We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Review of Glendale House

Glendale House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glendale House
Ranked #141 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the Glendale Guest House run by Duncan & Elaine Stewart from 30th June until 3rd July 2013. We were a group of 10 and our rooms were allocated just the way we wanted .My wife and I stayed in the NESS room and I think this is the best room in the guest house- spacious and with a lot of natural light. The Stewarts were excellent hosts and we felt we had known them for ever. The guest house is well located and there is plenty of parking on the premises. We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast every morning and highly recommend Glendale to all those who seek a "Home Away from Home" ambience.

Vivian & Karen Peres
Gurgaon, INDIA

Room Tip: I would suggest to reserve a room or rooms with en suite washroomss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeresFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

at the Glendale House. A science dept. at the nearby University of Ediburgh arranged our stay. We thought it was a brilliant choice. Elaine and Duncan greet you personally, as if they had been waiting for you to arrive and were so pleased to see you. They were helpful and so accommodating. We left our luggage there during the day Saturday, keeping a key, which we just had to remember to put on the hall table as we went out to the taxi.....that they had reserved for us. No question seemed too "dumb" or inconsequential. Our room was really large, even with a bathroom (compact but just gorgeous and modern) carved out of a corner. There were all the necessary amenities and then some, from hair dryer to slippers to shortbread and the makings for tea. The room had a TV with DVD, and the hall had a bookcase filled with films. Wi-fi worked without a problem. Breakfast was delicious and copious, with so many options. We really couldn't take advantage of it all. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, porridge, eggs with all sorts of accompaniments, etc., etc.
At first we were concerned about the location away from the center of town (but so close to the university, which was, after all, the reason for the stay). However, the very near-by bus stop has more than a handful of different bus routes, all of which go straight into the historic part of the city within 10-15 minutes. The only "scary" part about taking a bus is the need for exact change unless you don't mind contributing a bit to the coffers of the city. I did learn from experience that if you plan to visit the Old Town, Royal Mile, Castle, etc., it is better to get off the bus there and then walk downhill to the New Town, museums, etc. than the reverse.
We had a lovely dinner about a mile's walk from the Inn at Salisbury Arms our first night there. See our review for that.
Since we didn't pay for the stay, we have no idea what the cost/value is. However, comments Duncan made about price of a hotel chain made us think that the nightly price at the Inn was very reasonable.
HIghly recommend the Inn for a stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redtwizzler1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is a really nice B&B very clean and well appointed house, great breakfast, off road secure parking, just far enough outside the city centre to make it be conveniently located for all that Edinburgh has to offer. Only stayed one night wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evinacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a total of 4 nights this month on our 2 week vacation in Scotland. Duncan and Elaine were wonderful hosts! We arrived from the airport much earlier than anticipated, but they greeted us warmly and immediately took us to our room. Everything was lovely in the rooms we stayed in - one room the first 2 nights of our trip and then the last 2 before we flew home. Beds are so comfortable! Breakfast was delicious; they are the perfect hosts! I felt like we were visiting with family instead of staying at a B&B. They are close enough to the city centre; bus stop is right around the corner and they wonderful about giving information/suggestions for visiting the sites in the city. I hated to leave............I will definitely stay here again and would recommend them to everyone planning a visit to Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms - both were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends in May 2009. -All ladies in our 50's. One of my friends had been a returning guest for several years when she studied at the University, and insisted on all of us staying here. A good choice!! Lovely breakfast, nice hosts : Duncan loved his roses and I was pleased to join in the "rose"-conversation. We stayed for 6 nights, and would love to return. Many of the guests were returning guests working in the University. Nice house, and easy to get to the centre of Edinburgh by bus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisselOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is an impressive historic house, beautifully hand restored by the current owners. Rooms are large and well appointed. Mattress a little soft for my liking. Breakfast is exceptional and the hosts are very friendly and engaging people. The house is on outskirts of Edinburgh only a minute to the bus route, making travel into the city centre very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Glendale House was our choice for 2 stays in July. The start of a Scotland trip and the end. We chose the right place. People seem to always come back to Glendale House. Very popular with the University. More PhD's and physicists at breakfast. Short and long term. Close to the University and easy access to the heart of Edinburgh. Finding anything in the Edinburgh area just ask host extraordinaire, Duncan Stewart. Once again in our travels we have found two exceptional hosts. Duncan and Elaine made our stay. On our 2nd stay we felt like we were returning home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#161 of 393 in Edinburgh
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan House Hotel
Ardgowan House Hotel
#325 of 393 in Edinburgh
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
Cameron Bed & Breakfast
#101 of 393 in Edinburgh
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsley Guest House
Kingsley Guest House
#117 of 393 in Edinburgh
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#41 of 393 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale House

Address: 5 Lady Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those wishing to enjoy Edinburgh's splendours Glendale House, situated in the conservation area of Craigmillar Park, 3km from Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street is an ideal base. The bedrooms at Glendale Guest House, mostly en-suite, are all named after Scottish lochs and are furnished with comfort in mind; all have central heating, remote controlled television with DVD player, direct dial telephones, hair driers, tea & coffee making facilities, Scottish mineral water and shortbread. A selection of DVDs, books and high speed internet with wireless connection are available and complimentary during our guests stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing