We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for an engagement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2006

Excellent place to stay near to the town centre and all the sights.
We stayed in 2 of the suites, one of which was the garden suite. It was amazing, with everything you could need and the garden was beautiful. In fact, it was so romantic we got engaged there!!

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank Layla-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2006

This was a very luxurious, comfortable, centrally located lovely apartment. It really was everything that we could have hoped for and will definitely return.

Every comfort thought about, big airy rooms, good books etc, little chocolates, generous breakfast provision, great bathrooms - really, everything was just perfect. Lots of nice touches.

One minor gripe with the breakfast (only because it advertises as a five star place, otherwise, wouldn't raise it) the fruit salad seemed to have been frozen or something and as a result was a bit tasteless. Would have preferred some fresh fruit to make into our own fruit salad.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank MegP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

We stayed at the Chester Residence 4 nights from August 12th to August 16th. We had an Outstanding experience and the main reason is the owners. Jacky and Brian are fantastic. Everything in the Chester Residence is done to the highest standards (location, space, decor, food, quality of beds, videos, clean...etc...) and it is given to you in a very nice and stylish way:
- accomodations cannot be better: we had a very confortable, very clean and very large two-bedroom apartment. All the rooms are spacious and well decorated. The bathrooms are perfect. The kitchen is furnished with everything and supplied with lots of fresh items such as orange juice, milk, butter etc...
- location is wonderful, safe and quiet: it is located in the best neighborhood, at a walking distance of the best streets in the city.
We had a great time in Edinburgh, we enjoyed every minute we spent at the Chester Residence and we hope to go back soon!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Edjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

After a long flight we arrived at the Chester Residence to a clean, comfortable, quiet 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen kitchent that was supplied with fresh fruit, eggs, bread, butter, jellies and jar of candies and cookies, water and juice and milk. It was wonderful to be able to prepare a nice breakfast and crawl into our comfortable bed. Jacky was extremelly helpful to us and helped us find a driver to take us touring (and we loved him!). The apartment was comfortable, clean, large and had everything we needed. This place was the best experience during our two week stay in Scotland and England. We loved Scotland and we loved the Chester Residence. I would HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone looking in Edinburough, Scotland. We walked everywhere yet we were on a quiet street. This place felt like home. The Chester Residence deserves to be rated #1.
Wonderful!!!!!! Thank you Jacky for a great start to our vacation.
We will be returning to the Chester Residence!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, Ohio
422
Reviewed 7 July 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexsandrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
692 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £152 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing