We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, hospitable family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #133 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Great B&B owned by a lovely couple with two very friendly teenagers. They are all extremely helpful and helped us plan our days. Very comfortable and clean bedroom with ensuite facility. The breakfasts were fantantic. It's within easy walking distance of central Edinburgh. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JillCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2008

We have just completed a two week trip around UK staying at B & B s. We booked two nights at Craigmoss but chose to leave after one (still paid for two nights). Our room overlooked the noisy Pilrig Street. It was small and furnished to a very basic level. The room looked nothing like those pictured on the website. The area of Edinburgh was dirty and very unplesant to walk through after dark, especially. Breakfast was good. We booked four months before our stay but feel that recent bookings were given better and larger rooms. Generally, Craigmoss lacked warmth and comfort - those qualities we really appreciated in other B & B s. It was one of the most expensive B & B s we stayed at at 85 pounds for the room each night, yet definitely the worst.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayerGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

I recently spent 4 nights at the Craigmoss Guest House. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful not only the Taylor family is, but how nice the accomodations were. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and modern well appointed bathrooms. The breakfast was wonderful too. Each offering was thoughtfully prepared and delicious! I would definitely stay at the Craigmoss again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Our family (two adults and two children [ages 3&4]) stayed at Craigmoss for three nights prior to Christmas 2007. The entire Taylor family was wonderful, welcoming, helpful and professional. Our stay was arranged via the website, which was most useful. The breakfast was a traditional Scottish selection and was prepared and presented nicely. Traveling with two young children can be a bit of a hindrance for some B&B's; however, Isabelle and Harry were very doting of our children and treated them like their own.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DomesticEngineerMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I stayed at the craig moss guest house with a friend for the rugby world cup. we had a great stay. rooms were cleans the breakfast excellent witha very good choice. the owners were very friendly and I felt at home from the beginning. locations is great with the main buslines near the house and city centre also in walking distance (15 min). will consider to come back...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PatrickSchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

The family that runs the B&B were very helpful and understanding of our situation. Our luggage had been missed placed by the airline and my mother and I were without any change of clothing. It was unseasonable cold and since we didn't have any other clothes, we definitely were without jackets in 40 some degree weather. Our trip was not turning out well as we were confined to our room the first night and were in fear of our two days there being a loss. The family knew the importance of the trip to us, my ill mother's request to research her lineage, and went out of their way to give us warm winter coats so that we would be able to go about our tour the second day. They helped us to contact the airline to find our luggage and fielded calls from our family at home through this difficult period. Other than the inclement weather and cold room, as the goverment controls the heat, the accommodations were wonderful. This B&B truely looks out for its guests and goes above and beyond to ensure a welcoming stay. I recommend you visit this B&B when in Edinburgh and get to know Isabelle and Harry. They will take care of you.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We stayed for 3 nights at Craigmoss. It is a lovely place, directly across from the number 11 bus stop. This bus will take you all along Prince's street to the Castle.
The owners are very warm and welcoming. We had trouble finding a last minute room for myself and two grandsons, but Isabelle prepared us very comfortable accommodations. I made several special requests of Isabelle, and she was always helpful and sweet.
The breakfast was fantastic! We especially loved Harry's Craigmoss special. It is the best!!!
My grandsons loved Edinburg and want to go back during the Tattoo. We hope that there will be room at the Craigmoss next time we come!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lsdourte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,034 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing