We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathallan Guest House
Ranked #61 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was here for 5 day in May
Everything was perfect
Breakfast excellent,room so beautiful and clean
Ms Eamon and his wife very nice
Near the city center end with a good service of trasport
You have a bus station in front of house




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Cinzia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    83
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
51
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely people. This is a great apartment plus good standard as well as comfortable. location in the right place, very close to castle, close to old & new town, Arthur's seat, close to everywhere. We loved it - thank you! Had a excellent time here. Kasia and Radek

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The room was lovely and breakfast was delicious.

The location was great with an amazing bus service that only took 10 minutes to get to the centre of town. I was able to return at 1am with out any trouble.

I recommended this place.


Room Tip: Not sure what to put here - hair dryer included in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hosts were unbelievably friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect...just a bus ride into the center, which made a lot of difference to the noise levels. The caretakers, Eamonn, Lauren and Laura were very helpful and would go out of their way to make me feel at home; even the owner's son, Gary (hope I got his name right) was willing to help me at the drop of a hat despite the fact that he didn't actually work there.
I was supposed to check out at 10 AM on the 21st and my coach wasn't scheduled to leave till that night; Eamonn allowed me to retain my room till I had to leave at no additional charge. This notwithstanding, I would come back for another stay and recommend the place to a friend, with no qualms.

Room Tip: For 1 person, the small double was perfect, quaint and restful. Rooms on the second floor have low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhila_Chandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for one night & found it very pleasant. We were greeted by Eamonn (the owner) who was very nice & couldn't have been more helpful. The room was lovely,clean & warm. There was on site parking which is always a bonus in Edinburgh. It is on the main bus route into the city which is only about 1/2 a mile away. It was very quiet at night,couldn't hear the traffic considering there is a main road just outside!! Breakfast was great,you could have cereal,yogurt,fruit & juice. Then you get tea/coffe & toast & choice of cooked breakfast which was cooked to perfection. We would recommend staying here & we will definitely be returning in the future.
Thanks Eamonn!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamacpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Location perfect and host was nice. TV broken and so was the light on the bedside. Good job we had the iPad otherwise we would've been bored stiff. Breakfast was ok. Fine as somewhere to rest your head but there are nicer places for less money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hosts could not have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The room was clean and tidy as was the whole house. It was surprisingly quiet at night which was a bonus, as was the fact that the main bus into Edinburgh centre was 50 yards from the front door. The only small disappointment was the size of the bathroom - very tiny - and it was easier to get dry and dressed back in the bedroom! Other than this we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will hope to return when next in Edinburgh. The fact that England won the rugby match was an added bonus!!

Room Tip: If tall (as we are) then try to get a room with a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Classic Guest House
#70 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#30 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Sixteen
#95 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathallan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan Guest House

Property: Strathallan Guest House
Address: 44 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathallan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing