We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at the Old Chain Pier”
Review of Old Chain Pier

Old Chain Pier
Ranked #224 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Chain Pier is a beautiful bar/restaurant situated on the firth of the Forth, with beautiful views across to Fife. We serve fresh, local and in season produce all year round. From our gourmet burgers and beautiful beer battered haddock and chips, to our stunning catches of the day, snack plates to share and weekend brunch, you're sure to find everything you're looking for with us. We also offer a wide range of wheat and gluten free options to suit your needs. We also offer hire of our conservatory and mezz areas for your more intimate private parties and functions, with the use of our Sonos music system and Karaoke machine to really get your party going. Our outdoor seating is a must on a sunny day and we are completely dog friendly, inside and out. Booking is advisable but not necessary and we look forward to your visit x
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Old Chain Pier”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Refurb has given this older pub/restaurant a new lease of life and lunch with a great view over the Forth doesn't disappoint.

Don't expect fine dining as this is definitely pub food but the quality is good at reasonable prices and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

It's a pleasant change to feel the staff are genuinely pleased to see you and hope you enjoy the experience at the restaurant.

I would definitely recommend this relaxed establishment to you and we'll be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onebrawlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    166
    43
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small portions, left feeling hungry”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Old Chain Pier has been recently refurbished and we were looking forward to trying it out. It's looking nicer than it used to, and now has big full windows looking out over the forth, but is largely the same place on the inside.

The menu seemed typical pub grub - fish and chips, steak pie, fish pie, a few types of burger and a token vegetarian option. We ordered a beef burger and a lamb and apricot burger. Service was fairly good and we didn't wait long for our food to arrive. The first surprise were the portion sizes - the plates were not big and neither were they full, so we pretty quickly ordered a side plate of chips to make it a bit more substantial. However the food did look and taste good.

Still hungry we ordered dessert. A cranachan ice cream turned out to be something much more like sorbet, but was very icy and not smooth, neither was it very big or tasty. Chocolate cheesecake did taste good, but was a tiny sliver sized portion.

In all it was a disappointment - the food was mostly good except the cranachan, but the portion sizes were too small and we left still slightly hungry. Fortunately it wasn't expensive, with 2 courses and a few drinks costing less than £40 for two.

It did look like they had a good selection of beers (unfortunately I was driving so couldn't sample any), so this might be a good place to go for beers with mates and watch some sport on the TV - but if you're going for the food, you'd get much better at Porto & Fi, 5 minutes along the road.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Refurb not helped”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have been to the OCP before it closed and also since it re-opened. It looks a bit better with a bit of paint, etc. But unfortunately the food is still the boring tasteless menu it used to be. Sorry.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank FalkirkTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly service”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

You could easily get the impression that the new management and their young front of house team haven't been at this game for vey long but don't let that put you off. Very friendly and helpful staff. From the menu we had the rib eye and the fish and chips.. The steak was fine and good value. The fish and chips were excellent, good tasty batter - very good sized portions (two fillets) and my partner let me have one of them. Enjoyed the bread and butter pud for dessert (served with cream as they had run out of custard) - serving portion was huge - one slice would have been enough. No worries about returning.

Reserve a window seat in advance if you can for the best views over the firth of forth.

Large selection of beers, pity I was the driver for the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stan.stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good to see it open again”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I think the previous review must of been s one off bad experience.

I have been back a few times & i have complaints.Decor good,especially what they done with the windows looking out to the forth.Good selection of Beer.Food is ok especially the home made burgers.

The pub has been very busy since it reopened but i think has took the owners by surprise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Chain Pier also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Old Chain Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing