We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #132 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy and Homely”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here over the New Year period and were very impressed by facilities and the warmth of the owners. From great breafasts, to daily cleaning and letting us in at 5am when we'd forgotten our key! By far one of the best B n B's I've stayed in. The bus stop is directly opposite which goes straight to town (although only a 20 minute walk) and just 2 minutes from shops and restaurants. Would recommend to anyone looking for a homely feel. We were 4 girls and stayed in the family room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisol452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    103
    30
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
164
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Owners were very warm and welcoming, gave us lots of info in terms of how to get about and things to see. We were a group of 4 girls in Edinburgh for New Years and had the best time would definitely come back and i highly recommend staying at this B&B :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyMakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had booked a family room for 4 people for two nights. The welcome was very cold and unfriendly, we were just given the keys to the room and house.No lifts and assistance for the luggage. The room was small and cold. The central heating was switched off most of the time and when requested for an additional heater we were just told that it will get warmer. The breakfast was below standard. I had a hair in my porridge and there was no apologies or anything and got it back with lots of syrup, not sure if it was changed . The room was below standard and for the price charged it would have been better to rent two rooms in budget hotel like IBIS. Our choice for this type of accommodation was to experience a British style hospitality and was disappointed. Overall poor hospitality and I would not recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 730Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am sorry these people say they did not enjoy their stay. What they failed to point out in their review is they cancelled the first night of a two night booking the evening they were due to arrive. When they came to pay their bill they were informed they would be charged for the night they cancelled. They became extremely unhappy about this. They had agreed to the terms and conditions of the booking and the cancellation was chargeable. We were very helpful and provided a letter for their insurance company. The other issues re the heating, we turned it up for them, we apologised for the hair in the porridge and they were given a large four bed family room so we are surprised they thought it small. They were a very nice family and we got on well with them so we were very surprised to read this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Hogmanmay 2013 and it was wonderful! Issabelle and Harry looked after us as if we were their own (all bit it slightly dysfunctional) daughters. Very friendly, helpful, warm and welcoming. Thanks for everything from varied breakfast requests to filling up hot water bottles!! See you for Fringe!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked a stay at this guest house for one night using booking.com. Immediately after booking I received a call from an extremely rude woman who demanded that I cancel my booking as the price was a mistake. I said I would need to take it up with booking.com and she hung up the phone.

After over a week of discussing this with booking.com they told me that the guest house was refusing to honour the price, instead suggesting that I accept a rate of three times the original price, and that they (booking.com) felt that the guest house management were within their rights to do this and so cancelled my booking three days before I was due to stay.

I would avoid this guest house and booking.com completely.

Room Tip: Avoid this guest house completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
This gentleman booked a room with us through an on line booking company. When the booking came in we realised that a mistake had been made as a rate of £10.00 had been quoted instead of a rate of £70.00. The guest was contacted by my wife and she explained the error. She was very pleasant on the phone but did say the guest was unhappy. We contacted the on line booking company re the matter to explain the situation and as a gesture of goodwill and to acknowledge the error we imediately offered a room rate of £30.00. The guest was contacted several times re this offer but we had no response for over a week. When eventually we did get a response a few days before he was due to arrive he refused our offer. Under the terms and conditions of the booking with this company if a price is a misprint or misquoted the booking is invalid which in these circumstances it was and the company cancelled the booking. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and are sorry this situation was not amicably resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We often stay at this comfortable, friendly family run guest house when we visit Edinburgh. It is very central with on street parking and only a short walk or bus journey to the centre of the city. We found our room very comfortable and quiet and had a good nights sleep after a long day Christmas shopping in Edinburgh and a show at the Festival Theatre. Enjoyed a scrummy breakfast full Scottish breakfast for my husband and the healthier option for myself. Harry and Isabelle offer a home from home which is why we always return here to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This Guest House is on 3 levels. We stayed in the twin on the third level. Carrying suitcases up would have been a problem, but Harry quickly solved that by carrying them for us. Room was of a reasonable size with ensuite. It was quiet. Free on-street parking is available and it is only a 15 minute walk to Princes Street. The breakfasts were standard B&B fare, but I enjoyed the fruit chopped up and mixed with honey and put on top of the porridge or yogurt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#94 of 392 in Edinburgh
151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#71 of 392 in Edinburgh
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Pilrig Guest House
16 Pilrig Guest House
#201 of 392 in Edinburgh
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#190 of 392 in Edinburgh
122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 392 in Edinburgh
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#82 of 392 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing