We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a 5 Star Rating Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My husband, 6 year old child, and I stayed here in late August in the Penthouse Suite. The accomodations, service, cleaniness of room were all 5+ star. We found our room rate to be very reasonable. It's within walking distance to most tourist attractions and found plenty of dining options nearby for dinner. The room was spacious and very modern with all it's ammenities. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we stayed longer. We stumbled across this place online, and it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DColletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,857)
There are newer reviews for The Chester Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

I don't think I can say anything new about the Chester Residence. But i'll try. Having stayed a few times now were used to the high level of service and care that you receive. This in my opinion is the bench mark that all 5* hotels should try and achieve. But nowhere else even comes close. Were already looking forward to our next trip. Thanks for everything Natalie best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bustasdits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The Chester Residence was fantastic. The whole place is wonderfully decorated and has a lovely townhouse, roomy, comfortable feel. The apartment had a huge living room, huge bedroom and downstairs kitchen and bathroom. Everything was extremely well detailed, clean and pristine. The guy who checked his name (unfortunately I can't remember his name) was extremely friendly and helpful, and offered his personal restaurant recommendations. Guests can choose from a free DVD library. Extras such as chocolates and a hamper of necessities in the kitchen make this a perfect place to stay. I would recommend this apartment to a small group of friends or families. The apartment is situated in the West End of Edinburgh, a short walk to the bottom (charlotte square end) of Princes St.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This place was a lot nicer than I expected and I had high expectations from their website. We had the two bedroom Mews Apartment which has a great back yard and really was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burrowbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We had a night away for husbands birthday - selected The Chester Residence because of the reviews on trip advisor - we were not disappointed. We had a classic suite and it was beautiful.
The suite was an apartment, with a large lounge with a nice fire and fireplace, stylish galley kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and kitted out with good quality appliances and lovely products in the bathroom. Bathrobes, bedding and towels all pristine and of a good quality. Service was very good with friendly staff. It definitely felt more like staying in an apartment than a hotel - mainly due to the size of the place, but also because you could quite happily cook and eat in - if that is what you wanted to do ( we didn't!)
Location is good - walking distance of the west end of town but in nice, quiet "well heeled " area. We did get a cab to take us to the castle area in the evening, as it felt a bit too far to walk when dressed to go out for the evening!
We loved our stay, felt like we had had a real treat and will be doing it again - hopefully in the not too distant future....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Thank you to Rory and the team at Chester Residence for a fabulous time. We stayed for a long weekend, in the penthouse suite, and the descriptions and reviews certainly are all true - it was a home away from home, and a pleasure to return to at the end of the day.
A special thanks to Stuart, who is a great ambassador to the residence, doing a fantastic job - he certainly looked after us well, with great breakfasts, and a welcome second to none. The Saturday evening 'get together' is a lovely idea, and it is very evident to see how proud to work at the Hotel all the staff are - which comes over in the service they give.
It was very easy to walk to Princes St. and beyond from the hotel - public transport facilities from the Airport were also excellent.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh, don't look anywhere else - this will not disappoint you. Good luck Rory with the expansion plans - we will definately be back to see you again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minbin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed in a Penthouse suite for 4 nights for our 10th wedding anniversary. Everything was just perfect. Incredibly warm welcome and fantastic service from the general manager and all the staff throughout our stay. Penthouse was gorgeous, luxury but felt like home too. Pink Champagne and drinks reception on the Saturday night was lovely.
Great location, 10 minute walk from Princes Street but really peaceful at night.
We visit Edinburgh often and will always aim to stay here for future visits. Thank you to all at the Chester Residence for helping making our celebration perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelstonBurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,867 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £148 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning West End of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, Sky TV, Blu-ray DVD player. As our beautiful townhouses are listed, there is no elevator in them, but our Concierge will be happy to help with your luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing