We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chester Residence provided ideal accommodation for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Chester Residence provided ideal accommodation for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We booked the Club Suite at the Chester Residence for our stay with two teenage children during Hogmanay. It was an ideal base for us and once we got our heads around the map found we could walk into the centre in around 15mins.
However, the bedrooms were incredibly small and you found yourself edging around the bed to get around in the room and the adjoining ensuite only accommodated one person at a time!!! The lounge area made up for it though as this was quite spacious and we made good use of the TV and DVD player on New Years Day.
The kitchen was ideal however, could have done with a microwave in our opinion.
In summary, a great base to stay while in Edinburgh. Dont pack heavy suitcases as there is no lift and there are four flights of stairs to the club suite!!!!!!

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    123
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
335
998
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed here first weekend of December and were just amazed by the size of the apartments and how they have been refurbished from the original Georgian terraces. No detail was left untouched, down to the Jo Malone candles in the room. Everything was high-spec, service was excellent, will stay here again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vendita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

the apartment was lovely we had a two bedroomed one all to ourselves. location is perfect. the cooked breakfast was horrible and very expensive £15 each. sky didn't work and no one explained how to use music system, heating etc. would give it another chance however

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shefhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

We have just got back from a fantastic weekend in Edinburgh during which we stayed at this hotel which, in our opinion, thoroughly deserves the great reviews it gets on this site. The apartment, service and general experience were all fantastic and contributed to the success of our visit to this lovely city. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the shopping centre of Princes Street and the attractions of the Royal Mile are easily accessible. For good vegetarian food try Hendersons Resturant which had a great ambience and lovely food. This hotel lived up to all our expectations and we will definitely be back. If I had to think of a negative it would be that the apartment was far too hot but that could just be us as we dont normally keep our heating on that much! However, that aside, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graydondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed at Chester on a recent shopping trip to Edinburgh and it was superb. Our apartment was stunning, finished to the highest standard, it was as good as any 5* hotel I have stayed in recently. The apartments are spacious and tastefully decorate and provide all the comforts of home and then some. Perfect for relaxing after a day pounding the streets, we liked it so much we decided to spend the evening. The staff were extremely attentive and welcoming and is in a fantastic location. I look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

This was the first holiday my partner & I had had in over a year as we had recently had a baby. This was perfect- for a relaxed, luxurious romantic weekend, wish we could have stayed longer. We have already booked our next visit in March. Exceptional accommodation matched by service & location.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

I have never rated a hotel so high before, it's basically like a dream home I can expect for. The classic apartment is spacious, huge living room with great surrounding sound system, kitchen is clean and well equipped (very nice stove and oven), bed is so comfy we could barely stay awake for one minute on that, and the bathroom's even got a heated tower rack!
Although they charged continental breakfast for 12 pounds but it has lots selections, nicely presented and delivered directly to the room. I couldn't enjoy more that morning when we wore our bathrobes, eating breakfast in the living room and watching the DVDs (free rental) with wonderful privacy! Oh, the interest access is free of charge, and they even provide a laptop at the reception! When we went back to the hotel the afternoon we checked out to pick up our luggage before heading to the airport, we saw the hotel staff was delivering some classy afternoon tea (on a beautiful rack) to one of the rooms, and we immediately decided that we will definitely come back to Edinburgh and stay at Chester again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLKROSE420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing