We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #122 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Mauritius
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had booked a family room for 4 people for two nights. The welcome was very cold and unfriendly, we were just given the keys to the room and house.No lifts and assistance for the luggage. The room was small and cold. The central heating was switched off most of the time and when requested for an additional heater we were just told that it will get warmer. The breakfast was below standard. I had a hair in my porridge and there was no apologies or anything and got it back with lots of syrup, not sure if it was changed . The room was below standard and for the price charged it would have been better to rent two rooms in budget hotel like IBIS. Our choice for this type of accommodation was to experience a British style hospitality and was disappointed. Overall poor hospitality and I would not recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 730Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am sorry these people say they did not enjoy their stay. What they failed to point out in their review is they cancelled the first night of a two night booking the evening they were due to arrive. When they came to pay their bill they were informed they would be charged for the night they cancelled. They became extremely unhappy about this. They had agreed to the terms and conditions of the booking and the cancellation was chargeable. We were very helpful and provided a letter for their insurance company. The other issues re the heating, we turned it up for them, we apologised for the hair in the porridge and they were given a large four bed family room so we are surprised they thought it small. They were a very nice family and we got on well with them so we were very surprised to read this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    103
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
162
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Hogmanmay 2013 and it was wonderful! Issabelle and Harry looked after us as if we were their own (all bit it slightly dysfunctional) daughters. Very friendly, helpful, warm and welcoming. Thanks for everything from varied breakfast requests to filling up hot water bottles!! See you for Fringe!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked a stay at this guest house for one night using booking.com. Immediately after booking I received a call from an extremely rude woman who demanded that I cancel my booking as the price was a mistake. I said I would need to take it up with booking.com and she hung up the phone.

After over a week of discussing this with booking.com they told me that the guest house was refusing to honour the price, instead suggesting that I accept a rate of three times the original price, and that they (booking.com) felt that the guest house management were within their rights to do this and so cancelled my booking three days before I was due to stay.

I would avoid this guest house and booking.com completely.

Room Tip: Avoid this guest house completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
This gentleman booked a room with us through an on line booking company. When the booking came in we realised that a mistake had been made as a rate of £10.00 had been quoted instead of a rate of £70.00. The guest was contacted by my wife and she explained the error. She was very pleasant on the phone but did say the guest was unhappy. We contacted the on line booking company re the matter to explain the situation and as a gesture of goodwill and to acknowledge the error we imediately offered a room rate of £30.00. The guest was contacted several times re this offer but we had no response for over a week. When eventually we did get a response a few days before he was due to arrive he refused our offer. Under the terms and conditions of the booking with this company if a price is a misprint or misquoted the booking is invalid which in these circumstances it was and the company cancelled the booking. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and are sorry this situation was not amicably resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We often stay at this comfortable, friendly family run guest house when we visit Edinburgh. It is very central with on street parking and only a short walk or bus journey to the centre of the city. We found our room very comfortable and quiet and had a good nights sleep after a long day Christmas shopping in Edinburgh and a show at the Festival Theatre. Enjoyed a scrummy breakfast full Scottish breakfast for my husband and the healthier option for myself. Harry and Isabelle offer a home from home which is why we always return here to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This Guest House is on 3 levels. We stayed in the twin on the third level. Carrying suitcases up would have been a problem, but Harry quickly solved that by carrying them for us. Room was of a reasonable size with ensuite. It was quiet. Free on-street parking is available and it is only a 15 minute walk to Princes Street. The breakfasts were standard B&B fare, but I enjoyed the fruit chopped up and mixed with honey and put on top of the porridge or yogurt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My son and i spent two nights at Craigmoss. Great location, bus across the road. Shops and lots of shops at end of the Pilrig street. Leith or Edinburgh city a quick five minute bus ride. Heaps of parking out the front. Found a lovely restaurant on Leith road called Oregano, food was fantastic.
Harry and Isabelle were superb, just a knock on the door and there happy to answer any questions. Breakfast was great, as we were going of the British Open we went to the breakfast room a bit early but they were happy to serve us.(Thanks for that Isabelle!!!) Isabelle was lovely to chat to and being Aussies wanted to know about Australia.
The porridge filled me up for the morning.
The room, so much space, we were in a room facing Pilrig St, but didn't hear a sound both nights.
Beds were comfortable, very clean and spacious.
Can't speak highly enough about it.
Iabelle and Harry if ever in Melbourne come and stay with us free of charge!!

Room Tip: Plenty of parking on the street, but leave the car their. Buses go all the time and cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just had a very enjoyable overnight stay in Edinburgh at the Craigmoss Guest House. We stayed in the twin bed room with private bathroom facilities as all the other 8 rooms were fully booked. The room was on the 3rd floor, very neat and tidy with twin single beds, TV and tea/coffee facilities. We opted for breakfast and had a full Scottish fry-up with tea/coffee, toast etc. There were also several other option of fruit, yogart, porridge etc. Total price for 2 people was £75.00, which for the centre of Edinburgh is excellent value. The guest house was situated off Leith Walk and in a very quiet side street so we had a very good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Unable to suggest any other rooms as they were all occupied but our room was facing the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abbotsford Guest House
#102 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#131 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Guesthouse
#105 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Millers 64
#83 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#67 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing