We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmarAgua Guest House
Ranked #51 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First class guest house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our fourth visit to AmarAgua and it certainly won't be our last. This guest house is fitted out to the highest of standards and well deserves its five star rating. Tony and Dawn-Ann are very friendly, have a vast menu choice for breakfast and give more than an adequate portion to set you up for the day.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian and Margare... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Margaret & Ian , we appreciated so much you taking the time to review us and looking forward for your 5th visit ... and many more after that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    21
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
50
225
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Not too far from the city centre with frequent buses nearby. Can't fault the room, hosts or breakfast. I would echo what others have said and have no hesitation in recommending this guest house to others.
Will we be returning? You betcha.

Room Tip: Can't help here but I feel pretty confident that all the rooms will be of an equally high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trouserpressblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review AmarAgua, it was very much appreciated. :-)
" Haste ye back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Tony and Dawn-Ann are such gracious, friendly and helpful hosts, and they made us feel very comfortable. They provided all sorts of useful information about the city and area.

We occupied a beautiful, clean, comfortable room. Our room was on the front of the house, but the street is very quiet so this was no problem at all (and I awaken easily). Our room was well appointed in every aspect, including a blackout shade to block the early morning sunlight, although the room could have used brighter bedside reading light.

Each breakfast was excellent! We enjoyed something different from each other and different for each morning because everything was so delicious and beautifully presented.

The location is very good with a bus stop just around the corner to take you to the city center in 01-15 minutes and excellent restaurant in easy walking distance.

We highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking to stay at a great place while in Edinburgh. This should receive top ratings and recommendations in all guidebooks and reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulldogUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
It is great to know that you had such a good time with us at AmarAgua and enjoyed your time in Edinburgh too. We can not thank you enough for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were group of two couples who had booked a 3 night stay at Amaragua and approached the front door with a little trepidation, wondering if Amaragua would be as good as the reviews on Tripadvisor.

We rang the bell and the door was opened by Dawn-Ann with a huge smile and a lovely warm welcome. At that point we knew we had struck gold.

The rooms were excellent and very comfortable with everything you would need. The house is large and spacious in a pleasant, quiet street 10 minutes by bus from city centre. There is free on street parking, unlike most of the guest houses in the new town.

Breakfast is amazing with a wonderful choice and not just your standard Scottish Breakfast (which is available and excellent), but a different choice each day such as Eggs Benedict or pancakes with bacon mushrooms or porridge with blueberries and strawberries.

Dawn-Ann's husband Tony served breakfast and was charming, welcoming and informative.

We can't fault the Amaragua and would recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Looking at possible golf trip next year, but don't tell Tony as he will want to join us

Thanks Dawn-Ann and Tony you really made our stay in Edinburgh

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi guys, we would like to thank you ever so much for your wonderful review. To be honest...our job can be extremely rewarding when we have the opportunity to meet guests like yourselves, but in saying that...most of our guests are a pleasure to have in our home.
We do hope you can find time in your busy life's to visit Edinburgh again and stay with us to try the other dishes that you didn't have a chance to try.
I don't think you can play golf here without Tony tagging along with you ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is an elegant, yet comfortable and cozy guest home. It was made even more so by the cheery personalities of Dawn-Ann and Tony. Dawn-Ann was especially helpful in showing us how to find our way about in this gorgeous city. We felt well looked after. Both wife and husband are excellent cooks, and they care about service and presentation. Their flare for beauty shows in many ways--in their fine cooking, in the thoughtful design of the rooms/amenities and even in the choice of lovely plants in the Asian-inspired front garden. This is a peaceful place to come home to at the end of a long day. As mentioned by others, breakfasts are superb along with Tony's entertaining talks and wonderful sense of humor; buses to the city center are close, Ace Laundry is a bus ride away - they will wash/fold your laundry and return it by the end of the day or the next; post office is near the launderette and mini grocery store is nearby. We were happy and content with our week here. We miss Dawn-Ann and Tony already. -- Illona and David

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anori17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Illona and David, Thank you for your great review it is very much appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and in our beautiful city, it was lovely to spend time with you both, just a shame you got such "Scottish" weather ;) but it never stopped you two! Looking forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here is September 2013, everything was excellent very clean; super breakfast (especially the waffles and fruit). Dawn-Ann, and Tony made us feel very welcomed right away. They were just great with ideas, suggestions and were kind and friendly. This had a Great warm, inviting and elegant feel. Thanks for everything Rick and Denise :)
The proximity to the local bus stop made accessing the city core very easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickandDenise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you guys for your wonderful review, it was very much appreciated.
We were very glad to know that everything was alright and that you had a good time on your trip, it was great to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Excellent B&B in Edinburgh. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, and Dawn-Ann and Tony are wonderful hosts. They make you feel at home. The breakfasts options are outstanding, they are both amazing cooks, and there is always a mini treat in your room when you get home from a long day of sightseeing. There are a number of guides and maps available at the House, and Tony and Dawn-Ann are great sources of recommendations on what to see and do and how best get there. The B&B is a short bus ride from the Royal Mile, Bus and Train Stations, with several bus options just around the corner, and if you prefer walking, The Royal Mile is no more than 15 minutes away. I would definitely stay at AmarAgua Guest House again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you very much for for your review we were so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time both in Edinburgh and with us. It was a shame you had to miss breakfast because of your early fight but it is a good excuse to come back to try the things you missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#24 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#77 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#133 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#59 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#46 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmarAgua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmarAgua Guest House

Property: AmarAgua Guest House
Address: 10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmarAgua is a comfortable Victorian residence, situated in a quiet residential area, built in the 1880s but recently upgraded retaining many original features, it is the perfect location for those who want to relax away from the noise of the capital but at the same time stay not too far from the city centre and all main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your AmarAgua Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
AmarAgua Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing