooooo much better than that.

After all, I've stayed in West End apartment-type hotels before, so I thought I knew roughly what to expect (A fair bit of space, probably no restaurant, a small food area - maybe a large bathroom) but this is on a different level from anywhere else I've tried.

When you book somewhere you haven't stayed at there's always the knowns (i.e. room type, facilities etc) and then there's the unknowns (the cleanliness, the service etc). And once you've stayed there, you put the both together to make one whole experience, I suppose.

The Chester Residence simply delivers in both areas. The suites are larger and better equipped than on their website photos. The overall finish is of a higher quality than you expect. Whoever cleans the suites deserves several of whatever accolades they bestow in the cleaning industry, as my suite looked like I was the first ever to stay there. The service was everything you would want it to be, without ever being obtrusive.

So far so great - and then it's the little things - the attention to detail that really nails the whole experience firmly into 'expectations exceeded' territory. I can't say what did this for me, because everyone's expectations are different - but safe to say that during your stay there will be several moments where something relatively innocuous will impress you.

Now - I don't want to big this place up too much - for purely selfish reasons (i.e. I want to be able to book it next time I stay in Edinburgh.) I stayed in the Garden Suite, and luckily the sun came out to play that day. Sitting in my own private garden sipping Chablis on a summer evening is part of an experience that led me to ask myself why anyone would want to stay in a hotel when they could be sitting right where I was.

Graham and Gillian are clearly exceptional at what they do, and I hope they keep doing it for a good while yet.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank musashisakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Think of 5 star expectactions and this delivers.Would not consider staying anywhere else if these apartments are available.Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonerToursit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,095 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £151 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing