We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canadale Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$613
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
197
103
31
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
103
31
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgepilrig streetprivate bathroomtop floorbed and breakfastscottish breakfastexcellent staygood nights sleepcooked breakfastguesthousescotlandbusespubs
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Isabelle and Harry Taylor run this fantastic Guest House in Edinburgh - everything is thought of, and accommodation warm, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are fantastic and the atmosphere in the house is welcoming and warm without being intrusive. Great price, Great accommodation... look no further than Criagmoss !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had booked in for four nights but left after one. Small room way up at top of house with sloping walls which meant you had to be careful sitting up in bed. Admittedly it was February in Edinburgh but room was really cold and duvet very thin! Bed was very uncomfortable - like sleeping on a bed of pebbles. So we didn't get much sleep. Kettle was on floor in front of en-suite door!!! En-suite was of good size but shower cubicle itself was small and awkward and shower was an abysmal trickle. Towels small and mean. There was no power point for hairdryer near mirror so decided not to bother with trying to wash hair. Breakfast was mediocre - orange juice not fresh, only butter provided no non-animal fat spread. Toast served before main - and made with thin bread. No help given with luggage even though room was at top of house. Final insult was a 3% charge for paying with debit card although notice only says surcharge applies to credit card!!! The only positive point was that it did appear clean.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigmoss, Owner at Canadale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

These people arrived from Australia to have a propert they owned decorated so they could let it as holiday acommodation. They booked in for 4 nights. They collected keys in the morning as there room was not ready. They arrived in the afternoon with their luggage, unfortunately we were not in at the time but they had not said when they would arrive,. Had they left their luggage and asked for help we would have been delighted to assist. This is a Victorian guest house and some of the rooms have coombed ceilings, it is part of the charm and the room they used is often requestd by returning guests for this reason. They complained they were cold overnight but coming from a hot Australia to a cold February night it is not surprising. I did offer them onother room. I have checked the shower and found no fault. The mattress on the bed was brand new. I am sorry they did not enjoy their breakfast but it was of the same standard that other guests have and compliment us on. I am always disappointed when guests are unhappy and only wish they had said something at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

After a long time searchin for where we should stay during our trip to Edinburgh we decided upon Craigmoss Guest House.

We arrived late on Friday night and after a slight hiccup with our booking there was no room at the Guest House. Harry and Isabelle were very apologetic and immediately offered us the use of their apartment for the same cost instead. Isabelle packed us a picnic and Harry drove to the guest house so we could follow to ensure we did not get lost. We were happy to go it alone with the sat nav but they insisted.

The apartment is lovely. It is furnished nicely and is very clean. There was just my husband and I however I believe the sofa in the living room is also a sofa bed should you need more than one bed. The kitchen is fully stocked with plates, cultery and all sorts of items to allow you to cook for yourself if you wish.

This is an ideal location should you wish to get out and about in Edinburgh although it is in a quiet side street and you can park right outside the apartment at the weekend. We walked into the city and it didn't take us long at all. There are a number of lovely restaurants, cafes and bistro's very close if you fancy eating out as well as a number of Tesco's if you want to pick up a few bits.

We stayed for two nights and on the Sunday went to the guest house for our breakfast. (We were really looking forwards to the CraigMoss Special so had been a little disappointed when we were at the apartment instead so they invited us for breakfast Sunday.) The guest house was lovely. Our breakfast was served quickly and I can totally recommend it - try the Craigmoss Special!! Isabelle even let us use their family bathroom before we left to start our trip back to Birmingham.

In short the apartment was lovely and we will certainly be going back. We did not see any of the bedrooms in the guest house but the dining room and downstairs was nice. Isabelle and Harry are lovely and we will certainly be going back to stay again. We are also planning to visit their place in the highlands this year too!

A lost booking could have meant disaster however they dealt with it quickly, professionally and we were very happy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_B_190610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Excellent Service from Craigmoss Guest House, in a perfect location, and good bus service, I recommend this Guest House, and the breakfasts are lovely, The pancakes are lovely. We were greeted and welcomed, it was wonderful stay in Edinburgh. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank day_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

A very comfortable stay, not to far from the city centre (about a 10 min walk), clean, friendly and cozy. Would recommend to those who don't want to break the bank!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews