We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmarAgua Guest House
Ranked #35 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From the moment my wife and I walked into the AmarAqua B&B we were treated like family. Dawn Anne greeted us at the door. We were several hours early and our room was not ready. Dawn Anne let us put our luggage in a safe and secure place for the day until we returned. Our room was #5, on the top floor facing the street. What a beautiful decorating job Dawn Anne has done with the entire building. We had a four poster bed, flat screen TV, French press coffee maker and a bathroom that was very cute. A menu for the next mornings breakfast was in the room. Breakfast was awesome and served by a very friendly Tony.. Home cooked and very special and delicious.There also was fresh cut fruit, yogurt, cereal and fresh juice. The hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood. The bus stop is just a 2 minute walk away. A cab ride to the Edinburgh Castle was just 8 pounds. Leave your car parked and take public transportation. The AmarAqua B&B is highly recommended. My wife and I hope to return...

Room Tip: Get one of the four poster rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review it was great to meet you both and to spend time chatting with you. Glad you have a good time with us and in Edinburgh we look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This has to be the best B n B we have ever had the fortune to stay at. Tony and Dawn Anne have worked hard to present and provide a fantastic all round experience to visitors to the City.
The breakfast was prepared to perfection, with a wonderful range available, all cooked to order.
The rooms are kept to immaculate standards, with a far better than average range of drinks on offer.
Although a little way from the City centre, there are many bus routes past the end of the road which run on a regular basis.
The interaction between host and guest was a pleasure to behold.
Many thanks and, unfortunately for you, we will be back :-).
Bob n Linda

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much Bob and Linda for taking the time to write us such a great review! We loved meeting you both and are looking forward to seeing you both very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My oh my what a wonderful birthday !! After visiting the AmarAgua earlier on in the year it was my wish to celebrate my 50th birthday there (don't look it though ha ha !!) We took over the guest house with our family and very good friends, and yet again absolute perfection with regards to everything (Not sure what happened with the clock though!!!) To show our appreciation we invited Dawn-Ann and Tony to a local restaurant (Cassis) and what wonderful food and service we received there too, but the icing on the cake was indeed the beautiful two tiered cake that Dawn-Ann very kindly made for me - delicious ! Thank you both so much for such a lovely time and a birthday I will never forget. To anybody who is planning to make a visit to Edinburgh - you must stay at the AmarAgua, trust me you will not be disappointed - I'll put money on that !! Look forward to our next visit, and Dawn-Ann have a good 50th too (Had to put that one in !!!!) See you both soon xxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: You do not need a tip, all rooms are excellent, but for a really special occasion the front facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you Michelle for choosing to spend your birthday with us, we are really glad you had a good birthday!(fingers crossed mine is too) it was lovely to meet your friends and family and get to share time with you all. Can't wait to do it again very soon. Good luck with everything.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had seen Amar Agua on Channel 4’s “Four In A Bed” and decided that if we ever needed accommodation in Edinburgh, that would be the place for us. We were certainly not disappointed. In fact, our experience exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived to Dawn-Ann’s most warm welcome, to fond farewells on our departure, everything was perfect. Tony and Dawn-Ann’s attention to detail is in evidence from the garden gate! The whole house is beautifully decorated and absolutely immaculate, with many original Victorian features, including beautiful wood panelling in the dining room. Our en-suite room was beautifully co-ordinated and furnished with ivory French-style furniture, including a lovely armoire and a four-poster bed. With more than ample wardrobe space, chests of drawers, etc. it provided total comfort for our stay. Thoughtful touches such as muffins, chocolates and toiletries all added to the luxury. Dressing-gowns are also provided. Breakfasts are a real treat! All cooked to order and beautifully served, the range of dishes on offer is superb. All tastes are catered for. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Dawn-Ann and Tony - their hospitality is truly wonderful. They are both so welcoming, friendly and helpful. As well as folders of information in the bedrooms, Dawn-Ann and Tony personally provide extremely useful tips on buses, places to visit, etc.
It was an absolute delight to stay at Amar Agua – we highly recommend this guest house for the discerning traveller.
Many thanks, Dawn-Ann and Tony. We hope to return in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the original Victorian fireplace and is beautifully furnished with French-style furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Margaret and Alan, thank you so much for your lovely review it was very much appreciated. It is always lovely to meet people who enjoy the little things in life and appreciate the old things too :) Looking forward to seeing you both again very soon! And hearing how the Portugal recce is going!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've never written a review before, but the treatment we received from Dawn Ann and Tony compelled me to provide one for them. My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Room 3 that was perfect for the two of us (plenty of room for our not-so-minimalist baggage and a very comfortable queen size bed that was "super cute" - per my wife). The made-to-order breakfasts were fantastic - Belgian waffles with fresh fruit, eggs bacon sausage and haggis, AmarAgua Special (a delicious combination of cheese, egg, shaved zucchini and green onions grilled over toast) and even a take-a-way breakfast with ham and cheese croissants when we had to catch and early tour. The location was quiet and had easy access to the city center and the Royal Mile (10 minute bus ride).

There were plenty of good places to eat within a 10 minute walk, and the trail heads of King Arthurs Seat are only 5-10 minutes away should you want to look over all of Edinburgh. The guest book in our room was filled with helpful food/transportation recommendations and maps of the city center. Dawn Ann and Tony both happily answered any questions we had and strove to make our stay truly enjoyable.

My recommendations for the best possible experience at AmarAgua are as follows:
1) Try as many of the breakfasts as possible
2) If you can't check into the room until the afternoon, drop off your luggage, go for a hike up to Arthur's Seat and stop off for some food (and by food I mean beer and whisky) at the Salisbury Arms after your trek.
3) Be respectful of their place. They go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
4) Book your stay now for as many nights as possible.

Thank you so much for your wonderful Scottish hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review, for your fist one you did very well, ;-)
It is ALWAYS lovely to be appreciated especially when it is coming from a young couple, like yourselves. We hope you carry on enjoying the rest of your Vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I made this booking coming from across the globe and had great expectations following a stay at a chain hotel in Glasgow.The hosts were most amenable and the B&B spotless.the food and presentation was faultless.Disappointed we given the box room which wasn't big enough to swing a cat and the other was the plainest most functional room ...not at all like the photos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you felt the rooms were not up to your expectations, we are ALWAYS very honest with our guests and the photos are not GLAMOROUS to make the rooms looking better than they are, however when you booked with us you had the choice of all the rooms in the house and you chose these rooms which are rented at a "much lower rate" than all our other rooms for the reason that they are not as large and they are not en-suite.
It is most unfortunate that you never mentioned to us that you were unhappy with the rooms at anytime throughout your SIX NIGHT STAY as we are sure we could have resolved the situation given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Well what can we say eh! and the thing is how long have you got? What a wonderful two nights stay at a truly exquisite establishment, so much so we have booked the whole guest house for my special birthday this year, yes we are treating all of our very special friends to an experience they will not forget!!! You won't need your feather duster here as it is spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts wow what a choice, and presented beautifully and artistically but what do you expect eh from an aries!! A true gem, we have found here, and Edinburgh is not too bad also!! So here's to another warm welcome from Dawn and Tony, who we might add are great hosts, and here's to many more successful years of trading to you both - you really do deserve it xx Thank you both so much xx

Room Tip: Don't need a tip, as all rooms are excellent and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much Michelle and John for taking the time to review us it is always very much appreciated especially from others in the hospitality trade. We are so glad you had a good time both with us and in Edinburgh and can't wait to meet your family and friends and help you celebrate your special birthday. See you all soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#55 of 393 in Edinburgh
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#72 of 393 in Edinburgh
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#161 of 393 in Edinburgh
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmarAgua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmarAgua Guest House

Address: 10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmarAgua is a comfortable Victorian residence, situated in a quiet residential area, built in the 1880s but recently upgraded retaining many original features, it is the perfect location for those who want to relax away from the noise of the capital but at the same time stay not too far from the city centre and all main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your AmarAgua Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
AmarAgua Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing