We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

After staying in Chester again I can't express how faultless the whole experience is from start to finish. When I arrived, we were greeted at the door and our bags were carried into the hotel and up to our room while we were seated in reception to check in. When we were shown to our room we were surprised to find a lovely hamper as we had mentioned it was a rare weekend away from our daughter to relax. On saturday night we went down to the bar for complimentary drinks and had a lovely time meeting other guests, talking to the staff on a personal level. Stuart was very welcoming and like the whole stay nothing was too much trouble.

After a few drinks, we retired back to our beautiful apartment and relaxed . The feather pillows and duvet made it almost impossible to get out of bed the next morning after a peaceful night sleep. The true continental breakfast was exceptional and was brought to us at the time we orderded it by the Shihab one of the fantastic members of staff we encountered during our stay.

We met the General Manager Rory (whom we had met at a previous stay) when we checked out and commented on our fabulous stay, he was very gracious and also remembered us from the previous visit. This is one of those little touches that makes the Chester Residence experience so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    122
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
331
992
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed here for my girlfriends 21st birthday. When we arrived we were notified that we has been upgraded - free of charge - to the Penthouse suite! The apartment was very well furnished, warm and had everything from a large selection of DVDs to the Harry Potter box set of books. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Couldn't have wished for more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
Hi arr0n.

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay, im glad we were able to offer you an upgrade to one of our penthouse apartments and that your stay was so good.

The team try their hardest to make each stay special, im happy to add your stay to that target.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend of house hunting just prior to relocating to Edinburgh.
If only I could have found somewhere to live which was half as nice as these apartments I would have been one happy guy. The location/decor/staff everything is just perfect.
You will not be disappointed.
Just like a home from home but better!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CptGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for your post , im glad that our hotel and my team made your stay such a happy one.
We aim for every stay to be "Perfect" and believe that a true 5 star experience is one that makes you want to return time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

I have travelled with a group of friends and booked this based on great reviews. overall our stay was very nice, altough we experienced a few issues.

After we've booked we expected some correspodence (some reviewers mentioned they have been approached proactively with an offer to order food to wait for them, queries about transport, booking restaurants, etc) - this didn't happen, which was fine - I have just contacted them myself couple of days before arrival and asked a few questions, which were promtly replied to and arranged what I needed to. One thing which was important for us that due to late flights, we were arriving late (after 10pm), so I needed to double check that there will be some bread/basic food in room so we can have something to eat after long flight. I was assured it would be.

Arrival was fine, people working the reception are helpful and chatty. We were walked to the other building - on Chester street - and the receptionist opened the door for us to the apartment - and well - there were people in there - and understandably not pleased to be disturbed by us trying to get in... After intitial confusion we were asked to wait while the receptionist walked back to double check and after a while came back with a different key. (What a relief - for a while I was really worried we are sleeping on the streets:-) We were showed the right room and it was spacious and clean, altough after the receptionist left, we have discovered several missing light bulbs (none of the bulbs at the toiletries table or above the mirror worked - which is a problem when you tru to put your make-up on..) and also the fridge was working, but not properly - it was very warm - the milk in the fridge was already off. There was also no bread as pomised - but there were milk (which was off), eggs, butter, juice and 8 pots of seville orange marmalade (which none of us unfortunately like - would have been nice to have a selection) - so we basically went to sleep hungry - we were knackered after our flight and it was close to midnight, so just left it.

We pointed out the fridge and the light bulbs and the bread at the reception the next morning - bread was provided that day, fridge must have been looked at, altough with not much difference (it was a bit cooler) and no progress on bulbs during our whole stay.

Also reading other reviews I almost thing we have got the worst room or just had really bad luck - no Jo Malone candles or toiletries (just empty candle holders) and few broken items in the rooms (for example lamps and lots of tear and wear on furniture). The lounge was especially bare - we peeked into some other rooms during cleaning hour and they looked much more plush - fireplaces and nice accessories - so I think our experience would have been a bit different staying in one of them - please do not get me wrong - the room we were using was nice enough, but compared with others it looked quite basic. We were considering if it was because that was supposedly the only appartment which can accomodate 4 single beds - so there is expected more 'damage' from single 'party goers' then 'well behaved' couples - but who knows.

The DVD player have not worked first either (we just could not get it started), but after we spoke to the reception a very helpful young man came up and fiddled around with it so long that it has started, which we really appreciated.

Beds are comfy, bathrooms nice and clean, enough hot water, no problem there. Our bedroom was facing the garden, which was very quite, our friends had the one facing the road, but it was still OK, altough a bit more noisy.

Location is good, further away from the centre, in Edinburgh west end, but still a short walk away and we liked it as it was much quiter.

We were offered a free drink on Saturday night in the lobby in their main bulding (it is really lovely, feels nicer then the one we were staying in) which was much appreciated and canapes (sushi only - we had a vegetarian there who felt a bit left out). We only stayed for 15 minutes, as we had tickets for the theatre and also our friends are non-drinkers and there was not a much selection of non-alcoholic drinks ( I guess it is not usually the problem they have!:-) I had a glass of champagne and it was lovely, we had a good chat with the manager(?) - he said he will ask the staff to bring us some canapes to the room to wait for us after arrival from thethre, as we could not stay long - it didn't happen, but that's not really an issue, as we had dinner anyhow...

All in all we had a very good stay and enjoyed Edinburgh, and I would recommned this hotel to my friends, as I think they are a lovely bunch of people trying to please their guests - unfortunately in our case a few things were not as expected but it did not stop us from enjoying our stay. If I am to stay again, I think i would request a different appartment though.

A small moan to finish this off - we asked them to book us a cab to travel back to airport - they did so very promptly, but they didn't tell us it was their contracted company, not a standard cab, so it was £20 fixed price instead of £14 which we would pay usually for a standard cab - not a big thing, but I would expect to be told about this - we have only found out at the airport when it came to paying.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edison01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Dear Edison01

Thank you for your recent post with regard to our Chester Street location, i am sorry you encountered some issues during your stay, and only wish these had been brought to our attention while you were here , thus allowing us the oppertunity to rectify the issues.

I note your point regarding the fact we did not contact you , as you booked via a trird party site we do not get access to your email address thus we cannot send your the advance email to see how we can assist you during your stay, i also note that you mention the fact that you did not have Jo Malone products in your room, please note these are not standard in the hotel , however you would have had White Company goods.

We understand that the Chester Street Hotel is an older building and has difference's to our Rothesay place hotel, however it is still very much 5 Star and follows a more traditional style.

We have addded more non alcoholic drinks to our Saturday night Bar for guests, and we always carry a selection of canapes , however to suit each guest that visits the bar , is difficult.

As always, we strive to give every guest an amazing experience while they stay at our hotel, im sorry you feel that on this occasion we have not met your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Chester Residence for 3 nights last week. We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The lounge area where guests are first received is beautiful. We were offered complimentary soft drinks, wine and beer. Our bags were taken to our flat for us and then we were escorted over. The flat was super impressive. Gorgeously furnished, very large, and super comfortable. The fridge was stocked with milk, OJ, bottled water, eggs, yogurt, butter and a loaf of bread (along with several cereals). The kitchen included everything one would need to prepare light meals and snacks. There were two bathrooms and both were roomy well stocked.

The hotel's concierge was more than helpful with restaurant reservations, directions, taxi's, etc. The service was really first class all the way. I would not even look at other hotels in Edinburgh now that I've seen this one!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorriKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
Dear LorriKern

It sounds like you had a great time during your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post a review.

i have shared your review with all of the team and have thanked for their hard work in delivering a 5 star experience to all our guests.

Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

My one complaint would be why I have never come across this magnificent place before .

From our initial check in to leaving , this was a perfect stay , staff wonderful , rooms absolutely amazing , location perfect , and to top it off a complimentary bar on Saturday night .
This is the type of accomodation and service that I have only come across very rarely in the Uk , that attention to detail is superb and the staff are so very helpful that our stay will definetly not be our last .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbr4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
HI rbr166

My team and i pride ourselves on a first class 5 star experience for every guest, it sounds like you enjoyed your break with us , im very glad you liked the Bar @ Chester on Saturday night, this is something we do every weekend to thank our guests for choosing to stay with us.

I have passed you comments on to the team , thank you for posting about your time with us, i hope you return soon.

Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

You've GOT to stay here. Fabulous, fantastic, GORGEOUS.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirTuck2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesterResidenceRory, General Manager at The Chester Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
Dear ShirTuck2001

Your review says it all.!!

Thank you for posting such great words out or service, staff and surroundings.

Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing