We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at the Fringe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
1 review
“Luxury at the Fringe”
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We were in Edingburgh to "do" the Fringe as with two student-aged children this is the best way of having a family holiday we have yet found. We stayed three nights and had the two bedroom apartment on the second floor.

We were very impressed with the accomodation. It is totally clean, spacious and well equipped with fittings and furnishings of a high standard. It is probably the most comfortable and luxurious service appartments we have stayed in.

It is expensive but definetly worth it and, an unexpected bonus for us, was that we spent considerably less than usual on restaurant / cafes/ bars as it was easy to make outr own snacks in the kitchen.

The kids appreciated the DVD selection and TV in their room and its close enough to the town for them to come and go as they pleased. The ensuite bathroom in the main bedroom is rather small but the excellent shower made up for that.

Graham and Gillian were friendly and helpful. We didn't require much from them in way of service but they made it clear they would help us whenever necessary.

  • Liked — The high standard of the accomodation
  • Disliked — Lack of free parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_LLoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    126
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
342
1,023
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham South Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2007

This is the second time we have stayed in these lovely apartments. Often a return visit does not always meet the same expectations, not the case with the Chester residence. The rooms were still furnished to the same exacting standards and the service we received from the proprieters Gillian and Graham were as obliging and friendly as on our last visit.

The serviced apartments are ideally placed in Edinburgh for all the major attractions. There are some excellent restauraunts within easy walking distance and the luxury of returning to such a comfortable home from home makes such a difference. In fact it's so comfortable you are reluctant to go out in the first place.

I have no doubt we will be returning to Edinburgh again soon and would not now consider staying anywhere other than the Chester Residence. At little more than you would pay for a good hotel, I would recommend anyone to try it.

Kevin & Cheryl Morton

  • Liked — Standard of the accommodation, private space and more flexibility than a hotel
  • Disliked — It may be a shock but 'Nothing'
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KevM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

I discovered the Chester Residence as a consequence of Tripadvisor.com.
I'm delighted we found it. My wife and our two kids, aged 12 and 16 spent 3 nights at the Chester last month. We flew from Portland, Oregon through Vancouver BC, and then Heathrow into Edinburgh. After collecting our bags, it was about a 20 minute cab ride.
We got there around 3:30 pm local time (though it felt like 4am on our bodies-a sort of out of body experience). We were greeted by Graham (who owns and operates the residence w/his charming wife Gillian). He helped us w/our bags and graciously gave us a tour of our apartment (number 1), a two-bedroom on the top floor.
He recognized our collective state of exhaustion and kept it brief and welcoming, and told us to come find him or Gillian if we required anything further, once our heads had cleared.
The apartment was great. The master bedroom has a queen bed which my wife and I occupied, with its own smallish, but nice bathroom w/shower. The kids shared the 2nd bedroom wch has twin beds wch were seperated by a bedside table. I'm told this bed can be made into a full/queen should a couple be using it.
The kids' bedroom had a wall mounted flat screen TV wch the kids liked.
There is a second large bathroom with tub/shower that the kids used.
The sitting room has another TV (both tvs are on a dish with a whole host of channels available). The sitting room is very comfortable for 4, and probably would work for 5 or 6. It also has a DVD player. The Chester has a large library of DVDs and in our jet lagged stage, we availed ourselves of several.
The apartment also has a fully equipped galley kitchen wch is stocked w/coffee/tea/juice/bread/yogurt/cereal/water/crackers and is a great way to start your day.
The building is gorgeous and probably a couple of hundred years old. The apartment nonetheless feels very modern. The bathroom fixtures are stunning. The furniture is modern but comfortable.
The street in front of the property is a fairly busy road, but noise is not a problem. The master is on the back end of the unit and overlooks the Chesters' garden along w/neighboring properties gardens (all w/cute sheds).
The property is very well located. W/Graham and Gillians help, it was an easy walk to all of the main avenues of Edinburgh. Graham set us up w/a couple of dinner reservations wch worked out well. If you elect to stay at the Chester, have them email or fax you the list of restaurants they maintain, wch is current and offers a savvy critique of the cuisine, atmosphere, location and cost of the recommended establishments.
We spent 2 nights at the Chester and then ventured off to the wee village of Elie (near St. Andrews) where we'd rented a cottage for 3 nights.
We returned to the Chester for our 3rd night. We had advised them that we'd be back around noon and we'd appreciate it if they could have the apartment ready for us. They did. It was a seamless move.
They set us up w/a taxi for an early flight out of Edinburgh for London the following morning.
The Chester and Graham and Gillian are wonderful. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to stay there again should we ever make it back to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — it was a large, well appointed, comfortable apartment w/all the amenities
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed at these serviced apartments recently and were so impressed with the true 5 star accomodation and for a bargain price of just £99 as the apartments were not full on that night. Even at full rate these are still fantastic value for money as the rooms are huge and the fact that you have a separate lounge with open fire and your own kitchen. Stylish decor, spotlessly clean and the small touches such as book & dvd collections, chocolates etc all showed the high attention to detail Gillian and Graham have. Very impressed with this place, couldn't fault it at all. Even the owners were so helpful and friendly - there if you needed them to help with reservations etc but also quite invisible if thats what you want. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Decor, cleanliness and homely feeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

For our family of four celebrating my wife's 50th birthday the second floor appartment was a much better option than 2 rooms in a hotel. It was quiet, spacious, light, elegant and wonderfully located in the New Town (or edge of the West End) only 10 minutes walk away from some great restaurants and all the sites and shops. Both bedrooms were large and comfortable, the main one having lovely views over gardens to the rear. The sitting room was perfect for relaxing after the day's exertions and the kitchen was well equipped and re-stocked for breakfast every day.

Graham and Gillian were discrete and helpful hosts. All their restaurant recommendations were spot on and we enjoyed some good nights out at The Living Room, CentoTre and Browns which were all on George Street.

Not cheap but excellent value for money for a family of 4 considering the fantastic quality of the accomodation compared to a hotel (unless you really want the bustle of a hotel and having your breakfast done for you!).

  • Liked — The Georgian elegance
  • Disliked — Having to leave after 3 days!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sancho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2007

serviced appartments... well that could mean about anything and if you consider (like us) whether this is an alternative, her eour learning: it depends a wee bit on what you like. we loved new town, walking distance the center, the beauuuutiful houses..
if you care for uniformed greeters at the door and people that watch you entering a posh place to be impressed - don t go here.
if you prefer space, a life not scheduled by "breakfast until 1030" - try it. the restaurant tips by gillian and graham were precise, and they were helpful reserving. i would not give them 5*, but 4* is well deserved. we would always return.

ps - the bonham restaurant, just around the corner was excellent ,and we tried them all : witchery, fishers, oloroso, ...

  • Liked — concept, accomodation, free dvd collection, time flexibility,...
  • Disliked — parking cost, some more explanations on check in would have been nice
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2007

My girlfriend & I stayed here on a Friday & Saturday night in the large ground floor apartment & I can't recommend it highly enough. The attention to detail & thought that had gone into the apartment was obvious - from the wide selection of books down to the fresh fruit & croissants provided for breakfast in the morning. The apartment was spacious, beautifully furnished & the welcome we received was warm & genuine - couldn't ask for anything more.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — Felt like home. Went out on Saturday afternoon & returned to find the fridge restocked & the dishes done!
  • Disliked — Power shower was fantastic but did have to mop up the floor afterwards!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 148 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing