We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Stay at this Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadale Guest House
Ranked #131 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - Stay at this Guest House!”
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Excellent Service from Craigmoss Guest House, in a perfect location, and good bus service, I recommend this Guest House, and the breakfasts are lovely, The pancakes are lovely. We were greeted and welcomed, it was wonderful stay in Edinburgh. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank day_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    103
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
73
162
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

A very comfortable stay, not to far from the city centre (about a 10 min walk), clean, friendly and cozy. Would recommend to those who don't want to break the bank!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I have just returned from this hotel from a stay this weekend with my partner. The hotel is ideally located within an easy walk of all the main tourist hotspots, including some really nice restaurants.

The room was small and simple but tastefully decorated, and the bed was really comfortable. The owners were obliging and friendly, greeting you with a smile in the mornings, good conversation and advice on things to do in the day. Being from the area, they are a font of knowledge for those like myself, have never been to the area. The breakfast was a real pleasure, especially the house special! And the option to have a continental style breakfast in your room was a bonus.

All in all, it made for a comfortable, relaxing break, recommended, and I will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had a lovely time at the Craigmoss Guest House, both Isabelle and Harry were very welcoming. We arrived very early on our first day, Isabelle answered the door with a lovely smile and welcomed us in. Room was stylish and I loved the bath robes. Breakfasts were plentiful they set us up for the day (you must try Harry' porridge - lovely and creamy!). Isabelle and Harry also provided us with an itinerary to continue with our travels around Scotland, all in all a lovely place to stay and the owners go that extra mile for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here for a 3 night getaway. Lovely friendly people and great breakfasts. Also the free parking is a massive bonus and it's not too far away from the city centre.

We also liked the Christmas decorations!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjimmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed here with our family for 3 days and had a very good time here. Very welcoming people and a great breakfast. Location is quiet and near enough (15min walk) to the city centre. They even arranged a complimentary bottle of champagne for my parents wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2010

In short, this guest house provides comfortable, welcoming accommodation at decent rates with excellent service and a tasty breakfast. It's also possible to have "breakfast in bed" delivered to you. Probably my only slight gripe about it in any way is that breakfast is served a bit too early (with the exception of Sunday), hence there isn't time for a relaxing lay-in and you have to get up quite early in order to wash and get downstairs in time. A bit disappointing during a relaxing break! However, this is a minor gripe and other than that, we were very pleased with the high quality of the accommodation!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#90 of 392 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#71 of 392 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 392 in Edinburgh
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 392 in Edinburgh
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Pilrig Guest House
16 Pilrig Guest House
#179 of 392 in Edinburgh
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#84 of 392 in Edinburgh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadale Guest House

Property: Canadale Guest House
Address: 62 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland (Formerly Craigmoss Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Canadale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmoss Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Canadale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing