We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Residence
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bonham Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ritz Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,923)
Filter reviews
1,923 results
Traveller rating
1,752
134
22
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,752
134
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousechester streetowners residencerothesay placecinema roommews apartmentliving roommolton brown toiletriesprivate gardensky tvnespresso machineserviced apartmentwest endfull kitchenbirthday cardunderfloor heatinglarge bedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,762 - 1,767 of 1,923 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in the penthouse apartment.

Sadly no lift but the climb up 4 flights of stairs was well worth the effort- the stairwell is beautifully restored and the views from the apartment out to the Firth of Forth are stunning.

Kitchen and bathroom are state-of-the-art. The amply sized bed is extremely comfortable.

Flatscreen TV's galore- living room, bedroom and bathroom! The surround sound system adds to the ambience even if it tends to carry from neighbouring apartments occasionally.

Compared with other available city apartments the minor added expense is well worth it.

The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful.

In short- a great alternative to the top end hotels I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleTravellingMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Never have I been more positively surprised by a hotel room on arrival. Huge apartment style suites await with fabulous decor and great service if required. We had room 7/3 which had dining for up to 6 people, 2 sofa lounge with fireplace, Kitchen bathroom and bedroom. Do not hesitate booking - rooms are as good as reviews suggest.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RokaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Just returned from Chester Residence after reading the great reviews on this site. We stayed 3 nights with a toddler and if only all hotels could be like this. We felt instantly relaxed and at home, well, a better version of home! Beautifully designed, all the very best gadgets and equipment and very cosy on a cold November weekend. For anyone with small children this really is the best type of accommodation - our little boy raced around with his toy cars loving the space, and we could relax in the living room watching DVDs while he slept in the evening.
Only very minor negative points would be that the location is about a 15/20 minute walk from the main street but a pleasant walk through a nice neighbourhood. Staff were friendly but we found better eating and child friendly entertainment than their recommendations through our own research.
But I can only highly recommend Chester Residence..

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The only problem with the Chester Residence? That our stay was only two nights. This is, for us, the new gold standard of hotels. Modern, clean, roomy; it was like having our own flat in the city. Staff was beyond helpful, and with the possible exception of the parking situation (and even that was alleviated by our being there on the weekend), there is absolutely no aspect of the Chester Residence that could be improved. After a hellish drive from Stratford on the M6, arriving here was a larmic reward. I couldn't ask for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Super posh design, everything is brand new, shiny and of good quality. Good taste. Located in an up-scale neighborhood. Very spacious living room and fully equipped kitchen. Great beds and outstanding media installations (huge flatscreen, surround sound in all rooms). All in all, pure luxury at VERY reasonable prices. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews