We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I do not usually write reviews on trips away however I felt it was only fair to say how fantastic my recent break away was. Myself and my partner stayed in The Penthouse Suite and you could not fault one single thing in this hotel. The apartment was equipped with tea coffee milk etc. All toiletries were provided and of top quality. The apartment was immaculate, clean and tidy. The staff are always more than willing to help and although expensive, it is well worth it and I would not hesitate on returning to The Chester Residence. Amazing place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMack20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    122
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
331
992
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a long weekend at The Chester Residence and it was everything you'd want in a hotel, flawless rooms, great location and such friendly staff.

It was my girlfriends Birthday on the Saturday and I also proposed, when they found out they did everything possible to make it an extra special stay, I really could fault anything about the whole experience.

If you're going to Edinburgh this really is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhayward20_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

The hotel is superbly located - a 5-10 minutes walk from the city center. Every staff member we encountered was polite and friendly. Also present was the type of attention to detail one expects at the very best hotels, an example being that on NYE someone showed up at our door with two complimentary glasses of champagne. More than anything else however, it was the room that made the trip as enjoyable as it was - spacious (80 sqm) and nicely decorated and furnished (wall-mounted speakers and ipod docking stations).

Only criticisms would be that: 1) The toilet door didn't lock 2) One of the ipod speakers was not working properly. All in all a great trip and my gf and I look forward to making another visit soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Even before arriving at the Chester Residence, I had been in contact with the staff regarding a variety of issues. They were so accomodating. Upon our arrival, we were amazed by the beautiful accomodations--from the heated floors in the bathrooms and living rooms to the amazing kitchen. Moreover, I was so glad to see that the foods that I had requested for my daughter had been purchased and placed in the refrigerator. Every need of ours was met, from synthetic bedding and additional blankets to restaurant reservations. Our four night stay was not enough for our kids--they were so sad to leave. We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed for three nights in a Grand appartment early in December and paid £145 per night via Booking.com. These are appartments, so all cooking and dining is in the suite and there is no restaurant for breakfast or evening meals.

They do provide a breakfast which is delivered to the room - or evening meal components which can be cooked. But there are enough shops nearby to get what's needed if you want.

The suite is beautifully decorated and very luxurious. Underheated bathroom with quality soaps and cremes along with little extras like Jo Malone linnen spray. My partner was impressed. The lounge is huge and spacious with large Sky TV and two massive sofas. Although the flat sleeps two - you could comfortable entertain six to eight people here.

As well as the fantastic appartment, the service was the best we've experienced anywhere. Friendly, inviting, engaging and helpful. They really can't do enough for you - and without the stuffy attitude that some top-class hotels have.

We left in the snow for a train that was likely to be cancelled - and didn't care if it was. They had assured us they would have a room at the same rate we agreed if there were any problems. At a time when other hotels in Edinburgh were ramping their prices to exploit those trapped by the snow, this was excellent. It was a genuine disappointment when the train came and we had to leave.

I can't fault this in any way - and loved every minute. I'm looking forward to a return to Edinburgh and we'll definately be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryFXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to visit the Christmas market, to do some shopping and to see the musical 'Hairspray'. We stayed in the penthouse apartment which was absolutely lovely and huge. Especially loved the bath with its double walk-in shower and rolltop bath. Very relaxing after shopping all day! Only problem woud be if you are not very fit to tackle the steps upstairs as there is no elevator. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We both like walking and even though it was very icy on the pavements we easily walked to Princess Street and the Playhouse at night. Definitely coming back here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

This is the second time my girlfriends and I stayed at The Chester Residence. This time we stayed in the Mews Apartment and stunning, fabulous, sensational just doesn't do it justice. We had booked in for our Christmas treat and went to see Hairspray. We wish we had just stayed in and enjoyed our apartment - that's how goo it was. We had champagne cocktails delivered to our door and were then invited for more drinks and canapes before they very kindly ordered our taxi. We were invited back in for drinks on our return. All the staff were fabulous Stuart, Ian, Sue and Rory. Thanks for making our stay a night to remember. We are already planning a return visit in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmaineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Residence

Property: The Chester Residence
Address: 6 - 9 Rothesay Place, Edinburgh EH3 7SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#2 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Residence is a collection of 5 Georgian townhouses set in the stunning west end of Edinburgh. These chic 5 star (Scottish Tourist Board rated) designer suites blend seamlessly with attention to detail and a level of personalized service that ensures guests enjoy the highest standards, synonymous with The Chester Residence. Each suite is an oasis of tranquility, offering spacious, individually designed suites with all the benefits of a luxury hotel. The latest in room technology is provided including, direct-dial telephone, voice mail, wide-screen multi-channel TV, DVD, CD player and iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Chester Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Chester Residence Edinburgh
Chester Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Chester Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing