We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #132 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed two nights in this guest house (1-2 july 2008) and we really loved it.
Isabelle and Harry are very kind and friendly, they gave us a lot of information. They are really nice and caring.
The breakfast was really good and with everything you need: a real Scottish breakfast but you can also find jam, juices, milk and fruit; really fantastic.
We stayed in the room n° 3, the bathroom was in front of our room. It is a lovely little room, warm and well groomed, very clean.
It's about 20 minutes walk from Edinburgh centre, but there is a bus stop (line n°11) just in front of the guest house door. Every 10 minutes you can catch your bus and in few minutes you are in the heart of the town.
There is not an elevator, keep in mind if you have a lot of luggages.
Surely I would stay again in Craigmoss Guest House and I want to thank again Isabelle and Harry for their lovely welcoming.

Milena and Marco

  • Liked — Cleanliness and warm welcom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chicchirullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    103
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
162
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed two nights in Craigmoss guest house (1-2 july 2008) and we really loved it.
Isabelle and Harry are very kind and friendly, they gave us a lot of information. They are really nice and caring.
The breakfast was really good and with everything you need: a real Scottish breakfast but you can also find jam, juices, milk and fruit; really fantastic.
We stayed in the room n° 3, the bathroom was in front of our room. It is a lovely little room, warm and well groomed, very clean.
It's about 20 minutes walk from Edinburgh centre, but there is a bus stop (line n°11) just in front of the guest house door. Every 10 minutes you can catch your bus and in few minutes you are in the heart of the town.
They prefer payment in cash.
Surely I would stay again in Craigmoss Guest House and I want to thank again Isabelle and Harry for their lovely welcoming.


Milena and Marco

  • Liked — Breakfast is really fantastic. Room and bathroom very clean
  • Disliked — It does not have an elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chicchirullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moiraman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Booked at Craigmoss following reviews on this site and was very glad we did.
Right from the first contact with the owners everything was handled superbly .
Arrived in Edinburgh Breakfast time and was met by Isabelle who took our luggage in whislt we took a walk into town.
The walk into town was only 15 minutes but we could of been lazy as there is a bus stop just outside that you take anywhere for a very reasonable cost .
When we got back to Craigmoss we were shown to our room which was on the top floor (Bedroom 1) .A lovely tidy room with onsuite facilities and nice touches as well. Nice and quiet with an amazing comfortable bed just right for a good nights sleep after a days sight seeing.
Breakfast menu is given to the night before so you can study the large list of choices. My wife had the famous porridge with fresh fruit on both days and I opted for the scottish breakfast ,both of which were superb.
Isobelle is very welcoming and was helpful with questions we put to her regarding olaces to visit especially where to eat .The local Italian Resturant is fantastic !
We went to Craigmoss for our Wedding Anniversary and was more than happy with our stay . Would go back tomorrow.
Anybody browsing the sites and looking for a superb Guest house in Edinburgh you can stop looking now , you will hard pushed to find one much better than this....

  • Liked — Friendly home from home
  • Disliked — The stairs (top flloor)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moiraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2008

I recently stayed at 76/1 MacDonald Road in Edinburgh, and I can't speak highly enough about the place! It suited our needs perfectly, as I suspect it will for ANYONE visiting "Auld Reekie".

The 2 bedroom flat itself is spacious and clean, with everything you could possibly need, in terms of kitchen appliances, entertainments, linens, etc. Two bathrooms, and the most delightful high pressure shower I've ever experienced!

Steps to Leith Walk, and public transit anywhere in the city, the location is perfect. A ten minute walk will take you to Princes Street, and all the associated attractions of the town.

The landlady, Isabelle, is a delightful and charming lady. She was friendly, helpful, and considerate, and even gave me some milk out of her own fridge, so we could have a cup of tea on arrival!

I was delighted with my stay at the MacDonald Road flat, and can't imagine staying anywhere else, during future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — Location, size, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Couldn't operate the washer/dryer
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RichDeathrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Me and my gfriend stayed for a couple of nights at Craigmoss. First night we spent on the second floor, in a really small room, with a window that provided almost zero noise and cold insulation. The water in the showerhad vey low pressure. Second night we spend in a much better room in the first floor, the only but big problem there is that the water in the shower is NOT hot, it fluctuates from very cold to very hot in 10-seconds cycles that give maximum of 1 second of okay water -not an enjoyable shower as you can imagine.

Also, note that there was NO free wireless internet in either of the rooms, i had to go to the groundfloor to connect and the worst was the owners' reaction when I mentioned them the problem, from indifference to annoyance, they were making up irrelevant excuses. Breakfast was also a joke, in the second day I asked for the eggs with smoked salmon; the "smoked salmon" part was 4 very thin fibers of salmon.

At a cost of 85 GBP per night, this place is definitely very bad value for money.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueTsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Had a lovely visit to The Craigmoss Guest House. Proprietors were wonderful they made us feel very at home and the cooking was superb! Great location for exploring Edinburgh, extremely comfortable. Would highly recommend this Guesthouse and the appartments that they also own are beautiful. DEFINATELY go back!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shani0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Travelled with two children under 5. Located on a street lined with B&Bs. Did not receive the warmest welcome. Felt like we were a bother, and arriving too late (we arrived early evening and gave notice of such). Travel cot was forgotten in our room but when asked where it was, provided straight away.

Pictures of rooms on website look much nicer than they actually are. Our room was comfortable enough however tight with 2 adults/2 children. Our room faced Pilgrig Street...a fairly busy street with quite a lot of car traffic. Bus stop right across the street which was convenient to get to city centre, but a little noisy at night. Walking to city centre was unrealistic especially with two children in tow.

Not a lot of restaurants in close proximity to have dinner when we arrived. Needed a reservation to eat inside the Italian restaurant nearby...had to sit on smokey patio and service was very unfriendly.

Doesn't feel like the safest neighborhood. Would not walk around at night.

Unfortunately, would not return for the breakfast!

Nice to know if travelling with kids: there is a little playground
just about a block away (going away from Leith Walk).

  • Liked — Didn't have a best. It was very average all around
  • Disliked — Dissapointed with the lack of warmth and friendliness of the hosts
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CathySpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#92 of 392 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 392 in Edinburgh
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#74 of 392 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
16 Pilrig Guest House
16 Pilrig Guest House
#176 of 392 in Edinburgh
34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#125 of 392 in Edinburgh
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#152 of 392 in Edinburgh
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing