We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Very Cramped Room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #132 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very Cramped Room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first and probably last ever stay in a B&B. The room was very very very (I am writing very 3 times to reiterate how small the room was when 4 beds are cramped in a room). With 4 beds in the room there was absolutely no space to move - we literally had less than a foot in between the Beds. The toilet and shower was one of the smallest I have ever seen. The shower was exactly a 2 foot by 2 foot stall in which you could not move at all. Very very disappointed and am surprised how this can be rated as a 4* by Scottish Toursist Board. We paid £180 per night which was not al all worth it. The breakfast too was overrated and nothing special. Only location is reasonably good and street parking was available.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the first room on left on 1st floor. I think it is room #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GM569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am sorry you did not like your room but you were 4 adults with a lot of luggage and you booked a family room which is for two adults and two children. Of course the price you paid was significantly cheaper that booking two double or two twin rooms which you would know. You also chose to come in the middle of August during the festival and you would know that the price you paid was extremely competitive for four adults including breakfast.. I also don't know where you get your measurements from as the bathroom cabinet is a standard size and is significantly bigger that 2 foot by 2 foot.This is a very popular room with families. It is the first time we have ever had such comments about this room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    103
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
161
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Perfect location – at a safe distance from the madding crowds, yet an easy walk away from the main sights and the shopping centre. Cosy, well-equipped rooms; excellent breakfast. The real asset of this B&B is the ever-smiling, warm and welcoming Isabelle, always there to keep her guests happy!

Room Tip: If you are anything but a family with small kids, do not go for the 4-person room option. Book two d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Αλέξανδρος Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location was great - there is a bus stop just out the front door. It was easy to get to things.

We were booked into the family room - two adults and two children. It was very tight -- just enough room to walk between the beds. The room had one double bed and two twin beds. The room was much better suited to one less bed.

Thought this place was close to being quite nice - could use a little sprucing up.

.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agm_tjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at The Craigmoss which is a lovely building and the owners Isabelle and Harry were excellent throughout our stay; very warm and friendly atmosphere. All the facilities were in an excellent condition and were kept clean throughout our stay. Also given an excellent choice for breakfast as well as tea making facilities in the room. The property is located within easy walking distance of the city centre as well as good bus links. Immediate area contains some very nice restaurants as well as some bars & pubs if you are not looking to venture too far in the evening. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area and would book again when returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sp254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just stayed four nights at The Craigmoss, fantastic welcome from Harry and Isabelle, clean,comfortable,great breakfast, with plenty of choice. Great location just a short walk into the City. Would definetley recommend to anyone. Lovely sized bedroom, such a comfortable bed. Thank you so much. Dave and Julie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this bed and breakfast for a night with my husband just as the commonwealth games were finished.The price at the time was a little higher than our usual but we were desperate and not willing to look further. The place was very clean and gorgeous. The owner was super nice and helpful. We needed an accomodation for the following night and she had no vacancies so she emailed other B&Bs and found us a place a few doors down. The breakfast was great with plenty of options for everyone. I would definitely recommend the place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessibell08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The owners of this bed and breakfast were extremely nice and helpful to me and my wife. During perhaps the busiest time (common wealth games / fringe festival) we were struggling to find accommodations. The owners quickly called up another bed and breakfast and were able to direct us to another b&b.

All in all, great breakfast, good quiet location, clean rooms can't go wrong. Wishing the owners nothing but the best. Enjoyed my stay with you!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abbotsford Guest House
#100 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Balmoral Guesthouse
#97 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mingalar
#81 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Garlands Guest House
#109 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing