We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Edinburgh BnB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #128 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Edinburgh BnB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beds were comfortable, breakfasts lots of choices and delicious. Hosts Isobelle and Harry friendly and accommodating (left cooler pack breakfast for early start). Bus Stop to city opposite BnB. Only 5 minutest to centre of Edinburgh by bus. Very happy with BnB.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    103
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
161
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked two rooms for two nights for our family while visiting Edinburgh, and thoroughly recommend Craigmoss. The B&B has an extra touch of class about it, and the location is perfect.
But this hotel is a real Scottish family affair. Isabelle is the consummate host, and was great with helping with planning our activities in Edinburgh. Harry is the breakfast chef extraordinaire and got us off to a great start each day. I had a chance to sit and have a glass of wine with Isabelle and Harry one night, and loved our chat. Definitively recommended.

Room Tip: Explain to Isabelle your requirements and she will set you right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

stayed here for two nights in the last week of July, Edinburgh was bustling with the commonwealth games in the neighbouring town and the festival looming. the guesthouse was busy, however the 4 star standard was noticeably kept and the owners were very pleasant. our room was nice, cosy but perfectly adequate. the breakfast each day was always delicious, both myself and my partner tried something different every day and none of us had any complaints. would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've stayed at Craigmoss a few times now and loved it so much our family also stayed there when we got married in Edinburgh. The owners were absolutely lovely and went above & beyond the call of duty - even offering us the use of a spare kilt for the wedding day...........and the breakfast was delicious. If you want a comfortable and friendly place to stay not too far from the city center then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjkbhldvhzxbhbefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and 10 year old son stayed here in July for a 2 nights stay whilst visiting friends in lovely musselburgh we had a wonderfully friendly experience couldn't have been more friendly had a wonderful breakfast of poached egg and black pudding delicious. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean I thnk the lady who took the time to have a quick game on my sons ipod was the owner would most definitely return and recommend to others well done craigmoss.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

It's been a while since I've stayed at Craigmoss, but every time I come to Edinburgh I won't stay anywhere else. You can always rely on a warm welcome, I have never been able to fault the service and I travel a lot with work and have stayed in some shockers. There has been a price change, however I have no issue with this as I will happily pay for good quality service. I've had the opportunity to stay in most of the rooms, and have two firm favourites. The décor is very calming and I am always able to relax upon my return, the beds are very comfortable and the bedding is the kind you sink into, which after a long day is just what you need.

The breakfasts available are varied and cater for all, I'm a fan of the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, you write your order the night before if possible so it's organised for the morning, however I have ordered on the morning due to my late arrival. The dining room is very chilled, bright and airy. Travelling alone with work can usually be very lonely, but I have always been able to have good craic in the morning with other diners, Harry and Isabelle which is a real credit to the feel of Craigmoss. I long for the time when I'm up in Edinburgh for something other than work, I can't recommend this guest house enough.

I have stayed in the room that can accommodate a family/ a group of friends, it's also very suitable for those travelling like myself for business as transport links are excellent, and for couples on a weekend away to Edinburgh it's close to town and within walking distance of all the main attractions of the city. A real all rounder.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

£130 a night - I'm guessing a super-huge premium was added for the Commonwealth Games. If I was charging £130 a night I would, as matter of fact, ensure a clean bathroom, big enough to turn around in without a filthy fan or unpleasant splatter marks on the wall. If I expected £130 a night I would have invested in a reliable shower which I would clean regularly. I wouldn't allow the room or bathroom to smell of damp and for that money I would have spent some time making sure I had bought a decent mattress and pillows and I would make sure my customers enjoyed big fluffy towels. I wouldn't cramp the space with an oversized, wardrobe that irritated my guests every time it had to be squeezed around. If I dared to charge £130 a night I would provide a luxury breakfast and most certainly not think that a 'Happy shopper' yoghurt was appropriate. I would not boast about my breakfast unless there was something to boast about. We too had the soured table milk and noticed that the dining room floor and vacuum cleaner seemed to have had a falling out.

Craigmoss guesthouse, is a perfectly reasonable guesthouse - if you are paying £45-55, maybe even £60 a night. If you are paying any more, then you can't help but feel disappointed and more than a little bit ripped-off. The owners were pleasant enough although we never felt like welcomed or valued guests. If we had been asked if we had enjoyed our stay, we would have been happy enough to make these comments in person.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketGirl009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
I am sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay. I would much prefer if people are not happy when they stay they say at the time so that problems can be addressed. I have had no complaints about the room these guests had prior to their stay or since. These guests booked a double room and arrived with a very young baby with all the accompanying baggage. The complaint about the wardrobe is not the reason the room was cramped. These guests should have booked a family room. We are also very competitively priced and if they want to stay in a room for £40-£60 then they should visit in the winter or check out the youth hostel and even there they will be fortunate to get accommodation at that price and would be doing without breakfast..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abbotsford Guest House
#102 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Balmoral Guesthouse
#95 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mingalar
#84 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Garlands Guest House
#109 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing