We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strathallan Guest House
Ranked #71 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Strathallan for 3 nights the distance to Princess Street is 20-30 minutes walk but there are many buses which run from nearby. There is parking at the front and back which is convenient. Eamaon the owner makes a wonderful breakfast which set us up each morning for a busy day. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    89
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
90
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Strathallan is one of the worst BnBs i have stayed in we were put in an attic room which was tiny to say the least we kept banging our heads on the sloped ceilings this room should definatly be a discounted rate and pre warned about before booking the en suite wasn't any better either,as for cleanliness it left a lot to be desired and facilities are minimum,location was also a problem as too far to walk into centre for most people sorry to sound so negative but i could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAJJTURNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The host was very nice and helpful , location is o.k (not far from the center by bus)
rooms were small and not clean. Shower was ubcomfortably small and dirty.........
we do not recommend on this guest house. It is certainly not pleasant to come back after a whole day in the city to such a place












/







.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Strathallan guest house for two weeks.The owner was very kind and friendly. Our room was spacious and comfortable . There was a lot to eat every morning (cooked scottish breakfast and more ) . The location of the guest house was very good, only a few minutes walk from the city center, but there was also a bus stop a few steps away. We surely recommend this place and it will be our first choice next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elskourgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

very friendly welcome, the room on the top floor was spotless, and the shower was great.
Very attentive and informative staff. The breakfast was brilliant and kept us going all day, and we did an awful lot of walking.
The public transport is excellent, every bus that passes takes you to the town (£1.50 each way). I would highly recommend this to anyone who is intending visiting the capital. When I go back to Edinburgh I will be using this guest house again

Room Tip: The stairs are steep, if this is a problem just let Eamon know
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geomacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed with 10 others in a golf party, this week, ideal location for city centre and nearby golf courses. Great host, who took very good care of our requirments ( Thanks Eamonn )
Very comfortable rooms, plenty of parking space, and plenty to eat at breakfast.
Highly recommended. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilGerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Three of us stayed at the Strathallan Guest House for two nights on the tail end of our tour of Scotland. We found the Strathallan as a result of searching on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! This is an older property (I believe they said it was built in 1820, or something like that) and it has been well maintained. I was absolutely fascinated by the ornate crown molding in the dining room.

When we first arrived, the door was locked and no one answered the bell. There was a note on the door to call a number for service. Since my phone didn't work outside the US, we were without a way to call the number. We flagged down a very nice young man who was passing by on the sidewalk and he let us use his phone to call the number. While I was on the phone, the owner's wife came and let us in. Since this is not a hotel, there is not always someone around unless you let them know when to expect you. Since we were driving in, we had no idea exactly when we would arrive, so we were totally okay with this.

We were shown to our room on the second floor. The room was a triple (one double bed and a twin) with a small ensuite bathroom. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. The only fault I could find with the room was the shaving light over the sink was not working. It wasn't an issue so I didn't even mention it. The owner's wife was very friendly and gave us helpful information about nearby restaurants, etc.

The best part of the stay was their offer to locate my elderly mother downstairs in order for her to not have to climb the stairs. I cannot thank them enough! This showed that they cared about their guests.

A delicious breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room by the nicest lady (I'm sorry I didn't get her name). Breakfast consisted of cereals, yogurts, fruit, juices, milk, and coffee (help yourself) and then you could also order a hot breakfast, cooked to order.

We all agreed that, if we're ever back in Edinburgh, we'd be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debkay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#91 of 149 in Edinburgh
834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
#141 of 392 in Edinburgh
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan Guest House

Property: Strathallan Guest House
Address: 44 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strathallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing